This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr T from London

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

0

A wonderful trip

Namibia between 10 Aug 2007 and 26 Aug 2007

Trip rating: Excellent
"A country of great scenic contrast, with the constant factor being the warm and friendly greeting of the people you meet."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Image alt

Terra Africa, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"A warm welcome"

1 night Arrived 11 Aug 2007
"Made to feel very at home, Rolf the owner was interested in who we were and what we were about to do.

The accommodation is clean, attractive and comfortable.

We would have no hesitancy in recommending to others."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"A very warm welcome - excellent hosts"

2 nights Arrived 12 Aug 2007
"The accommodation is simple but acceptable, however the warmth of the hosts and their attention to their guests make it a memorable location and a great place to stay."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Desert Homestead

Desert Homestead

"A stunning location"

2 nights Arrived 14 Aug 2007
"The new 'Homestead' is located in a fantastic location. The accommodation places you right in the landscape. The facilities are excellent, though you need the blankets to keep out the late winter chill on windy nights.

The guided trip to the desert seemed a little expensive prior to departure but turned out to be excellent value for money, expectations were greatly exceeded.

Our guide was charming, informative and very relaxed enabling the day to unfold without the need to stick to a strict programme.

The duration of the trip seemed to be as long as we were happy to be out."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Secret Garden Guesthouse

Secret Garden Guesthouse

"A truly hidden gem"

2 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2007
"A delightful arrangement of rooms around a courtyard. Not on our original list of places to stay it proved to be an excellent location.

The decortation of the rooms and the style of the courtyard were most appealing.

They have three of the most endearing dogs you are ever likely to meet."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Cape Cross Lodge

Cape Cross Lodge

"A slightly disappointing experience"

1 night Arrived 18 Aug 2007
"Arrived to discover no record of our booking. The courtyard rooms with 'a sea view' felt like staff accommodation. The ceiling was stained with earlier leaks and the room was located next to the hotel's main electricity generators - a very noisy experience.

Whilst it was possible to see the sea the view from the rear revealed a brick wall and a pile of old mattresses.

Given its location Cape Cross needs to be a real oasis in a very harsh desert. For us it didn't quite live up to its billing."
Average
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Poor
Food
Good
Grootberg Lodge

Grootberg Lodge

"What a delight"

1 night Arrived 19 Aug 2007
"From the moment the staff at the foot of the mountain met us we sensed we were onto something special.

They started by fixing our tyre then swept us up to the lodge where Domonic and his team gave us a very warm greeting.

The location is stunning and the little stone bungalows with their wood fire water heating systems charming. Above all the staff, mainly drawn from the local community, glowed with the pleasure of their work. Our disappointment was that we only had one night with them. Two or three nights should be suggested.

It's a great initiative and we wish it every success.

It will be one of the first places we will recommend to friends."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"It will good when it's finished"

3 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2007
"The location of the waterhole and the opportunity to view animals at close quarters more than compensated for the amenities of the restcamp.

A major construction programme is nearing completion and we sure this will make a huge difference.

Our accommodation was very good but the 'meals in the marquee' left a lot to be desired. Our bungalow has a fridge and sink and if the on site food store had contained a better supply of provisions we would have been happy to look after ourselves.

That said Etosha is a wonderful place and the chance to see hundreds of animals at all times of the day was something we shall never forget."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Poor
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"A wonderful place to stay"

2 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2007
"More than lived upto its international reputation. The welcome was perhaps a little formulaic, however all subsequent greetings with every member of staff were warm and helpful.

The accommodation is charming and on a very cold second night the surprise of a bed with hot water bottles and a soft blanket was very welcome. There is a real spirit of cameraradery amongst the guides who in a very positive way seem to gently compete with each other to ensure the guests within their charge get to see just what the estate has to offer. Sanel, our own guide went above and beyond the call of duty to make sure we saw everything.

Individual boxes of bird seed for each lodge creates a suprise opportunity to view the birdlife.

Difficult to identify the highlights, not sure if it was seeing cheetahs at close quarters or watching the porcupines feed in the dark
The Africat initiative is working well and again we wish it every success."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team