This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Sparrowhawks from London

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

Couldn't ask for more...

Namibia between 19 Mar 2008 and 3 Apr 2008

Trip rating: Excellent
"To be honest, we really don't think Gwynneth could have done a better job. We booked the trip late so there was a lot of fiddling around with dates etc, but everything ended up exactly as we wanted. All of your recommendations for places to stay were spot on.

It was very reassuring that Gwynneth has stayed in so many of the place, so advice was very accurate. In fact, we've already recommended expertafrica to a friend."

Image alt

Hilltop House, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Hilltop House review"

1 night Arrived 20 Mar 2008
"Room was very nice. We were on the first floor so had a wonderful balcony and fantastic views. Breakfast on the private balcony overlooking the city was a great way to enjoy our first morning in Namibia.

We cannot really comment on the facilities as we only spent one night there. However, it was a great place to stay for one night, and central enough to be able to explore Windhoek."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 21 Mar 2008
"Amazing setting, wonderful room and everyone was extremely friendly.

It felt like staying with a family since the place is quite small and homely, with own pet springbok and oryx (Biscuit and Jackie) and the staff were very open and chatty. Having said that, the room was very stylish and cool, with fantastic bath overlooking the Kalahari.

The guide we had was extremely knowledgeable and nice. The setting for dinner outside was amazing and generally the attention to detail was great."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Kulala Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Mar 2008
"Stunning location, and buildings look wonderful in the setting. It was great to have opportunity to sleep under the stars on the roof of your hut.

Service was very good but did not feel quite as homely/personal as some of the other lodges we stayed. They have their own private park entrance which is a big plus."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Sam's Giardino review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Mar 2008
"Sam is a very knowledgeable, welcoming and interesting host. We learnt a lot about Namibia from him, which would make a visit alone worth it. As well as this, the food is great and Sam has a great wine selection.

Garden was a very nice place to relax in late afternoon/evening with Ornella (the resident dog). Sam was in the process of building a new bar when we were staying and we're sure this will make the place even nicer.."
Excellent
Location
Average
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

"Grootberg Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Mar 2008
"We really enjoyed this place immensely.

The setting is breathtaking, the staff were extremely friendly and the food was excellent.

We spent a great day elephant and rhino trekking (with success!) and would definitely recommend this.

The view from our room and from the main lodge building is stupendous, and will forever be etched in our memories."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

"Ongava Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Mar 2008
"The service here was excellent and our room was amazingly luxurious. The place was really well set into the landscape, with amazing views from communal areas into the bush, and over its own waterhole.

Rooms were all quite far apart and very private. Our guide was excellent and we really felt we went to great lengths to make sure we all had a good time,"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

"Mushara Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Mar 2008
"Very luxury and stylish lodge; less rustic than many other lodges - the communal area looks like something straight out of an interior design magazine.

We had a guide take us into Etosha who was extremely knowledgeable. Not many animals on their own land, but then again you're only 10 minutes from Etosha.

I thought the food here was excellent and probably the best of all the lodges we stayed."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 1 Apr 2008
"We knew this place had a great reputation before we arrived, and it really lived up to it!

Wonderful room, good food and a beautiful setting. The staff were all extremely friendly, knowledgeable and welcoming. But of course it was the animals who stole the day. Definitely worth staying here to learn about the Africat foundation and generally about the cat population in Namibia.

I would also recommend the Bushman breakfast after an early start tracking the cats..."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team