This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms H & Mrs J from London

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

11

Excursions taken

5

Tanzania - a fabulous country

Tanzania between 24 Jan 2019 and 12 Feb 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"Excellent. Serengeti, followed by Selous, followed by Zanzibar - a perfect combination I think.

The decision to stay in two camps for four nights each rather than move around more, was a good one. And 2 nights at the Crater in Sopa Lodge also worked very well."

Arranged By Jessica Plumb


Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

Ngorongoro Sopa Lodge

"Perfect "

2 nights Arrived 25 Jan 2019
"The two night stay was just perfect.

Arriving early evening, time to settle in, have dinner and then an early start the next morning to go down to the Crater.

Spend most of the day in the amazing Crater with picnic breakfast and picnic lunch; then late afternoon visit a nearby Masai village before returning to the Lodge for dinner."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lake Manyara Safari

Lake Manyara Safari

"Safari in Lake Manyara National Park review"

25 Jan 2019 • All-day excursion

The problem was that we were too squeezed for time. This is not the fault of our excellent guide Jackson, nor the Park. I was lead to believe that Arusha was much nearer Kilimanjaro airport than it was. Although our plane arrived on time, the journey to Arusha was much longer than anticipated and it would have been much better for us and the guide ( who is based in Arusha ) if we had flown into Arusha and not Kilimanjaro. Maybe it wasn't possible, but this wasn't explained.

We stopped at the Cultural Heritage Centre in Arusha and spent far too long there (unbeknown to us) as it had a lot of wonderful original artwork on display. Our visit to Manyara was therefore fairly brief as we had to get to the Crater entrance by a certain time. Maybe it wasn't doing Manyara within our time frame.
Average
Image alt

Visit to a Maasai Village

"Interesting and fun"

26 Jan 2019 • Afternoon excursion

Interesting and fun.

Rather commercial but never mind. It needed to be done for curiosity sake. No regrets.

The Masai need to make a living too.
Good
Safari in Ngorongoro Crater

Safari in Ngorongoro Crater

"An eighth wonder"

26 Jan 2019 • All-day excursion

A wonderful and amazing sight when first encountered. Masses of wildlife and beauty.

Arrive early for the best experience, however later in the day the number of vehicles was not as bad as expected.

End of January visit.
Excellent
Dunia Camp

Dunia Camp

"Excellent hospitality"

4 nights Arrived 27 Jan 2019
"The ladies run the camp superbly, under the eye of Angel the manageress. Fabulous tents, good food and great attention to detail.

Everyone was made to feel special: the ambiance during the evening gatherings over drinks and meals with the other guests was delightful, easy and fun !

The days out with our guide Jackson provided much game viewing and interest. It was brilliant.

We stayed 4 nights (so three full days game viewing) and although booked in a twin tent, Angel gave us our separate tents on arrival as the camp was not full - I was over the moon !!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Olduvai Gorge visit

Olduvai Gorge visit

"Definitely worth doing"

27 Jan 2019 • All-day excursion

Fascinating place and a very good lecture given to us over looking the gorge.

The little museum is well done - I definitely recommend the visit.
Excellent
Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"Perfect base in the Selous"

4 nights Arrived 31 Jan 2019
"After a wonderful few days in the Serengeti, this place was a complete contrast. Different vegetation, lakes, river safari, giraffe everywhere and good bird spotting. It was like a whole new holiday.

We were lucky to see lots of interesting and amusing interaction between species. Our guide Ezra was brilliant. The camp itself is very well run by the management team of Beatrice and David.

ALL the staff were attentive and friendly - all such lovely people.

Although booked into a twin tent, the Manager kindly gave us separate tents as the camp was not full - I was so happy !!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Short lunch at Mbweni Ruins Hotel

" It didnt happen"

31 Jan 2019 • Afternoon excursion

Not sure of the question - presumably the planned lunch at Mbweni Ruins on Zanzibar ??

It didn't happen as the plane arrived in Seronera two hours late. However, Coastal Air were extremely helpful and made sure we got to Selous eventually - we had to stay on the plane in Zanzibar, go back to Dar, and then take the 1630 to Selous.
Poor

Namibia for the first time

Namibia between 23 Sep 2010 and 10 Oct 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"Excellent

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Can't think of anything other than already mentioned."

Arranged By Tracy Lederer


Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

"Elegant Guesthouse - Windhoek"

1 night Arrived 24 Sep 2010
"Very helpful and friendly staff. Easy access into downtown Windhoek. Secure and peaceful surroundings needed for the aftermath of a long flight in economy.

We ate at a new restaurant (opened in April) which was not on your list that you sent us called "Fusion". Good simple food, inexpensive, and can eat outside under the stars. An easy N$60 cab ride from the Elegant."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Barking Geckos at Kulala Desert Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2010
"It was excellent for a two night stay, but I can see why one might get bored for three or more nights. Ballooning can be cancelled due to strong winds as it was when we were there. They are adding quad biking to their activities for this reason. But if getting out and about is not essental its a great place for reading, writing, or just relaxing ... Scenery stunning. Friendly efficient service from all."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Cornerstone Guesthouse

Cornerstone Guesthouse

"Cornerstone Guesthouse"

2 nights Arrived 27 Sep 2010
"Very easy walking distance to shops, restaurants and the sea. We arrived at lunchtime and had half a day to see Swakopmund, which is just about enough. Some good restaurants to chose from but booking is advisable.

The day trip with Turnstone Tours down to Sandwich Bay was superb. It was just us with the very knowledgable guide.
I could easily have done another night in Swakopmund and taken another day-trip inland with Turnstones, or maybe kayaking etc.

NB for Cornerstones - would have liked the milk, tea and coffee replenished in the room."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

"D.Camp in Damaraland"

2 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2010
"Arrived by car from Swakopmund at 5pm. Lovely first evening meal in the Boma under the stars - staff singing was very harmonious.
A wonderful day spent black rhino tracking, even though it was very hot and quite exhausting.

Went birding and looking for the desert elephants the next morning. Just us with guide - a brilliant.morning and then a delicious lunch before leaving.

Spacious bedrooms and bathrooms. No mosquitos. Relaxed friendly atmosphere."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

"R & R in Grootberg"

2 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2010
"A different atmosphere from the Wilderness Camps but still very good.

Incredible views and so many small aniamls and birds to spot from the veranda of the rooms.

I didn't take a game drive as we were going on to Etosha but I rather wish I had."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

"Best veranda at Ongava Tented Camp"

3 nights Arrived 3 Oct 2010
"Arrived by car mid in the mid-afternoon heat and were taken to our tented room which directly overlooked the waterhole a very short distance away, where lions were monopolising it from a waiting throng of water buck, zebra, springbok, kudu, etc. etc. There was coming and going to the waterhole by all animals throughout the day and night - a great spot.

Very attentive staff and relaxed atmosphere despite the proximity to lion. Etosha heaving with wildlife - note that the drive to Etosha passes through Okaukuejo where there is a large shop and post office, so take some money (we didn't as were not told shops would be en route).

No mosquitos."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Cats"

2 nights Arrived 6 Oct 2010
"We were upgraded from the Main Camp to the Bush Camp on arrival, which was a pleasant surprise, and we ended up with the huge honeymoon suite.

Our guide found us good sightings of leopard and cheetah, the reason for going, and it was very interesting to hear all about the importance of the Africat project. And seeing the orphaned wild dogs they have taken in was a bonus. If you want to photograph Warthogs, wait until you visit Okonjima as there are masses, rather then trying to snap them en route as we did.

There is a bit of a long gap between the mornings activities (0700 to 0930) followed by brunch, and the afternoon activites which start at 1600. However, walks can be organised and are a safe option here, and the pool area is grassed and larger so condusive to a more conventional poolside relax and swim. Plenty of birdlife too. No mosquitos.

Suggest visiting REST on the way out of Okonjima, after the second gate and before reaching the main road. It is a vulture and other endangered birds of prey sanctuary where a comprehanesive guided tour and talk is given. It is run on shoe string privately so every visitor's entrance fee helps.

Note to Okonjima -

(1) Provide flannels in the bathrooms.. It was the only camp not to do so and they are very useful when it is hot.

(2) My chosen sun downer drink for the whole holiday was whiskey and ginger ale. At Okonjima I could not have that unless I paid for it. It is not more expensive than Gin & tonic, wine, etc which was on offer .... so why ...? I was disappoointed with this small thing and the fact that we had to pay for water in our rooms. The wine was more expensive than we had come across before, but if, as I understand, 25% goes to Africat, then I don't mind."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

"The Elegant Guesthouse final stop"

1 night Arrived 8 Oct 2010
"Same comments as before. We ate outside at Fusion again, same wine, same food...

Disappointed with Windhoek shopping, although the Alte Fest Museum was well worth the visit. The National Art Gallery was closed on Saturday, not as Chris says in his book. It might have been interesting to have had a guided tour of even just 1 hour. We had most of the day available but couldn't really fill it given shopping wasn't attractive.

Elegant were very accommodating with our late departure for the airport at 1530 hours."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team