This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge

Reviews of Grootberg Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

88 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Grootberg Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Oct-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Grootberg Lodge.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Zebra

83% success

Giraffe

67% success

Oryx

60% success

Black Rhino

50% success

Elephant

33% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 71-80 of 88
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs H
W Sussex

"Grootberg Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2009
"Whilst the Lodge itself was not the most luxurious of our trip this was exceeded by the service and friendiness of Dominic, Simonetta ( spelling ?) and all of the Grootberg team.
From our arrival at the bottom of the mountain track, waiting for the 4x4 to come down to collect us, the staff could not have been better.
We were immediately made welcome by the guy looking after the guests vehicles and then Domionic arrived to collect us and our luggage and take up the very steep track to the Lodge and what a location.... a total surprise not revealed until taken onto the main veranda for a welcome drink.
The lodge is on top of a mountain horseshoe plateau with superb views seemingly for miles.
Our bungalow, although not huge, was perfectly adequate and located on the edge of the plateau with amazing views.
Our only negative comment on the room was that the pillows not as comfortable as some and on the 2nd morning noticed a hole in the bottom sheet.
All of this pales into insignificance when viewed against the total experience with the staff.
Meals were excellent, and hot !, and followed by entertainment on both evenings by front and back room staff performing local songs with great humour.
Wnenever we had been out multiple staff would come up to you, seemingly knowing, or having been skillfully briefed, exactly what you had been doing and being genuinely interested and wanitng to ensure you were having a good time.
We booked to go on a morning game drive to the river valley but this ended up being a shorter drive on the plateau.. which was slightly disappointing although we saw plenty of Oryx, Springbok, Mountain Zebra and other creatures.
Over lunch Dominic came over to talk with us and we mentioned the drive and after leaving us for a short while he came back to advise that he had arranged an additional drive, down to the river bed, and at no additional cost..... great service.
The atmosphere at Grootberg was very relaxed and you felt like part of an enlarged family particularly with the 2 dogs in attendance." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Purley

"Grootberg Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Sep 2009
"Wonderful setting but activities quite expensive., Pity we were not told about the change in the clocks on the first Sunday in September, caused a little enbarrassment by late arrival at mealtime." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Belgium

"amazing location"

1 night Arrived 29 Aug 2009
"Excellent. Full service and wonderfull activities (game drive and Himba little settelment).

One of the most impressive remembrance." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A & Mrs L
Notts

"Grootberg Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 31 Jul 2009
"This has to be the scariest place to get to! I know there is a warning about leaving your car at the bottom of the track, and the ride up was fairly terrifying, but coming back down.....

It was another place that had us saying 'wow' because of the view - the whole place just perches on the edge of a cliff - an amazing location and again, community run with direct links back into the local wider community. They were rightly proud of what they have achieved and it was fascinating to hear about how this lodge is changing the lives of the people in such a remote and wild area.

Our only disappointment was that one of their vehicles had a problem and so it was either 'tracking rhinls' or 'tracking elephants' and since more wanted to do elephants, we missed out on the rhino and since we had done the elephant tracking at Doro Nawas, we were left with walks on our own for much of the time. These were well marked and offered amazing views and very close encounters with game such as oryx and springbok. The birds were at about the same level as us for most of the time - excellent views of eagles at nearly 200 feet!

It was very windy again while we were at Grootberg and this made the rooms feel cold - we would have loved a hot water bottle here just to take the chill off at night. It is also a location where you really need a torch as the paths are very rocky, with only a few lights along them and its a long way out to Cabin 1 from the main house - many of the other lodges provided torches so we left ours in the 'bus' - its a long and scary walk back down that hill to fetch it!

Bob, the gentleman who welcomed us, nothing was too much trouble for him, and the young man who looked after the cars at the bottom of the track - he had even cleaned our filthy 'bus' before we left - such lovely people and they deserve every success with this wonderful lodge." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Newark

"Grootberg Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2009
"Absolutely stunning location overlooking the Klip River Valley.

Our room was comfortable with a great view. We were also fortunate to see quite a lot of wildlife from our balcony - e.g. dassies, klipspringers and lovebirds. It's worth remembering a torch for the walk from the rooms to the lodge which is poorly lit and uneven.

The staff were very friendly and helpful without being over the top - a good balance. Whenever we needed anything or had a question they were easy to find and happy to help. We really enjoyed their song & dance act on our last evening - the staff were obviously enjoying themselves and it felt genuinely spontaneous rather than forced (as it does in many other places we've visited).

We did both the rhino tracking and desert elephant tracking. Both were very long days but were great fun. The rhino tracking is a full day with an early start whereas the elephant tracking is supposed to be a half day (although we returned to the lodge later than we had on the rhino tracking as our guide and tracker (Moses & Barman) didn't want to give up until we'd spotted an elephant!)." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr A & Ms B
UK

"Grootberg Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2009
"Grootberg Lodge was our favourite lodge of the trip! The location was magnificent, the staff were very relaxed and friendly and the food was some of the best we had in Namibia. They even provided evening entertainmnet singing namibian songs after dinner.

We opted to do the Elephant Tracking Trip,which was really good, the guides locating elephants from a footprint in the road! We were also able to see some local villages." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Ms G
Aberdeen

"Grootberg Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 3 May 2009
"This lodge is in a stunning location with an amazing view over the canyon.

Warm welcome and our stone chalet with thatch roof was nice, hot water supplied from 17.00-21.00 h by a wood fired "donkey" boiler which was lit at 15.30 h behind each chalet. Not as peaceful as some lodges as there was a lot of kitchen and staff noise in the main lodge as it is small and mainly open plan.

The staff very friendly and the host Simonetta very attentive. Enjoyed an early morning guided walk on the plateau. We went to the Skeleton Coast from Grootberg but found the road to Torra Bay was closed once we reached the Park ( just over 2 h drove from Grootberg). Saw elephants 10 min from Grootberg which was great." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr M & Mrs P
UK

"Aspect magnificent."

2 nights Arrived 17 Dec 2008
"Of all lodges we thought this was the least professionally run." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs F
Ireland

"Cool mountain views"

2 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2008
"Wonderful location in the mountains with views over the valley.

Staff were in abundance and all from the local community, they were very friendly and helpful and seemed to love working with tourists.

Plenty of activities, including a self guided walk around the plateau, minimum of two night stay here is recommended. Could have stayed here longer." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Yellow Canaries
UK

"Grootberg Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2008
"What a spectacular location! The drive up the rough track in the Landrover that was sent to collect us from where we had left our own car at the bottom of the mountain prepared us for the excitement of arriving at the top and seeing the view from the Lodge. We felt even more excited when we heard that a leopard's footprints had been seen by the swimming pool the previous morning!

Our cabin was set right on the edge of the escarpment with a fantastic view from its balcony. The cabin itself was comfortable, water heated from a primative wooden furnace outside - the only complaint was that we would have liked to have had a door on the loo. A certain degree of privacy is nice even when sharing a room with your wife/husband.

Again, we had an extremely friendly welcome from all the staff and good food, though embarrassed by the excessively large portions given us which meant that was unnecessary wastage.

The next day we were driven by our guide, Crossley, down into the Klip valley where we saw wildlife, including an elephant,and were particularly fascinated by some of the large quartz crystals he showed us in an outcrop of rock.

In the afternoon, what better place to enjoy the view than our balcony! The swimming pool, immediately above the cliff edge, gave a new experience as numerous swallows wheeled around and skimmed the surface even when one was in the water.

Our car, parked at the bottom of the hill, was cleaned for us before we left." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 71-80 of 88
92%
88 reviews of Grootberg Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
61
20
7
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (434 reviews)
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (126 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (111 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (110 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With comfortable rooms, open-air bathrooms, good food and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe offers a variety of nature and cultural excursions.


95% (101 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (49 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


81% (32 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (22 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa