This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge

Reviews of Grootberg Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

88 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Grootberg Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Oct-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Grootberg Lodge.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Zebra

83% success

Giraffe

67% success

Oryx

60% success

Black Rhino

50% success

Elephant

33% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 88
Duration
Arrival date
A&A
Portland

"Grootberg Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 22 Mar 2017
"The location is stunning.

Very nice staff, happy to please, especially with diet requests.

Bedrooms were fine but the bathroom was dated. The shower was poor. " See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Ms J
Northamptonshire

"Grootberg Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Dec 2016
"The rooms themselves were good.

Although No.6 is right on the edge and no good for anyone who suffers from a fear of heights like I do!

Luckily we were able to swap with our travel companions

Service and food were poor, staff seemed disinterested with the exception of the girls who performed the 'meet and greet' process." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Mr E & Ms S
Sweden

"Hhmm, nice view but that's it..."

1 night Arrived 13 Nov 2016
"Depending on our interest we found this lodge without any real point besides a great view of the valley.

Nothing that kind of made you think "why am I here....I'm here because...." could have skipped this." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mrs J
Bristol

"Grootberg Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 17 Oct 2016
"A very atmospheric lodge in a spectacular setting. Rooms are fairly basic but with amazing views.

The staff are extremely nice and helpful, and put on a great show of singing and dancing after the evening meal. We had hoped to do a walk but this was not advised because of recent lion activity.

The drive up is quite difficult; a four wheel drive would be helpful, even though they pick you up at the car park area. Overall a delightful stay in spite of very windy weather." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Cambs.

"Disappointing"

2 nights Arrived 2 Aug 2016
"Grootberg Lodge was the only accommodation that didn't live up to expectations. The room was cramped compared to elsewhere, the toilet didn't flush properly, the shower was slow to empty and there were no fresh eggs for breakfast.

We stayed here to see the rhinos and although we did see a mother and baby from a distance it wasn't worth the 10 hours of sitting in the back of a vehicle,. There were two trackers and one guide but we were not allowed to take part in the tracking we just has to sit and wait while the trackers went off trying to find rhino tracks. Once they found the rhinos we just had to follow the trackers to the location. No information was given about the rhinos unless we asked." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr K & Mrs N
UK

"Tranquility at Grootberg"

3 nights Arrived 21 Mar 2016
"The restaurant, bar and pool - with their views - are all great at Grootberg.

The evening nature drive on top of the plateau gave us good views across the Klip Valley and we had a very successful day rhino tracking, walking to within 20 meters of the black rhino. As with many of the places we stayed, the staff were again very helpful and friendly.

We took advantage of the massages which were available - hot stones - very good and excellent value for money.

One word of caution, the pathways around the lodge are all very steep but well worth it for the views, the access road up to the lodge is extremely steep, while we were there three separate cars punctured tyres on the way up the half kilometre track but you have the option to leave your car at the bottom and be taken to the top in the lodge's 4 wheel drive, this is probably the best option - we did and certainly didn't regret it." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr DN
NW London

"Most amazing view!"

2 nights Arrived 20 Feb 2016
"The drive up the 4x4 path is quite an adrenaline rush! Once you are on the top, the view of the valley from the lodge is absolutely breathtaking.

The lodge is run by a really enthusiastic team from the local community and their energy and heartfelt hospitality made our stay so memorable. The pool overlooking the valley is gorgeous. The rooms are cosy and share the same magical view. One memorable activity was to visit the Himba tribe with a guide from the Lodge who acted as translator - quite a bumpy ride to get there but well worth it.

The creative menu was varied every day and was lovely." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Suffolk

"Grootberg Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Feb 2016
"Braved the steep track, greeted by Gwen. The position is visually superb.

The lodge is a disappointment compared with Doro Nawas, very small chalet down very uneven stone/boulder path. Steps to room, narrow wooden and unstable. Lumpy duvet, tiny shower, difficult to regulate the boiling hot water very dim lighting. Dinner was horrid, chicken curry with bovril mayo followed by greasy lamb. Breakfast, good home-made muesli. Eggs very overcooked.

All the staff were very sweet, smiley and kind. Drives expensive and we heard not fruitful. Disgusting dinner with pork schnitzel covered in pineapple sauce followed by a grape and ginger sponge.

Beware the stairs from veranda to pool area, uneven, narrow and shaky!" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Mr Nelson
Baar

"Grootberg Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Feb 2016
"Wonderful location. Very friendly staff.

Only negative was, that the bush walk we went on was very poor, - the guide did not really give any info or guiding. It was basically only a nice walk.

We had to point out lion tracks etc for the guide, who could only confirm that we were right, these were lion tracks!!

It should, though, be mentioned that the hotel did not charge for this bush walk after we discussed the tour with the management, when they asked us about the tour." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 3n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Derbyshire

"Grootberg Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2015
"Location, location, location! Amazing views.

Good facilities though chalet a little cramped with limited electrics. Good food.

Staff friendly and attentive - activities great (rhino tracking on foot a holiday highlight)." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Showing 21-30 of 88
92%
88 reviews of Grootberg Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
61
20
7
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (434 reviews)
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (126 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (111 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (110 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With comfortable rooms, open-air bathrooms, good food and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe offers a variety of nature and cultural excursions.


95% (101 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (49 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


81% (32 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (22 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa