This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge

Reviews of Grootberg Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

89 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Grootberg Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Oct-2018, 8 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Grootberg Lodge.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Zebra

86% success

Giraffe

71% success

Oryx

67% success

Black Rhino

43% success

Elephant

29% success

Spotted Hyena

20% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 61-70 of 89
Duration
Arrival date
Mr&Mrs P,Mr M,Ms B
UK

"The terrifying 4x4 climb is worth it"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jun 2011
"This place will take your breath away, both in the 4x4 climb up the mountain side and the view you will experience when there.

Once again the staff could not have been more helpfull and friendly.

Beautiful Lodge building with such a nice atmosphere. It was here the staff 'choir' sang for us. Such good fun and entertaining.
The next morning our huts clung hung high on the valley rim wall while the clouds beneath us flooded the valley floor. A truly wonderful sight.

Take a dip in the swimming pool for the untimate photo opportunity: a true infinity pool.

Then came the drive back down...mmm" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr M & Mrs J
UK

"Locally run lodge"

2 nights Arrived 22 Dec 2010
"We really enjoyed staying at a lodge run by the local people. The rooms have a fantastic view over the valley with a cool veranda to sit on. Inside, the shower and bathroom are a little small. The infinity pool was also a great treat in the heat of the day.

The trips available were very good, again finding desert elephant with great sensitivity. It would have been useful to know that the Himba were over a 2 hour drive away. However we were very impressed with how the camp have addressed the issues of tourists visiting the people and it felt beneficial to them as well as us - and not in the least forced.

The dancing and singing from the staff at one meal time was very entertaining" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs AS
Colorado

"Grootberg Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 2 Nov 2010
"Outstanding setting overlooking the Klip River Valley. The really outstanding part of our stay there were the activities and our guide: Elephant tracking, Klip River drive and the Himba trip. We were fortunate to have Desi as our guide on all three trips. Desi is a wealth of knowledge on the area, particularly the birds. He not only can tell you about nature, but also about the local people and their communities and their life in this somewhat harsh environment.

We felt the entire staff had the utmost concern about pleasing the guests, and they did." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms H & Mrs J
London

"R & R in Grootberg"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2010
"A different atmosphere from the Wilderness Camps but still very good.

Incredible views and so many small aniamls and birds to spot from the veranda of the rooms.

I didn't take a game drive as we were going on to Etosha but I rather wish I had." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs B
London

"fantastic and dramatic location"

2 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2010
"The location was stunning . The hosts were very efficient and helpful in sorting out our tyre punctures. Compared to the other places we stayed the atmosphere was rather serious and less relaxed.

The food was generally good and the activities well organised" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms A & M & Miss E
UK

"Grootberg Relaxation"

2 nights Arrived 18 Aug 2010
"After attempting to drive up to the lodge in our 2x4 car and scaring the living daylights out of every one we parked and were met once again very warmly even though we arrived very early!!

The setting was breath taking as was the temperature of the pool water. Lots of different wildlife to see especially birds.

Activities were well organised and once again the guides were excellent. What to say about the staff, they were fantastic, friendly, helpful but useless at netball !! ( Florida and Marianne watch out for a rematch)

Food was once again excellent and served in a friendly atmosphere or was this the effect of Florida's special Springbok and Orryx cocktails? The lodge does have an extremely community based feel about it and you are made to feel like one of the family." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Ms H
UK

"Stunning views"

1 night Arrived 2 Jun 2010
"Facinating experience to stay at a community run Lodge. Showed a very good practical eco approach to everything including conservation. All very friendly and helpful. Although no hot water in the morning for a shower!!

Fantastic views and didn't get a chance to use the infinty swimming pool. Went on an afternoon Game drive as the walks were cancelled due to Lions being too close. Saw a stunning sunset and a lot of game, however you do need to be prepared as the ride is very bumpy! Ended up with some bruises.

Wished we'd stayed two nights to do more, like Rhino tracking. That night at dinner all the staff came in singing Happy Birthday to me and than sang some traditional songs, we were very touched, they also brought in some bubbly which we shared with all the other guests. Another unforgettable experience. Would go back again." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Ceredigion

"Fantastic location"

2 nights Arrived 17 May 2010
"The journey to Grootberg from Swakopmund was very long and evry very bumpy; but the scenery en-route was amazing!

The trip up to the lodge itself in an old bus was rather fun and we had a lovely welcome from the staff. The lodge staff were very friendly and sang songs for us after dinner which was great.

We were very fortunate that on the tracking for Desert Elephants we came across 3 huge bull elephants; so despite the searing heat and long walk- it was well worth it! The views from the lodge were perhaps it's best point.

Our chalet was in a fantastic location, but not too clean and their were mouse droppings in my bed! The resturant fllor and tables also neede a good clean- but any negatives were soon forgotten due to the lovely location and the brilliant staff." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms G
Luxembourg

"an OK lodge with some room for improvement"

1 night Arrived 17 May 2010
"We stayed only 1 night there on the way to Etosha from Deser Rhino Camp and did not participate in any activities. The lodge has an amazing view of the Stone River Valley, which comes at a price as you have to leave the car at the foot of the hill and then be driven there in quite an ancient vehicle that looks like a cross between a tank and a bus - it's an adventure in itself if you are not afraid of heights ;)

The rooms are very small and rather dark and they lack some of the usual stuff that we could find in other lodges (no torch, no panic alarm). The paths between the rooms and the main building are really stony and uneven so make sure you have your own torch with you.

The food and service was OK in general, but a bit too slow - for example we had to wait for a lunch snack for an hour. All in all, it's not a very sophisticated place, but we'd like to stress here that the staff are extremely nice and friendly and that can make up for a lot. We really enjoyed the singing after dinner!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr I & Mrs A
France

"Grootberg Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Apr 2010
"Grootberg Lodge we love you! What a wonderful place to stay. Top class professional staff, excellent guides, a view from the shower that will stay with me forever.

Our guide, Moses, was excellent. He told us stories that he had been told by his grandmother about the animals and trees, we learned about the local cultures, flora and fauna and felt very well looked after. We stopped for a packed lunch under the trees and there was no hurry to move on. This trip was excellent value for money. We were disappointed not to have time to do their Rhino tracking trip but we will definitely stay there again.

Much like Damaraland Camp we learned that this lodge is an excellent example of sustainable development, investing in the local community to provide a viable future for the young people. The difference for me was that everybody here was incredibly happy and cheery and it was very well run." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 61-70 of 89
92%
89 reviews of Grootberg Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
61
20
8
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (434 reviews)
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (129 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (112 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (110 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With comfortable rooms, open-air bathrooms, good food and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe offers a variety of nature and cultural excursions.


95% (101 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (49 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


82% (33 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (23 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (2 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge is a no thrills bush camp offering top-notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


No reviews yet
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa