This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr M & Mrs J from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

2

Christmas in Africa

Namibia between 15 Dec 2010 and 31 Dec 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"As seasoned Africa travellers our remit was "to have christmas where it didn't feel like Christmas". On that score the trip was first class. We enjoyed a mix of game watching and education and were fortunate that the rains only arrived 1 or 2 days before we came back.

On the negative side, it would have been useful to have a rough idea of the time journeys migt take rather than the distance - which means very little in Africa. We did find the trip and Namibia quite expensive, perhaps a reflection both on the weak pound but also how Africa is increasing in popularity."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"restful stopover to recover from the flight"

1 night Arrived 16 Dec 2010
"This was an ideal spot to rest and recover. Helpful regarding ideas of where to eat etc."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund Guesthouse

"Perfect base in Swakop"

3 nights Arrived 17 Dec 2010
"Guest house was in a good position and easy to find after the first attempt. Close to the main street and walking distance from restaurants but also quiet and off the main road.

Bit disappointing that seating for relaxing outside the room was almost on the pavement.

Excellent trips with Turnstone tours. Guides were very knowledgable and we learnt a lot of history and geology as well as seeing the nature.

Fabulous fish meals especially at the raft in Walvis Bay and the Lighthouse in Swakop."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Desert tour

Desert tour

"Desert Tour"

18 Dec 2010 • Morning excursion

Bruno was excellent (and apparently not feeling too well we heard after), very interesting trip , thoroughly enjoyable. We learnt loads about the history, geography, geology. flaura and fauna.
Excellent
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Sandwich tour - not quite"

19 Dec 2010 • All-day excursion

We had a great day out, just the 2 of us and guide, but we didn't make it to Sandwich. Tides wait for no man and it was too dangerous. However the experience of driving and getting stuck in the dunes was worth the trip and for my birdwatching husband a final glimpse of a dune lark was the icing on the cake. I thought it was rather small and brown myself.
We booked the private trip so as not to inhibit other tourists in the walking sections as my husband is a wheelchair user. I am not sure that there would have been any other tourists if we had just gone for the normal one but we enjoyed the undivided attention and got to know a lot of things in a very short time.
Good
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

"Mountain Retreat"

2 nights Arrived 20 Dec 2010
"Setting was well thought out although the layout prevented any view from the room itself. The outside shower and bathroom was excellent. The terraine was quite sandy and a bit difficult for the wheelchair, although the staff were helpful and accomodating.

Trips were interesting, Desert Elephant tracking was done sensitively and without undue stress on these rare animals , an enjoyable experience."
Good
Location
Good
Food
Average
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

"Locally run lodge"

2 nights Arrived 22 Dec 2010
"We really enjoyed staying at a lodge run by the local people. The rooms have a fantastic view over the valley with a cool veranda to sit on. Inside, the shower and bathroom are a little small. The infinity pool was also a great treat in the heat of the day.

The trips available were very good, again finding desert elephant with great sensitivity. It would have been useful to know that the Himba were over a 2 hour drive away. However we were very impressed with how the camp have addressed the issues of tourists visiting the people and it felt beneficial to them as well as us - and not in the least forced.

The dancing and singing from the staff at one meal time was very entertaining"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Christmas in Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 24 Dec 2010
"The camp is quite large and luckily we had stopped outside the park for supplies and charcoal as the shop on site was very poorly stocked. It would have been useful to have been advised that the chalet had no amenities at all - not a cup, or plate or knife in sight - we could easily have carried these with us but hadn't.

Game driving was very good, all sorts of animals found and viewed and easy to get away from the crowd. What more can an africa addict want than to spend christmas eve with a glass of wine and 10 - yes 10 - black rhinos at a floodlit waterhole ( and I do mean black rhino not white)."
Good
Location
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

"A little luxury at Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 26 Dec 2010
"This was the disappointment of our trip. The room and lodge were lovely, with fantastic tented accomodation and excellent food, but they were not running any activities and as it had started to rain we couldn't really saty around the pool.

We ended up driving back into Etosha for the day and evening. This let us see more animals and a different part of the park, but it may have been just as well to have stayed at the accomodation that side, inside the park."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Final Days with Cheetah"

2 nights Arrived 28 Dec 2010
"What a fantastic place to end our trip.

Although the cats are semi-captive and radio tracked it was still a thrill to see them so close. Leopard, Cheetah and our favourite , Wild Dog. Not sure if everyone gets the chance to see the dogs, we were fortunate to be able to ask the Africat staff. They are hand raised and although can never be released fully wild, they do hunt for themselves. Howeve because they are used to humans we could get off the vehicle and walk closer to them - amazing."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team