This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge
Grootberg Lodge

Reviews of Grootberg Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

88 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Grootberg Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Oct-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Grootberg Lodge.
Lion

0% success

Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Zebra

83% success

Giraffe

67% success

Oryx

60% success

Black Rhino

50% success

Elephant

33% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 88
Duration
Arrival date
Ms H & Mr F
Chicago

"Amazing views"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jul 2018
"The views from the lodge are breathtaking. This is a no-frills lodge but we knew that when we booked so weren't expecting a luxury experience.

The rooms were clean, staff pleasant & food was good. We stayed for two nights & did the cultural tour, which we highly enjoyed - the highlight was a group of talented students singing & dancing for us. If you go, I recommend bringing school supplies to donate." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr J
Bedford

"One of the best views"

2 nights Arrived 8 May 2018
"The view from the chalets and main lounge/dining area is breath-taking. Pathways from the main area to the individual chalets are stony and uneven so sturdy shoes are recommended as well as torches to hand for the walk to and from the chalets early morning or after dark. Our chalet was one joined to another and we found soundproofing was an issue and we could hear the guests in the adjoining chalet. This was the only lodge we stayed at where the bathroom sink did not have a plug and the hot water in the shower was tepid at best. There was also no fridge in the chalet.
The staff were exemplary - friendly and helpful and could not do enough to ensure an enjoyable stay. Food (eg pizza) is available to order throughout the day and evening meals are set 3-course menus that are simple, yet tasty home cooking.
The WIFI here is limited to the main lounge area and we found it to be intermittent - an access code is provided by the lodge on request and there is a set limit to the amount of information that can be downloaded. Charging facilities for phones and batteries is available in the lounge area only, not the chalets.
There are a number of activities on offer - we opted for the elephant safari and were taken off-road into the bushland and nearby villages that gave a real insight into the local environment we would not have otherwise experienced. Our guide was from a local village and very informative about the area - and we did see a large herd of elephants.
We chose not to drive our hire car up the steep road to the lodge and rather left it with several others in the car-port to be looked after by the security guard. When we returned to our vehicle to continue our journey we found to our surprise that it had been cleaned and was dust free - a nice touch. " See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr K
Maidstone

"Grootberg Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Apr 2018
"Shuttle from base works well (and staff even cleaned the car before we left!). Truly ecological site and staff proud of their record on this. Lack of electric sockets in chalets, which look like Hobbit houses from a distance, was a little disconcerting but we were forewarned.

The Lodge now has an infinity pool, which was not advised to us, requiring a return to the base for swimwear! The views were, as promised, spectacular. We opted for the sundowner drive rather than the elephant tracking, possibly we should have gone for both as elephant were located given the skills of the guides.

First dinner was rather mediocre and no choices, but ambiance delightful and staff without exception friendly and helpful (some obviously still in training but that was good to see). Sundowner was a true bonus as we and our four French companions watched a pride of lions for a good 45 minutes (they were spotted by an eagle-eyed fellow tourist), by which time the message had gone back to base and the entire population of the Lodge turned out to see them. A very good second dinner and some staff entertainment to round it off.

Guide Moses was excellent." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs C
Shrewsbury

"Spectacular setting."

2 nights Arrived 18 Dec 2017
"Again not an easy drive to get here but it was so worth it.

We were glad we stayed for 2 nights as we had time to do a trip & relax by the pool. A truly beautiful place. it was so lovely sitting on our private balcony having a sundowner with the most amazing vista in front of us.

Thoroughly recommend the trips here especially the sundowner perched right on top of the plateau." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia; 1n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr K
Hexham

"great"

2 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2017
"unbelieveable views. Activities expensive.

Perhaps a lodge too far in our case - 3 in a similar area." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
BarryT
Knutsford

"A truly memorable view"

2 nights Arrived 2 Oct 2017
"We drove here from Doro Nawas and it takes about three hours but we had a puncture outside Palmvag. An interesting experience! The lodge is at the very top of the Pass and the view you get is outstanding. Its the view you always see on TV of the flat top Entendeka Mountains.

The rooms are small but comfortable and the food is good. The road through the pass is very tricky with lots of loose gravel but the road up to the lodge is even trickier. Unless you really know what you are doing let the lodge arrange transfer. We saw Black Eagles and lots of birds and Dassie but could not go on a self guided hike as there were lions present. Its a great place for an overnight stop.The onward journey to Kamanjab was easy and we got a new tyre fitted and cake in the garage cafe in this busy little town." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr K & Mrs N
UK

"Grootberg Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 27 Sep 2017
"We used Grootberg Lodge as a rest day for ourselves as we were travelling the short distance from Palmwag, having stayed there last year, we knew what to expect. The view from the deck down the Klip Valley is probably the best view in Namibia, utilising the sun loungers all afternoon to recharge our batteries was just what we wanted.

Took advantage of having a massage each in the small Spa. Food was to a good standard, tea and cake served in the afternoon.

We did not participate in any of the activities this time, but have had a great experience rhino tracking there in the past.

The road up is very steep to the lodge, a unique and scary drive and you need a 4 wheel drive vehicle to do this. You can leave your car at the bottom and they will transfer you up to the lodge.
" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs K
London

"Amazing views and service"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2017
"We chose this lodge for the location and it didn't disappoint - the view over canyon really is special.

We didn't participate in many activities whilst here, because we felt like we needed a chill-out day, so we took advantage of the pool and spa facilities instead (be prepared for a very firm massage therapist).

The co-owned status of this lodge really showed itself with brilliant, warm service - and singing at dinner time to mark our anniversary, which was an overwhelming gesture.

I did have a small problem with the rooms though: because the cleanliness was a bit lacking and there were also really big spiders in the thatched roof, which came out at night!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms S & Mr E
NSW

"Wow! What a view!"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2017
"We loved Grootberg Lodge. Our chalet had a stunning vista.

The room itself was comfortable, clean and well maintained.

Our meals were great and our Desert Elephant Drive was a great success." See all these reviews: 24n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs CH
Wimbledon

"Breathtaking views from Grootberg"

1 night Arrived 7 Apr 2017
"Efficiently collected from communal parking and driven up steep hill to camp.

Pleasant welcome and slighly bare but clean and comfortable cabins with astonishing views.

Great guided nature walk, infinity pool with spectacular view.

Good and friendly service." See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 88
92%
88 reviews of Grootberg Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
61
20
7
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Damaraland

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

Comfortable rooms and a convenient location make the community run Doro Nawas a great base for exploring Damaraland.


93% (434 reviews)
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani is a beautiful and stylish mountain retreat in southern Damaraland; it makes a great base for visits toTwyfelfontein.


93% (126 reviews)
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

Setting the standard for community partnerships, Damaraland Camp offers a beautiful location, a range of activities – and a genuine welcome.


95% (111 reviews)
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Camp

Etendeka is an owner-run camp in the remote and less visited north of Damaraland. The camp is renowned for it's spectacular guided walking trails.


96% (110 reviews)
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp offers a rare opportunity to track black rhino on foot in one of the last true wilderness areas – an amazing experience.


97% (108 reviews)
Camp Kipwe

Camp Kipwe

With comfortable rooms, open-air bathrooms, good food and beautiful scenery, Camp Kipwe offers a variety of nature and cultural excursions.


95% (101 reviews)
Twyfelfontein Country Lodge

Twyfelfontein C'try Lod.

A large lodge set among the rocks, Twyfelfontein Country Lodge is a convenient base for visiting the rock engravings, which are only 4km away.


82% (49 reviews)
Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge

Palmwag Lodge has a great location by a spring in the Uniab River and offers access to an area where you can see a variety of desert-dwelling animals.


81% (32 reviews)
Huab Lodge

Huab Lodge

Huab is a classic little Namibian Lodge which is slightly off the beaten track in a lesser visited part of Damaraland.


90% (28 reviews)
Brandberg White Lady Lodge

Brandberg White Lady

Brandberg White Lady Lodge, nestled at the foot of its namesake, makes a good base from which to visit bushman rock paintings including the 'White Lady'.


70% (23 reviews)
Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge

Spitzkoppen Lodge provides stylish accommodation in a beautiful area with guided access to sites of ancient Bushman rock art.


95% (22 reviews)
Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge

Vingerklip Lodge occupies a lovely location, but is a little too far east for guests to visit Damaraland's main attractions.


85% (20 reviews)
White Lady B & B

White Lady B & B

White Lady B&B, a small, comfortable guesthouse, offers a stepping stone to the sites of southern Damaraland.


67% (6 reviews)
Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge

Khowarib Lodge has a great location overlooking the Hoanib River. This is one of the few places to offer authentic Himba village visits.


84% (5 reviews)
Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp

Brandberg Restcamp is a simple, no-frills place, close to many attractions, offering sundowner drives, guided hikes up the Brandberg and game drives .


56% (5 reviews)
Malansrus Tented Camp

Malansrus Camp

Within easy reach of Twyfelfontein, Malansrus offers a simple but comfortable base for visits to the rock engravings or seek out desert-adapted elephants.


76% (5 reviews)
Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge

Ugab Terrace Lodge is a comfortable stopover between Damaraland and Etosha National Park or Namibia’s Central Highlands.


75% (4 reviews)
Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge

Damara Mopane Lodge is a large 60 room lodge surrounded by beautiful gardens. It can be used as a comfortable stopover between Etosha and the Skeleton Coast


67% (3 reviews)
Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails

Ozondjou Trails Tented Camp offers an exclusive desert elephant experience in Namibia’s Damaraland.


90% (2 reviews)
Huab Under Canvas

Huab Under Canvas

Huab under Canvas is a no thrills bush camp offering top notch guiding in a remote wilderness area of Damaraland.


100% (1 review)
Etendeka Walking Trail

Etendeka Walking Trail

The Etendeka Walking Trail promises to offer a back-to-basics walking and camping experience in one of Namibia's most remote and untouched wilderness areas.


100% (1 review)
Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out

Palmwag Sleep-out is a simple camping experience and a great way to enjoy the remote beauty of the vast Palmwag Concession


100% (1 review)
Sorris Sorris Lodge

Sorris Sorris Lodge

Overlooking the Brandberg Massif, Sorris Sorris is probably the most luxurious lodge in southern Damaraland.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa