This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms G from Luxembourg

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

3

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

11

Excursions taken

0

Another great trip with EA

Seychelles between 15 Apr 2012 and 23 Apr 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"As on two previous occassions, Expert Africa have outdone themselves - thank you!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

You are great - just keep up the good work :-)"

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


La Reserve

La Reserve

"The perfect relaxing holiday"

7 nights Arrived 16 Apr 2012
"After a very long trip we were greeted with a smile and a welcoming drink. Upon arrival we found that we had been upgraded to a deluxe room with a fantastic view, which was a lovely surprise.

The hotel is not far from the major attractions on the island (e.g Vallee de Mai) but it feels very secluded and it is a genuine oasis of calm.

We found the staff went out of their way to help if need be - everyone was great, especially Christina, Ron and the bar staff.

There are a variety of excursions available, but as the hotel itself is so well laid out, it was very rare that we saw other guests. So if you just want to relax in the shade of a palm tree with a good book and have an occasional swim in the sea or their lovely pool, you're in the right place. There is a beautiful reef just off the hotel beach, with many fishes that make the snorkelling amazing. Lots of birds plus a group of tortoises in the garden make the place very special as well. We loved the food and the service at the meals was always fantastic. The jetty restaurant was simply amazing, having fish swimming below your feet when dining or having breakfast just added that extra touch (the fish are highly trained ;-)).

There is a small shop by the reception if you need some extra sun screen, postcards or shorts.

We booked a Swedish massage on the first day - it was so relaxing that 'one' of us fell asleep during the massage which we believe shows the excellent quality.

The only suggestion we do have for the hotel is to provide more detailed information about snorkelling and the best areas to go."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Fabulous trip to Namibia

Namibia between 8 May 2010 and 23 May 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"Fabulous, fantastic and fascinating!

Namibia is a wonderful country with very friendly and genuinely hospitable people. We saw everything we wanted to see (the desert, leopards and rhinos) and more - the landscapes are stunningly beautiful and varied.

It was our first visit to Namibia but definitely not the last one!

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

This was our second trip with EA and hopefully not the last :)

We cannot think of any improvements, really - just keep the great job you're doing :)
Thank you very much!"

Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"A nice place near the dunes"

3 nights Arrived 9 May 2010
"Kulala Desert Lodge is a very nice lodge with excellent food and friendly staff. The rooms were a bit on the small side in comparison with the other lodges we stayed in later, but very nice and clean.

The staff is friendly and trying to do their best but it was difficult to figure out who was who, as when they introduce themselves they never say what their function was. The introductory talk with the manager (?) was a bit hasty and it wasn't too clear what exactly the activities were about, so we had to ask them to explain again.

The balloon trip is definitely worth doing."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Wolwedans Dune Camp

Wolwedans Dune Camp

"An amazing place in an amazing reserve"

2 nights Arrived 12 May 2010
"Wolwedans Dune Camp exceeded our expectations! It is a serene, very comfortable, stylishly simple and romantic place in the dunes, with beautiful views from the tents and the main area.

The food was very sophisticated and delicious. All the staff were very friendly and competent. Our guide Ben seemed to know everything about everything and taught us plenty about the reserve and its fauna and flora.

The only small suggestion we have concerns the seating arrangements at dinner table. We realise that there might be a point to the staff asking a guest to sit on a particular place, but we feel that the guests should be allowed to sit where they wish at the common table, for example to be able to talk to particular other guests or - more importantly - to avoid having to chat all evening to particular other guests ;) We know it's a delicate matter but please let the guests choose their company at dinner ;-)

The landscapes in the reserve are spectacular and the whole day drive really gives an opportunity to appreciate them. It's definitely a place to visit and revisit! Thank you, Expert Africa, for recommending it :)"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

"Unforgettable rhino tracking"

3 nights Arrived 14 May 2010
"Desert Rhino Camp was a fantastic place to visit - the rhino tracking sessions can take some time, but they're definitely worth the time and effort. We had an excellent guide - Ali - and the trackers were also great and very knowledgeable. We've enjoyed particularly the "no-impact" aspect of the sightings, watching the undisturbed animals unaware of any spectators was unforgettable.

In terms of hospitality, food, service, accommodation etc. the camp is top quality and we are still fondly remembering some of the dishes - thank you for the fish recipe!... The only strange thing in the camp was hot water bottles in the beds when the temperature was over 30 degrees ;- )

Moreover, the managers helped us a lot with our car booking that got a bit complicated - thank you again for your help. And special thanks to our guide who drove us extra 40 km to our next destination."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

"an OK lodge with some room for improvement"

1 night Arrived 17 May 2010
"We stayed only 1 night there on the way to Etosha from Deser Rhino Camp and did not participate in any activities. The lodge has an amazing view of the Stone River Valley, which comes at a price as you have to leave the car at the foot of the hill and then be driven there in quite an ancient vehicle that looks like a cross between a tank and a bus - it's an adventure in itself if you are not afraid of heights ;)

The rooms are very small and rather dark and they lack some of the usual stuff that we could find in other lodges (no torch, no panic alarm). The paths between the rooms and the main building are really stony and uneven so make sure you have your own torch with you.

The food and service was OK in general, but a bit too slow - for example we had to wait for a lunch snack for an hour. All in all, it's not a very sophisticated place, but we'd like to stress here that the staff are extremely nice and friendly and that can make up for a lot. We really enjoyed the singing after dinner!"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

"Very professional lodge"

2 nights Arrived 18 May 2010
"Ongava Lodge is run very professionaly and smoothly, although it does not have the personal and cosy atmosphere of some other lodges we visited. The activities were planned in a way so that not much time was left between drives and meals and we felt a bit overwhelmed with the programme sometimes.

The activities itself were neverthless great, both Ongava reserve and Etosha park have plenty of animals and each drive is an excellent opportunity to watch them.

The room was very spacious and well-equipped and we had a great view of the waterholes from the terrace. We really appreciated our guide Abder, who was one of the best guides we met during the trip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp - OK for one night"

1 night Arrived 20 May 2010
"The room we had (waterhole chalet) was small but very clean and new.

The shower could have been more powerful, but otherwise it was OK. The camp is like a little village with shops, a petrol station, a post office, a pool and a canteen-like restaurant with rather average food.

The staff was either business-like or grumpy, but we didn't really mind as we only stayed there for one night."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Bush Camp"

2 nights Arrived 21 May 2010
"We were upgraded to Okonjima Bush Camp [Ed: from Main Camp] on the arrival - thank you, whoever took this decision ;-)

It's a great place with fantastic activities - we saw cheetahs and leopards - including a leopard hunting a warthog, which was a great spectacle! A nice bonus was 18 giraffes by the waterholes. Our guide Dean was great, we enjoyed every minute of our drives. He had a vast knowledge and an excellent sense of humour ;) The trails for self-guided walks were also a nice idea.

The room was very big and nicely furnished, the only problem was a lack of hot water on the second day. The bird seeds and the little waterbowl are a wonderful idea - we saw plenty of birds from really close and we also had a visit from a hungry warthog who fancied the bird seeds, too. OUR food was very tasty as well. :)"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

An unforgettable trip

Tanzania between 15 Feb 2009 and 27 Feb 2009

Trip rating: Excellent
"As a whole it was a fantastic first trip to Africa.

Thank you, Eleanor, for your patience, flexibility and advice, and expecially for recommending Beho Beho!

Suggestions for improvement:

The service is great, we felt very well informed and we will definitely use and recommend Expert Africa's services in the future."

Southern Sun Dar

Southern Sun Dar

"A good place for a short stay"

1 night Arrived 16 Feb 2009
"We stayed there for one short night only before travelling to Selous - we arrived late at night and left very early in the morning, so we cannot really say much about it.

The place seemed very peaceful and clean, the suite was spacious and nicely decorated, the service was very good and the breakfast buffet was fine."
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Beho Beho

Beho Beho

""excellent" is too weak a word for it"

5 nights Arrived 17 Feb 2009
"Beho Beho is an unforgetable experience! First of all, its location is breath-taking - the views are fabulous. The camp itself is a very stylish, yet an absolutely unpretentious place - it is luxurious in many respects, but paradoxically it does feel like home.

The drives and walks were fantastic - we cannot imagine a better first safari trip... The guides we had were very professional and knowledgeable, they always went out of their way to show and tell us as much as possible.

The whole place is run impeccably. The staff was very friendly, competent and always smiling. Every part of the service - from the laundry to the cleaning - was just perfect.

As for the food, it was always delicious and served in a lovely way. The wake-up tea is a great idea - it's an excellent way to wake up before the morning drive. The idea of serving lunch and dinner at several locations makes every meal special. And the surprise breakfast at Tagalala Lake is unforgettable.

It's a very special place and we are definitely going to go back there one day. The only worry is we are always going to compare every other place to Beho Beho from now on and the result will always be the same: Beho Beho rules! ;)"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Pole Pole

Pole Pole

"A good place to stay"

6 nights Arrived 22 Feb 2009
"We didn't experience any major problems there, but somehow we felt it was not as relaxing as we had expected. Maybe Beho Beho has spoilt us for life ;) Anyway, the general impression was good, hence the rating we are giving, but there were a few details that left someting to be desired.

Pole Pole is indeed situated nicely among palm trees and right at a little beach. The managers and the staff were very friendly and no request was a problem for them, which we appreciate a lot. The massage on offer is great and the food was excellent indeed. The tomato soup and the carrot soup were the highlights - thanks for the recipe :) The flexible meal times is a great idea.

As for the activities, the two snorkelling trips we made were really nice - especially the second one, because there was sunshine and because some seat cushions were provided on the boat, unlike the first time. The visit to Utende was very interesting, many thanks to Mr Zeni, who proved a very good guide and took us to the primary school and the dispensary.

Unfortunately, the whale-sharks boat trip, for which we paid 60 USD per person, was absolutely unsuccessful - we spent half a day searching for them and found none, probably because of the bad weather at the time. We were charged in full for the trip, though. We understand that there are some costs to be covered anyway, like the driver's and the boat crew's fees, but we would have appreciated an appropriate discount, especially since - as were told - it was the very first time when no whale-sharks were to be seen.

Our general idea was to go to Pole Pole to relax after a safari, also to do a bit of snorkelling etc, but mostly to read and chill out in peace and quiet. Due to the tides, there isn't much sea to swim in in the mornings and not much of a beach in the afternoon (and the neighbouring beach wasn't very tranquil, really), so do not expect to be able to swim and use the beach any time you want, you have to spot the right moment for it. You can spend your relaxation time on your lodge's terrace, but there is only one day bed, so if you are two people that are NOT travelling as a couple, someone has to sit in a not-too-comfy chair or lie down on a bed in the room. Another option is to relax is the library - there is a hammock and you may be lucky to find it unoccupied. Might be a good idea to put hammocks in all the terraces.

The room and the bathroom were clean but the towels were kind of smelly, so we asked for a change, but the new ones smelt of damp as well. The beach towels were clean but there were some old yellow stains on them, which is a bit disappointing in a place that clearly has ambitions to be simple, but still a bit posh.

If we may make a suggestion, a price list for the soft drinks and alcoholic drinks should be privided in the rooms and in the bar - firstly, it's just nice to know what exactly is offered, secondly - it's nice to know the prices beforehand and not only when you sign the bill in the evenings."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team