This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr M & Mrs M from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

Namibia Holiday May 2012

Namibia between 21 Apr 2012 and 13 May 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"Very satisfactory really does do justice to the experience. The scenery, the lodges, the people, the wildlife, the tours, the food; it was all wonderful!

Sabina was very patient, efficient and helpful throughout the booking process. Everything was well explained and ran like clockwork. Well done Expert Africa and thank you."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Desert Camp

Desert Camp

"Great views at Desert Camp"

2 nights Arrived 29 Apr 2012
"Perhaps it was because it was our first lodge, but we thought Desert Camp was just wonderful.

In a stunningly beautiful location, just 5km from the Sossusvlei park gates, this was wonderfully peaceful and relaxing.

Excellent food was on offer at the linked Sossusvlei Lodge, but we chose to barbecue both night with the very good ingredients that could be ordered from reception.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The accommodation was comfortable and well equipped. And they had draught lager at the bar

All in all a fantastic start to our Namibia trip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Image alt

Meike Guest House

"Great hospitality at Meike's"

4 nights Arrived 1 May 2012
"Meike was extremely helpful, throughout our stay. She booked restaurants for us, provided a lunch box when an early start required it and even lent us some drinks on our first day when it was too late to find any shops open.

We were give use of a whole bungalow for just two of us at no extra cost.

Breakfasts were plentiful and good quality, if perhaps not surprisingly more targeted at her German clients.

We liked the communal eating which enabled us to meet other travellers and swap experiences.

Free internet access was another bonus.

Excellent hospitality and value overall"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Image alt

Own arrangements

"Camp Xaragu"

2 nights Arrived 5 May 2012
"Previous reviews I read mentioned a "pet" baboon which some felt was being mistreated by the owners. Although I'd not be certain, I think there must now be new owners. There was certainly no sign of the baboon.

This was intended as a cheaper option in Southern Damaraland where the other camps are particularly expensive. We therefore were not expecting the sort of luxury we had in other places that Expert Africa had recommended. Less comforts is exactly what we got although we still paid about £90/night for a Safari Tent and breakfast and N$175 each for dinner.

The tent was just that, but did have a rather rustic but nonetheless, rather charming, outdoor toilet, basin and shower (hot) attached to it.

The food was hearty and plentiful, the staff very friendly indeed and overall we enjoyed our two night stay. Lets just say we were perhaps spoiled by our other choices of accommodation and this one was not a highlight. I'd certainly not recommend it in very hot weather because there was no way to cool down in the tent. It was bad enough in May (still high 30's during the day) which is the start of Namibia's winter.

Overall, if you don't mind or perhaps even enjoy something a little simpler, this was not a bad choice though."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

"Grootberg Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 7 May 2012
"Wow!!!!!!! What a view.

Excellent food and service. (Rather limited wine choices would be the only negative)

Very good accommodation.

A good choice of activities.

Oh and did I mention the view."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

"Frans Indongo Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 9 May 2012
"We arrived early afternoon on our first day and were persuaded to take an inexpensive game drive around the farm. What a treat that was. We saw so many animals and birds including a close encounter with 3 White Rhino, that it completely exceeded our expectations.

The room and indeed the whole lodge was beautiful.

The food would compare with almost anything we've had in England for quality and the house red wine at about £2 a glass was excellent.

Once again the staff were wonderful. I particularly liked the balance they struck between efficient service and friendliness.

Overall this was perhaps our favourite lodge, although all of them had many aspects to enjoy."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

Immanuel Wilderness Lodge

"Immanuel Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 11 May 2012
"Once again excellent food and staff, but after the luxury of the Frans Indongo this lodge was never going to be as nice.

It was nonetheless a very good option for those needing to stay near the airport at the beginning or end of the trip, who don't want to stay in Windhoek itself. The drive to the airport was about 60km and took no more than an hour."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team