This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr J from Heathfield

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

A memorable and fascinating fortnight.

Namibia between 15 Aug 2007 and 31 Aug 2007

Trip rating: Excellent
"Namibia was Fantastic!! We felt safe, were overwhelmed by its beauty and diversity and were looked after brilliantly in many of the places we visited.

The wildlife was more abundant than we expected and varied hugely from place to place.

Each lodge had different character and environment. Overall , in retrospect, we wouldn't have changed a thing apart from the vehicle, and maybe 2 nights at Grootberg instead of going to Palmwag."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"GREAT HOSPITLITY,PERSONAL ATTENTION AND HELP."

1 night Arrived 16 Aug 2007
"FROM THE MOMENT WE ARRIVED, WE FELT THAT WE WERE PAUL'S GUESTS, NOT JUST CUSTOMERS.

HE WAS HELPFUL AND INFORMATIVE, GREAT WITH THE KIDS. LEARNT OUR NAMES AND HELPED US TO MAKE THE MOST OF OUR SHORT STAY. HE HELPED OUT WITH CAR PROBLEMS, GROVELLING UNDER THE CAR IN THE SAND JUST AFTER HAVING A SHOWER!

THE QUALITY OF ACCOMODATION WAS SUPERB,THE FOOD WAS FABULOUS AND GENEROUS. WE WANTED TO STAY LONGER!

THE CHEETAH ENCOUNTER WAS A DEFINITE HIGHLIGHT."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"AMAZING LOCATION"

2 nights Arrived 17 Aug 2007
"EXCELLENT ACCOMODATION.

BECAUSE THERE HAD BEEN A MIX UP WITH OUR ACCOMODATION ON THE SECOND NIGHT AND EXTRA BEDS HAD TO BE SQUASHED INTO THE ROOMS, TRACY HAD TOLD US THAT THEY WOULD BE BENDING OVER BACKWARDS TO KEEP US HAPPY. tHIS WAS NOT ACTUALLY THE CASE. oN THE SECOND DAY THE WAITRESS ANNOUNCED THAT WE WERE NOW ON ALL INCLUSIVE, WE QUERIED THIS SO SHE CHECKED BUT CONFIRMED THIS SO WE HAD A FEW MORE DRINKS THAN WE WOULD NORMALLY HAVE BOUGHT. wE PRESUMED THAT THIS WAS BECAUSE OF THE BOOKING ERROR.ON CHECKING OUT, WE WERE BILLED FOR THESE AND OUR EXPLANATIONS POO POOED AS THE WAITRESS WAS NOT ON DUTY.

WE REFUSED TO PAY, SO SHE SAID SHE WOULD CHECK OUR STORY AND CHARGE US ON OUR CARD LATER. TO DATE THIS HAS NOT HAPPENED.

ON THE OTHER HAND THEY WERE HELPFUL WITH OUR CAR PROBLEMS. THE STAFF EVENING ENTERTAINMENT WAS A HIGHLIGHT.

WE FELT THAT THE EVENING MEAL PORTIONS WERE UNGENEROUS."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Zebra River Lodge

Zebra River Lodge

"AMAZING SETTING AND ACCOMODATION"

2 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2007
"VERY HELPFUL WITH CAR PROBLEMS, ROB WAS INTERESTING AND A GREAT HOST.

OUR ROOM WAS GORGEOUS AND CAVE-LIKE, BUT THE OTHER WAS "NORMAL" AND THE CHILDREN FELT SHORT-CHANGED!
THE FOOD WAS AMAZING AND VERY GENEROUS.

THE TRIP TO THE SPRINGS WAS A HIGHLIGHT, BUT WE WERE CHARGED FOR 6 ADULTS, WHICH MADE IT MORE EXPENSIVE THAN WE WERE EXPECTING."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sea Breeze Guesthouse

Sea Breeze Guesthouse

"A GOOD BASE"

2 nights Arrived 21 Aug 2007
"THE HOSTS WERE VERY HELPFUL IN MAKING ARRANGEMENTS FOR THE BOAT TRIP AND SUGGESTING WHERE TO EAT.

FANTASTIC BREAKFAST AND VERY GENEROUS ACCOMODATION. WE COULD PERHAPS HAVE TAKEN UP ONLY TWO FLATS RATHER THAN THREE."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

"SUPER LOCATION."

1 night Arrived 23 Aug 2007
"WE FOUND PALMWAG TO BE THE LEAST FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL OF ALL OF THE PLACES WE STAYED.

tHIS WAS MADE UP FOR BY THE ELEPHANT! hE WAS OUTSIDE OUR TENT WHEN WE WOKE UP LIEING IN THE GRASS. TIM NEARLY WALKED INTO HIM IN THE LONG GRASS!

tHE FOOD WAS GOOD AND THE WAITING STAFF FRIENDLY, BUT THE MANAGEMENT WAS INDIFFERENT. fOR EXAMLE, WE HEARD STORIES ABOUT THE ELEPHANT AT OUR NEXT PLACE THAT WE SHOULD HAVE BEEN TOLD THERE.

wE TRIED A SELF-GUIDED WALK, BUT THE WAY WAS NOT CLEARLY MARKED AND SO WE JUST MADE UP OUR OWN ROUTE!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

"EXCELLENT HOSPITALITY AND FACILITIES"

1 night Arrived 24 Aug 2007
"WE WERE TREATED AS GUESTS AT SOMEONE'S HOME. THERE WERE HOME-MADE BISCUITS TO HELP YOURSELF TO AND STAFF TO CHAT TO.

THE SCENERY AND LOCATION WAS WAS BREATH-TAKING, ACCOMODATION PROBABLY ONE OF THE BEST WE HAD. SO MANY SMALL ATTENTIONS TO DETAIL AND PERSONAL TOUCHES IN THE ROOMS THAT MADE OUR STAY SPECIAL.

WE NEED LONGER THERE.

WE WEREN'T SURE ABOUT LEAVING THE CAR AND BEING TRANSPORTED IN THE LODGE VEHICLE TO THE LODGE, BUT OUR CAR WAS WELL LOOKED- AFTER AND WASHED!!

THE STAFF SEEMED GENUINELY TO ENJOY BEING THERE.DOMINIC WAS A GREAT MANAGER."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"FANTASTIC WATER HOLE!"

2 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2007
"VERY WELL ORGANISED, AND RUN WITH MILITARY PRECISION! tHE NEW BUILDINGS WERE WELL DONE.

WE WERE 50 YARDS FROM THE WATER HOLE WHICH MEANT THAT THE KIDS COULD POP THERE BY THEMSELVES.
THERE WAS ALWAYS ANIMALS AT THE WATERHOLE. tHE EVENINGS WERE TOTALLY MAGICAL-SO MANY ANIMALS, ESPECIALLY ELEPHANTS.

WE FELT THAT BBQ TOOLS SHOULD HAE BEEN AVAILABLE, AND ALSO CUTLERY. We were glad to have stocked up in the Outjo supermarket because the shop had very limited stock for self catering."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"Great birds"

2 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2007
"Super bungalows and setting.There were more kitchen utensils etc-but alot were missing. Some of the fixtures and fittings were broken.

We would have appreciated knowing that the swimming pool had been shut for 3 months as this was a dissappointment.

Again the shop was poorly stocked for self-catering, but the restaurant food was good."
Good
Location
Excellent
Food
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Amazing setting, accomodation,welcome, &food"

1 night Arrived 29 Aug 2007
"Such a beautifu lodge.

The staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly.

The food was the best of our trip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team