This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Halali Camp
Halali Camp
Halali Camp
Halali Camp
Halali Camp
Halali Camp

Reviews of Halali Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

320 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Halali Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 27 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Halali Camp.
Lion

80% success

Leopard

38% success

Cheetah

5% success

Zebra

100% success

Giraffe

96% success

Elephant

96% success

Oryx

96% success

Wildebeest

92% success

Black Rhino

78% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

White Rhino

41% success

Eland

24% success

Brown Hyena

10% success

Sable antelope

6% success

Roan antelope

5% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 320
Duration
Arrival date
Mr K
Channel Islands

"Halali Camp review"

1 night Arrived 30 Sep 2019
"This camp has improved so much over the years and the biggest difference since my last trip was the helpfulness of the staff, i may have just got lucky.

They have also improved the checkout from the disastrous days of checking your mini bar while the sun was about to rise." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

3 sightings

Eland

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

3 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Amersham

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2019
"The check in procedure was straightforward. An N$500 deposit in cash for the key was taken and returned to us with no fuss when we returned the key as we left. There was no inventory provided and no checks were made. There was no power when we arrived, the maintenance man arrived promptly and it was identified as a problem with the fridge, this was swiftly replaced by a brand new one and then everything was fine.

The chalet itself was basic compared with our previous accommodation, however it was all very clean and more than adequate. The buffet style food was fine with a reasonable choice but not a ‘fine dining’ experience. We didn’t find anywhere in Etosha to buy sandwiches or anything else for a lunchtime snack.

The NWR map of Etosha including illustrations of birds and wildlife was recommended to us and was very useful. It was not actually on display in the Okaukuejo tourist shop when we arrived but was available from under the counter.

The numbers of animals we saw on our drives within Etosha exceeded our expectations and we didn’t feel the need to go on any camp provided drives.
Do allow plenty of time to get back to the camp at sunset, we only just made it!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

3 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs D.
Cambridge

"Great Camp Food not so good"

2 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2019
"This is a brilliant place to stay. Only let down by the food and the Dining Room Staff.

We went out on an early morning organised Game Drive. The driver knew that we wanted some good photographs and positioned the vehicle in the correct position each time for Sunrise and for animals. The best part of this Game Drive was seeing a Lioness and 3x three-month old cubs, feeding on the Zebra that mum had just killed for them.

The rooms were well furnished and you could park your car right outside.

When we came back from the Game Drive, even though there was over an hour left of Breakfast, there was very little food left and we had to wait for bowls and plates to be washed before we could eat. The staff in the dining room didn't seem to want to be there and this led to a lethargy around the building." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

3 sightings

Brown Hyena

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Oryx

6 sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs B.
Richmond

"Halali Camp Review"

1 night Arrived 8 Sep 2019
"Halali Camp in Etosha Park is run by NWR, Namibia Wildlife Resorts, and offers a sharp contrast to some of the private lodges we stayed at in Namibia. The staff here were pleasant but not as welcoming as we experienced elsewhere. The rooms were fairly clean and comfortable and had the basic supplies. The self serve dining area was ok and the food of reasonable standard.
The services in the camp area were minimal.
Despite its shortcomings, the camp is, however, ideally located for an overnight stop in the central part of Etosha when driving between the eastern and western gates" See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Mike
Oxford

"An excellent base for exploration"

2 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2019
"Etosha National Park is pretty amazing. We managed to visit about 17 water-holes and watched countless animals and birds - mostly from the safety of our own vehicle.

Halali Camp is government run and has a very different feel to most of the places we had stayed - just a bit 'tired'. However it is a great base to explore the park - which is done in your own vehicle. We had some good food in the restaurant and the Camp has direct access to the Moringa water-hole.

Room was fair and clean.

Finding animals at water-holes seemed to be a matter of luck as they often came and went quite quickly - and were as likely to be around at mid-day as in the early morning or late afternoon!" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Elephant

2 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Oryx

3 sightings

White Rhino

1 sighting

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

3 sightings

Ms B
N London

"Very good value and perfect to spot animals"

1 night Arrived 12 Aug 2019
"Very good value

Water point to spot animals - We saw a family of 30 elephants! Memorable night" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Family K
Florida

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 6 Jun 2019
"Again, definitely a step down from the lodges. The rooms were not quite as nice as the first Etosha lodging. We loved the water hole though." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

3 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

2 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs A & Mr M
London

"What we were expecting"

2 nights Arrived 16 Nov 2018
"We knew that Halali Camp was not going to be up to the same standard as other places that we had stayed at so it didn't disappoint too much. Our room (Elephant) could certainly do with redecorating and renovating but it was large and there was a small garden with a whirlpool - which we didn't use. The best facility was the small 'fridge with ice box'.

The restaurant was a buffet for all meals where the food was just about acceptable. The restaurant was however rather expensive - $280 for a refectory style meal. Compared with restaurant prices in Windhoek and Swakopmund, this is very expensive, even allowing for the relatively remote location.

The swimming pool was large and well used.

Our rationale for staying at Halali was that we could drive ourselves around Etosha (which it is designed for), stay for as long as we liked at each water hole, and not lose time driving from a camp outside the park. This plan worked extremely well as one day we spent over two hours watching 40+ elephants at Oliphant Bad. It was magical. Also late one evening we found black rhino mating - if we had not being staying at Halali we would have already been leaving the park.

Although Halali in theory has internet which costs N$100 - in practice it was off for most of our stay. So not good value! And because the telephone and internet networks are so unreliable at Halali, use of credit cards is not always possible. Our experience suggests that visitors should be prepared to use cash for everything and not hope to be able to use a credit card." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

Multiple sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Lion

1 sighting

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Boghall birder
Roslin

"Halali Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Nov 2018
"A pleasant, clean, well equipped room even if the camp itself was a bit scruffy.
Great waterhole where patience was rewarded with wildlife.
Staff not always very helpful." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms T.
London

"Basic"

1 night Arrived 21 Oct 2018
"Basic, musty and dated, but ok. Relatively clean.

Comfortable bed with mosquito net and air-conditioning.

Better than Okaukuejo for us, but we realise that this is probably due to the luck of the draw with room allocation. We had room 57." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Sightings Report

Elephant

1 sighting

Giraffe

2 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Oryx

1 sighting

Zebra

2 sightings

Showing 11-20 of 320
79%
320 reviews of Halali Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
84
154
66
14
2
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Resort is a large camp with a productive, floodlit waterhole.


83% (654 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers great value and is an excellent base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (247 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (148 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Set around a waterhole on a private reserve, the small Ongava Tented Camp combines understated comfort with activities that include walks and night drives.


93% (147 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (95 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Close to the eastern entrance to Etosha, the comfortable Mushara Lodge is well-placed for exploring the park in your own vehicle or on a guided drive.


92% (86 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (83 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


94% (80 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


89% (70 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


94% (56 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (38 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


90% (33 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

At the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


96% (28 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lodge. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the private Etosha Heights Reserve, the family-friendly Mountain Lodge offers game drives and bush walks within an exclusive environment.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (6 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Offering luxury on a peaceful and isolated private reserve, Villa Mushara is a great choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


100% (1 review)
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


100% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park's northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa