This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr&Mrs P,Mr M,Ms B from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

Namibia trip: Thoroughly reccommended

Namibia between 3 Jun 2011 and 17 Jun 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"Over all this holiday was a brilliant trip. The journeys between locations especially in the early part of the holiday were long hard and dusty. However, this was was more than compensated by the beautiful and varied landscapes we passed through and the wildlife we eccountered on the way. Without dout every destination made every bumpy mile well worth it. We would reccommend this itinerary in every respect. The locations, the accommodation and partiularly the direction in which the trip was planned. The harder drives were better handled early on in the holiday and of course the climax being Etosha. The other observation bourn out in my comments regarding the service is the friendliness of all the people we met, so many nice people where ever we went.

If you enjoy astounding landscapes
If you enjoy peace and tranquillity
If you enjoy wildlife (and sometime sharing it)
Namibia is for you.

What you won't get is anything contrived, everything so natural and so sympathetic to the surrounings. Nor will get is a chance to see the full Luna eclipse in the magnificent African sky from the veranda at Frans Indongo Lodge as we were so lucky enough to experience. (not unless you live another hundred years)

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

You recommended bags to put around the cases to help avoid the dust. (this is not a criticism) We duly did this. This pesented a problem of its own in that the dust was still there and we still got dusty reaching in the back of the car. The tip is, as were learnt from the manager at Desert Homestead, is to leave the back side windows of the pod open just a little. This creates a through draught taking a lot of the dust back out. This did not solve the problem but cut the dust down by say 70%.

We dispensed with the bags which were by now all split and inside out anyway and patted down the cases to rid the last of the dust at each accommodation stop. As the holiday went on the problem lessened as we encountered more and more tarred roads anyway. Just a thought."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

"Ideal overnight preparation stop"

1 night Arrived 3 Jun 2011
"Easy to find from airport and located just out side of Windhoek centre. (we were advised to taxi in or self drive in; this was no problem.)
A warm welcome and very helpful and friendly service

Ideal stop to anticipate the journey ahead.

Plenty of places to eat in town. Joe's Bar is worth it"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

"Beautifully isolated magnificent backdrop"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jun 2011
"Our second warm welcome with a refreshing drink after a long dusty drive. Staff all very friendly and approachable. The giant ground crickets were also very friendly sharing our veranda as we watched an amazing sun-set over the Nakluft moutains

The lodge building had a very relaxed atmosphere and great views. It was here that batteries were charged in more ways than one.
35/40 min drive to the Naukluft Park and the dunes. Sunrise is worth the early start ( packed breakfast) although you are at the mercy, time-wise, of the staff opening the gate. The dune ladscape is surreal. You can walk up Dune 45 early morning, any later in the sun...little chance"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Good location to explore Swakopmund"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jun 2011
"Another long and dusty ride brought us to Cornerstone, the oasis we required.
Staff friendly and helpfull.

Peter, the owner, did not hesitate to fit a panel heater in our room on these surprisingly cold Swakopmund nights.
The town is small and easily walked and on a grid system.
Provision stock-up at Pick 'n' Pay supermarket. The museum is a must.
Plenty of places to eat."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

"The middle earth stop-brilliant"

1 night Arrived 8 Jun 2011
"Another warm welcome into what was this most unique accommodation. We lived among a landslide of giant granate bolders. It was the closest thing to being a Hobbit. Yes! there is an outside toilet/bathroom but amazing to be beneath a Africa night sky in all its glory while brushing your teeth.

The lodge was warm and friendly with a myriad of wild birds visiting a giant bird bath almost on the veranda.

A short steep climb above the camp took us to a sunset viwing point where we were served with canapes and drinks. So relaxing before a return to the lodge for an excellent meal."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

"The terrifying 4x4 climb is worth it"

2 nights Arrived 9 Jun 2011
"This place will take your breath away, both in the 4x4 climb up the mountain side and the view you will experience when there.

Once again the staff could not have been more helpfull and friendly.

Beautiful Lodge building with such a nice atmosphere. It was here the staff 'choir' sang for us. Such good fun and entertaining.
The next morning our huts clung hung high on the valley rim wall while the clouds beneath us flooded the valley floor. A truly wonderful sight.

Take a dip in the swimming pool for the untimate photo opportunity: a true infinity pool.

Then came the drive back down...mmm"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Waterhole accommodation a must"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jun 2011
"Very much bigger facility than previous stop-overs thus lacked the personal service but still a good location and the accommodation by the waterhole was ideal.

The chef was possibly the jolliest member of staff we ever encountered, a Lenny Henry style greeting afforded to everyone as they entered the dinning area. This was in direct contrast to the reception staff at arrival.

The chalets were in adjoining pairs. It would have made sense to put us as a party in one pair. However we were split even though we booked as a party of four under one name. We could have been a family. We could not understand this. In all honesty it was not a big problem but they did very little comply to our request to be together in the same chalet pair.

However, more seriously, we were given wrong information at reception about Park entry and leaving times. When we came to exit the gate we were asked to pay for another day (330 N$.) We were one hour over due! Diplomacy mixed with a sprinkling of English charm together with a promise to visit the Park the next morning our fine was waved. It is worth checking with the gate on arrival and treat with some caution infomation from reception staff members at Okaukuejo. This is a little moan and totally overshadowed by the wildlife visits at the waterhole. Zebra, Elephant, Rhino and baby. Excellent place to stop."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Poor
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

"Canvas luxury"

2 nights Arrived 13 Jun 2011
"Ideally positioned just outside Von Lidequist Gate Etosha a 10 min ride away.

Under canvas and very comfortable and some interesting animal noises through the night. The culprits arriived on the lawn the next morning keeling to feed in only the way warthogs do.

Another friendly welcome by the staff and among them another well rehearsed choir who entertained us around the evening camp fire and barbeque banquet."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Frans Indongo Lodge

Frans Indongo Lodge

"Time to catch a breath and reflect"

1 night Arrived 15 Jun 2011
"Pristine and manicured gardens surrounded spacious and well appointerd chalets. A welcome and relaxing stop-over to break the journey back to Elegant Guesthouse for one last night before our plane home.

Very friendly staff and an excellent evening meal."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

"last night in Namibia"

1 night Arrived 16 Jun 2011
"See previous

[Ed: see their review of this guesthouse below]"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team