This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge

Reviews of Grootberg Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

89 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Grootberg Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Oct-2018, 8 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Grootberg Lodge.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Zebra

86% success

Giraffe

71% success

Oryx

67% success

Black Rhino

43% success

Elephant

29% success

Spotted Hyena

20% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 89
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs H
Derbyshire

"Grootberg Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2015
"Location, location, location! Amazing views.

Good facilities though chalet a little cramped with limited electrics. Good food.

Staff friendly and attentive - activities great (rhino tracking on foot a holiday highlight)." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs A
Shropshire

"Breathtaking views"

2 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2015
"Beautifully situated on top of the pass, all the rooms have the same amazing views and are comfortable and well-equipped.

Food was very tasty, though here was no choice at dinner. Lovely, but small, pool area was always crowded.

We did the desert-adapted elephant activity, which included lunch. The drive was fun and we found the animals fairly early, which meant hat the activity was essentially over by 11am and we were handed individual lunch bags, before being driven back to the lodge. More could have been made of this activity, which felt like poor value for money.

Friendly, very helpful staff in spite of an absence of visible management. Reception was not staffed during our stay, so it was a question of finding any member of staff. eg. our washbasin had no plug, but one of the waitresses found one for me!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 5n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs R
Newport

"An unbelievable location."

2 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2015
"Possibly our favorite lodge. The location and the view were simply breathtaking, we never tired of it. The lodge and the chalets were excellent and very comfortable.

The service was great and the food very good.

One disappointment though was light pollution. The location made it a fantastic place to star gaze but the lights around the chalets were too bright." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
The H family
Sweden

"Grootberg Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2015
"Have visited this lodge three years before. A favourite. But the dust in September affects the view which is better (and outstanding) earlier in the year (for example june/july).

However, it was very fun to track elephants and we did see a heard with a two week old one, which the mother protected accordingly, so we could not go to close but that felt just alright to leave them in peace." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J & family
Hants

"Grootberg Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2015
"The view from your balcony is worth the trip here alone. Amazing setting and a real community feel.

This lodge directly benefits the local communities and has a very friendly feel. Great excursions which are well worth doing with good guides.

Occasionally the service was little less slick than the european run lodges, but this was part of the charm." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr D & Ms C
Canada

"Grootberg is a hidden gem"

2 nights Arrived 20 May 2015
"I loved this place.

The wife was starving at this point and when she discussed her allergies with someone their she ended up hugging the poor girl and was practically in tears. So food was good as was the view and all staff was really friendly.

The guiding on our Rhino tracking was excellent and our last night after dinner we were serenaded by the sounds of the Grootberg choir.

Really really great place." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 8n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr R & Ms L
UK

"One of the top places we stayed in Namibia"

3 nights Arrived 10 Jan 2015
"Grootberg Lodge rated very highly for us; partly because of the amazing position on the rim of a deep, almost circular, valley; partly because the guides were extremely knowledgeable and keen to explain what was happening, and probably because we were interested in the whole community set-up. As you know, Grootberg and the Conservancy it is in, are owned by local people, with an arrangement whereby a (sympathetic) consultancy has been training staff into management positions, on the basis they will gradually withdraw.

We never saw any of the consultants, possibly because it was the post Xmas quiet season, but the staff were noticeably more confident and open towards guests (well, us anyway!) than in some camps. Some of the young women in particular were very impressive and the senior guide who took us out was an ace.. Of the three main activities we took part in, the rhino tracking was a highlight of the trip. The trackers were very skilful (and I've worked closely with trackers in another part of the world) and were either foolhardy or, as we preferred to decide, so knowledgeable about rhino that they were completely confident - I still identified a large rock I was going to drag my partner behind if the two rhinos stopped displaying anger and actually charged us.

The other trip, to a Himba village, I was much less certain about as there were aspects that I felt were exploitative of the Himba women, though as my partner was probably less concerned than me I might have been over-sensitive. The Lodge staff were very clear that it was a key part of the support that the Conservancy provides to these remote communities. The drive there was also very interesting and the guides excellent.

On one trip we picked up other guests from the Hoada camp site and clearly there has been investment and improvement since the last edition of Chris's book (p.350!), and it is now staffed. The couple who were camping there were happy with the conditions though were mainly full of how they had woken up in their tent on top of their van, to find an adult male lion asleep on the ground beside their vehicle!

When we left Grootberg we diverted a bit north to Palmwag, in order to fill up with petrol at the station across the veterinary fence/ disease control point (and ended up giving the daughter of the control point gateman a lift back to school, about 40 km south)." See all these reviews: 28n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr B
Hertfordshire

"Great spot"

2 nights Arrived 14 Dec 2014
"Excellent location on top of plateau with magnificent views of the valley below which extends for several miles. However can be very windy.

Unfortunately the chalets are very small with virtually no veranda and almost sheer drop from chalet entrance. No where to hang/place clothing, no room in shower/basin area (very cramped space) to place toiletries except on floor. Light but no power available. Laundry bag but no price list. Not a wide range of food available - below average quality. Horse riding not mentioned as being available. Good Wi-Fi in main lodge.

Would not return." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs M
Midlothian

"Worth it for the view alone"

2 nights Arrived 30 Sep 2014
"Small cabin with an awful shower (small cubicle, trickle of water), but the bed was very comfortable, and the view from the room and terrace just spectacular.

The reception and dining areas are ok, but a nice bar area with a fireplace and enjoying a drink on the outside terrace with that view was pretty special. Very friendly staff, nice welcome drink on arrival, tea & cake provided in the afternoon - all nice touches.

Dinner the first night was not really very good at all, with nothing extra for the Vegetarian Husband so another night of salad & veg, but lovely pesto bread rolls. Second night dinner was much improved all round - a delicious kudu goulash a portion of breaded mushrooms for VH. And the staff sang 5-6 songs - great!

Up at 5:15am for the black rhino tracking. Very cold, but hot breakfast, blankets provided in the jeep and an excellent guide who had very impressive 4WD skills along tracks that looked impossible. We saw mother & baby rhino quite close, and lots of other wildlife e.g. Hartmann zebras in the distance, eagles, kudu. Good packed lunch provided, back at 1pm. Although this was a great experience we did feel that it was the most expensive game drive of the holiday.

Nice trails around the lodge for walking & photographs. All in all, really liked this place even though it had the worst shower and the smallest room." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr L
Bristol

"A windy mountain-top!"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2014
"This lodge is situated at the top of a mountain and as we didn't have a 4 x 4 vehicle we had to leave the car at the bottom and be transported in a safari truck - not easy to get into at our age! The accommodation is in individual chalets situated overlooking a fantastic view of the valley far below. Considering the difficulties of providing services of electricity and water at the top of a mountain, Grootberg does very well! Our room was fairly basic but obviously lovingly looked-after and it was possible to have a reasonable shower. We had a small balcony overlooking the valley but unfortunately there was a gale force wind blowing all the time we were at Grootberg (we were told that this was most unusual) so we didn't sit out on the balcony.

The main building housed the restaurant and we were pleasantly surprised by the high standard of cooking. The way back to our chalet in the dark was extremely hazardous down an inadequately-lit stony path and unfortunately we weren't provided with a torch that first night which resulted in a fall. The next night we had a guide with powerful torch! The local people who part-own the lodge and provide most of the staff are friendly and helpful and the whole atmosphere is one of happy involvement. A very pleasant and interesting Interlude!

We opted to go on the rhino tracking trip and we set out before sunrise in a safari truck with open sides and tiered seating. We were on the third tier which meant that we were subjected to a bitingly cold wind whistling round our ears and, even though we were provided with snuggly blankets, it was freezing! I really thought my last moments had come. The driver and trackers were in the front row protected by the windscreen so they had no idea that their passengers were fighting to stay alive! What a relief when the truck slowed to a halt and we were deposited in a valley now warmed by the rising sun.

The trackers set off to follow footprints which, amazingly(!), they had found and soon we were on the trail! We followed the guide on foot over quite difficult ground for about an hour and then, suddenly, there was a female rhino with a youngster only about 10 yards away. What a thrill, and all memories of freezing to death in the truck evaporated. After studying us for a few minutes, the rhinos turned round and moved off. After some time the truck had caught up with us and meanwhile the trackers had observed the route taken by the rhinos and our guide then suggested that anyone who was able should track over a distant ridge to find the rhinos again. Because we had reached our limit, we opted to stay in the truck while the other six much younger participants carried on.

I would say that the rhino tracking is well worth going on as I am sure that you are virtually guaranteed a sighting as evidently rhinos are creatures of habit and so the trackers know the areas they frequent. We are not fit at all but we managed to trek over the stony bumpy ground and the end result was well worth it, so have a go even if you are old and decrepit!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 31-40 of 89
92%
89 reviews of Grootberg Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
61
20
8
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (434 reviews)
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (129 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (111 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (110 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With comfortable rooms, open-air bathrooms, good food and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe offers a variety of nature and cultural excursions.


95% (101 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (49 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


82% (33 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (23 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (2 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Camp Onduli

Camp Onduli

Camp Onduli is a no thrills bush camp offering top-notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


No reviews yet
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa