This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr F & Mrs V from Kent

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

12

Excursions taken

0

A super experience

Namibia between 5 Nov 2007 and 22 Nov 2007

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a superb trip to Namibia seeing nearly all that we missed on a previous visit. Our eyes were opened to the diversity of the country and we feel privileged to have travelled through the places and met the people that we did.

All the accomodation was good, some moreso than others but in general the level of service was high in all instances.

Value for money could not be bettered.

Distances to be covered were well within our capacity and presented no problems. We found several interesting side roads to take especially the D707 from Sinclair Guest Farm to Aus (recommended by Peter and very picturesque} and the road from Bagatelle to Kalkrand {through the dunes}. Amazingly empty roads made driving a pleasure.

The friendliness of the local people and their helpfulness was evident to see and reassuring when you are travelling in a foreign country.

Only one incident with a female police officer jarred. We were stopped outside Otjirawongo for speeding and were told that a fine would have to be paid of N$100 but that she did not have any receipts so we would have to return to Otavi, an hours drive back.As I was not keen to drive back I elected to pay her without a receipt but only had N$70 in small notes. This she accepted without turning a hair. There was no ticket produced so I can only assume she made a profit! We were later told that the police only tend to operate speed traps within 20 km of towns so why go back to Otavi?

That aside we would like to thank Sabina for all her help and hard work in making our trip the success it was.

The company would certainly get a glowing recommendation from us if we were to be asked"

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Image alt

Windhoek Country Club Resort

"A cosmopolitan introduction"

1 night Arrived 5 Nov 2007
"Windhoek Country Club Resort is basically to be found in any holiday destination. Rooms are comfortable but somewhat bland, service is good and cuisine middling. Having said that it is a good rest stop after arrival from the UK for one night and can be reached witout having to pass through Windhoek city centre, which also applies when you are heading out on your tour to whichever part .

If you are staying in rooms on the ground floor overlooking the pool do not be surprised to see a security guard prowling around at night - the patio doors are checked to prevent petty theft. Our door did not close very well and did get left ajar - the guard called the housekeeper who came to the room to notify us so job well done!"
Average
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average
Roy's Restcamp

Roy's Restcamp

"A great stopover on the way North"

1 night Arrived 6 Nov 2007
"This was a great place to end our first days travelling up to the north. A warm welcome and a cooling drink greeted us at this camp situated about 60km from Grootfontein in the bush. A comfortable bungalow type accomodation with en suite shower and verandah overlooked a small waterhole. Dinner that night was very good and after dinner drinks were made even better by the appearance of a small herd of kudu at the waterhole.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and played their part in making this an enjoyable overnight stay."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Ndhovu Safari Lodge

Ndhovu Safari Lodge

"Sailing with the hippos'"

2 nights Arrived 7 Nov 2007
"Superbly set on the south bank of the Okavango this tented lodge is a must to stay at. From the luxury tented accommodation to the sight of the hippos in mid-stream accompanied by the sight and sounds of numerous different birds this could be called idyllic. Our tent was unusual as it was the only one set on a raft moored to the riverbank! Different if slightly cramped but OK for all that.

Took excellent trip into Mahango game park the next morning guided by our host who was most entertaining and informative followed by an afternoon river "sundowner" cruise accompanied by another excellent boatman/guide.

Meals were communal and very good with a good mixture of nationalities from the tents and nearby campsite joining in.

Reccomended for anyone travelling into/from Caprivi/Botswana"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Ghaub Guest Farm

Ghaub Guest Farm

"All to ourselves"

1 night Arrived 9 Nov 2007
"This is a strange stay to classify. Firstly it took a long time to drive back down from the Okavango for various reasons and when we arrived we discovered we were the only two guests.

The property is set in a super location surrounded by hills and thick bush and a very good hide has been built overlooking a waterhole. This is then further overlooked by a swimming pool in a nicely laid area.

The accommodation is set in four blocks of three terraces and consists of a main bedroom, lounge area and en-suite shower and toilet and is large and airy - maybe because the property was once a mission station as we understand.

However we were told by staff that the farm was in the process of being sold and that the new owner was in fact going to be there the next day and that there was no guarantee that it would continue to be run as a Guest Farm.

This may explain the quality of our evening meal which has to be said was disappointing and the fact that breakfast was poor by previous standards.

However on location and standard of rooms a good stay."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Poor
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

"Staring down the valley at Grootberg"

2 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2007
"We fel privileged to have stayed at this location. Everything from the 4x4 service up to the lodge, the accomodation, the view from the room, the service provided by the staff, food and drink cannot be faulted.

Elephant tracking in the morning was good fun, well-handled and very informative but we would reccomend anyone to take the afternoon drive into the valley where abundant game is on display { we understand the area has/is being gradually restocked both in the valley and the neighbouring conservation area}. Again the guide was very professional and informative.

A place we would be happy to revisit."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

"Hot days at Mowani"

2 nights Arrived 12 Nov 2007
"Another excellent stay in Damaraland. Set among the rocks the tented accomodation fulfilled expectations (though some zips could do with some replacing}. and the otdoor shower and bath were appreciated.

The open style lounge and dining room overlooking the desert/scrub were comfortable as you would expect and on our first day the misting machine was appreciated. However the nest day it was exceptionally hot but too windy so the luxury of the mister was absent Meals were in general very good and staff attentive.

It is worth pointing out that in the heat on day two nobody moved about much so no trips were taken - something to bear in mind in the summer months.!

Also the tents retain the heat so for comfort maybe freestanding fans should be introduced."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Image alt

Pelican Bay Hotel, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Windy on the Bay"

1 night Arrived 14 Nov 2007
"Another hotel that can be found at any resort but in this case the rooms are slightly more interesting with views over the bay. Food and restaurant service were good but reception staff appeared to require further training - a bag of ice could be obtained for the cool box at all lodges in the middle of the bush but not at Pelican Bay Hotel! A minor gripe but there seemed to be a lack of understanding with regard to several points at reception.

Overall however a reasonable place to stop-over on the tour."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Sossus Dune Lodge

Sossus Dune Lodge

"A new lodge on the block"

2 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2007
"Excellent accomodation, food, service and trips but surely to be expected from a recently opened lodge. A central dining and lounge area has two rows of twelve detached rooms leading off to either side. The rooms are excellently appointed with all windows opening onto a large verandah overlooking either Sesriem Canyon or dunes. A large heated swimming pool in an excellent setting is another feature.

Dawn trips to Sossusvlei and an afternoon trip into Sesriem Canyon were expertly and informatively handled and our thanks to the guide, Rambo {yes,really} for his work.

Our thanks to the manager Francois and his wife for their hospitality

One point: it's quite a long walk from the furthest rooms to the main lodge!!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Sinclair Guest Farm, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"A touch of Europe in Africa"

1 night Arrived 17 Nov 2007
"A very good place for an overnight stop and surprising in its beauty as a working farm. A very lush and colourful garden sits in front of the main house making a cool and shady area for relaxing with numerous birds flying and walking around you.

Rooms are somewhat old-fashioned but clean and comfortable. Meals are eaten at the main house with the family and are good home cooking.

A very good tour of the farm in the afternoon guided by Peter is to be recommended."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Eagle's Nest

Eagle's Nest

"At the Eagles Nest"

1 night Arrived 18 Nov 2007
"Another excellent location consisting of stone built bungalow type accomodation set in rocks at the base of rocky outcrops. It was situated about 7km from the main lodge so driving to the lodge for meals was required although food would have been provided if you wished to cook at your bungalow. The room was well appointed and comfortable with again a verandah at the front overlooking the Namib desert.

Convenient to Luderitz and the wild horses the only minus point was again the quality of cuisine - average but no more .
Yet again service could not be faulted."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Image alt

Grande View Lodge, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Bumpily into the canyon"

2 nights Arrived 19 Nov 2007
"Perched on the western rim of Fish River Canyon the accomodation of ground floor room and upper floor verandah provides superb views of the canyon and surrounding area. The room was basic but clean and comfortable and the food very good as was the service.

A trip into the canyon by 4x4 was exhilirating if somewhat bumpy - be prepared for bruises, but was well led and driven by our guide.

NB We understand that the lodge was shutting end November and being rebuilt further along the canyon rim with an upgrade and plans were to have it open in 4 - 5 months. The staff would live in the old rooms thus stopping the necessity of taking them down to the village near the reception {approx 14km over dirt road} several times a day thus improving 24hr service."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"A fine end to our trip"

1 night Arrived 21 Nov 2007
"Magnificent setting overlooking the Kalahari desert the main lodge is superbly fitted out. Our straw bale constructed chalet was luxurious and extremely welcoming and comfortable. The grounds themselves were very relaxing.

The staff were friendly and attentive and the food very good. It was an extremely fine venue to spend our last night and following morning before our return to Windhoek.

Recommended"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team