This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge

Reviews of Grootberg Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

89 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Grootberg Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Oct-2018, 8 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Grootberg Lodge.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Zebra

86% success

Giraffe

71% success

Oryx

67% success

Black Rhino

43% success

Elephant

29% success

Spotted Hyena

20% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 51-60 of 89
Duration
Arrival date
Ms S
North Carolina

"One of my favorite places in Namibia!"

2 nights Arrived 21 May 2012
"Wow -- I cannot emphasize enough how wonderful Grootberg Lodge is. First, it's quite a fun adventure going up the rocky road to the lodge. Damaraland is beautiful, and the Lodge is situated overlooking a canyon, providing a truly unique and captivating view of the landscape. The cabins are wonderful, with decks oriented toward the view.

Second, the staff at the Lodge were my favorite in the entire trip. Grootberg is staffed by the local community, and everyone was incredibly warm and knowledgable. The service was excellent. Josie, Otti, and Masaka were especially wonderful, but everyone was incredible. The food was amazing and surprisingly international. I wish I could get their homemade bread here in the US! The desserts were also incredible -- I particularly remember the chocolate cake with amarula cream, YUM! In addition, the staff sang at dinner, which was an utterly moving experience. The richness of their tones and the energy of the songs brought tears to my eyes.

Grootberg Lodge is certainly one of my favorite places in Namibia, and in fact one of my favorite places in the world. It's at the top of my list of places in the world to visit!

Rhino tracking excursion with Grootberg Lodge:

We went for a rhino tracking excursion which was quite an adventure and truly special. Charles, Lazarus, and Martin provided us with an incredible wildlife experience. I was simply amazed by their ability to locate wildlife and their knowledge of the entire landscape around us. The wildlife was incredible, and while I love Etosha, I found wildlife tracking to be more fulfilling than viewing animals at watering holes. This experience is not to be missed." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M & Mrs M
UK

"Grootberg Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 7 May 2012
"Wow!!!!!!! What a view.

Excellent food and service. (Rather limited wine choices would be the only negative)

Very good accommodation.

A good choice of activities.

Oh and did I mention the view." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms C & Mr B
Inverness

"Grootberg Lodge - what a location!"

2 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2011
"Spectacular location with astonishing views but no Black Eagles. Once again great staff.

Lion sightings had caused cancellation of all hiking from the lodge.

New managers have taken over since reviewed by guide books. Beware signs of "twee-ness" - "elevator music" at dinner and beetroot paste piped round our breakfast plates went all over cutlery (and us). Isn't there any traditional Namibian music?

Elephant tracking activity was very expensive." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs S
E Sussex

"Grootberg Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 13 Oct 2011
"We made a mistake not staying at this lodge for one night, it should have been at least two just to enjoy the vista.

The staff were alway pleased to help and nothing was too much trouble. Great place to stay" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr W & Ms W
NL

"Grootberg Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Sep 2011
"Unbelievable view. Very friendly staff." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 13n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr K & Ms C
NJ

"Grootberg Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jul 2011
"Grootberg Lodge is in a stunning location and the rooms have an incredible view. We went on a drive to find rhino, but we could not find them. Our guides were great and they found fresh tracks - but the mother rhino and her calf managed to give us the slip.

We did see two leopard, several giraffe, an African wildcat, and many other animals - it was a really great experience despite not seeing a rhino. We also went on a Himba trip which was very interesting and again our guides were great.

We are vegetarians and were served excellent meals on both night of our stay." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J & Ms J
Devon

"Fantastic location of lodge"

2 nights Arrived 10 Jul 2011
"This lodge is run for the benefit of the community and we were therefore surprised that it was so expensive. We were only able to do a short walk unaccompanied from the lodge and all the other activities are very expensive, even the short guided walk. There is not a lot else to do there and clients should be aware of this when booking. We did the rhino tracking day, which was good, although we didn't actually see any. The pathways around the lodge are very uneven and the steps up to our chalet were very narrow and I thought quite dangerous, especially as there was a steep drop off. The towels were tired, though the lodge has only been open a few years. The situation of the lodge is fantastic." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs F
Brazil

"Grootberg Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 12 Jun 2011
"Astonishing views. Nice rooms, excellent shower. No matter how the food or the service is, and they were very good, it is worth the visit.

Wonderful landscape!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs V
Coulsdon

"Grootberg Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Jun 2011
"You stay here for the view! We took lovely walks, both with and without a guide, Nice rooms and welcoming staff. We were a bit surprised to find a group of staff hanging around the front door smoking and ignoring Mike lugging cases to our car. Even the management appeared to spend their days smoking on the verandah!
It didn't spoil our enjoyment of the place though." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Belgium

"Grootberg- views!"

1 night Arrived 9 Jun 2011
"Great views over the canyon and a good place to stop for a rest after Etosha. We didn't do much here but that was why we came- for a relaxing time and to enjoy the views." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 51-60 of 89
92%
89 reviews of Grootberg Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
61
20
8
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (434 reviews)
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (129 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (112 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (110 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With comfortable rooms, open-air bathrooms, good food and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe offers a variety of nature and cultural excursions.


95% (101 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (49 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


82% (33 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (23 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (2 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge

Onduli Ridge is a no thrills bush camp offering top-notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


No reviews yet
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa