This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr J C from London

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

12

Excursions taken

0

A wonderjul experience

Namibia between 29 Aug 2012 and 19 Sep 2012

Trip rating: Excellent
"I thoroughly enjoyed my trip and would have no hesitation in recommending Expert Africa to anybody thinking of visiting Africa."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Galton House

Galton House

"A delighful place to stay"

1 night Arrived 29 Aug 2012
"Nothing to add to the above comment"
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

"My least favourite place of my trip"

1 night Arrived 30 Aug 2012
"I did not like Bagatelle, I'm sorry to say.

I found the staff neither particularly helpful or friendly. I also very much disliked the keeping of three cheetah solely s for the benefit of tourists in an enclosure no bigger than a small English field."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Poor
Activities
Terrible
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Poor
Fish River Lodge

Fish River Lodge

"Wonderful place"

2 nights Arrived 31 Aug 2012
"All aspects of my stay at Fish River Lodge were excellent.

I would particularly like to mention my guide, Ben, who was extremely knowledgeable about all aspects of the area, was a charming companion on the expeditons I went on with him, and, when I lost a hat on an expedition, went out of his way to find it and make sure it caught up with me later on my trip.

I would also like to say that the room, and in particular the view from it, was fabulous. My only criticism would be that the access track from the road was terrible. I do think that for such a very good lodge they should do something to level it out/grade it."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Dabis Guest Farm

Dabis Guest Farm

"A highlight of my trip"

1 night Arrived 2 Sep 2012
"My stay here was one of the real highlights of my trip.

The owners were charming and the food was delicious. However, what really made it special was the enormous enthusiasm with which Jorg Gaugler told me about the area and his work in making his farming and other projects sustainable.

I found this absolutely fascinating."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Activities
Excellent
Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

"Wonderful"

2 nights Arrived 3 Sep 2012
"This was the best lodge that I stayed at on my trip.

The food was excellent, the best that I had in Namibia, my room and its view was wonderful, the staff were charming and helpful, the guide was intersting and extremely well informed, and the location wonderful as well.

My only critical comment is as to the state of the access track from the road. This was terrible in places, and for such a wonderful and high class lodge, I think they should do something about it."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"A good place to see the dunes"

2 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2012
"I enjoyed myy stay here very much, although I think that the cost of the activities was high.

Having said that my guide was excellent."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Swakopmund Guesthouse

Swakopmund Guesthouse

"Perfect place to stay in Swapkopmund"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2012
"An excellent location, and a very helpful and charming manageress."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Viewing desert elephants was wonderful"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2012
"I thourougly enjoyed my stay here, and my guide, Michael was both interesting to talk to and an excellent and informative guide.

My only criticism would be that the access track from the road was terrible. I do think that for such a very good lodge they should do something to level it out/grade it."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

"Tracking and finding a rhino was a highlight"

2 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2012
"My stay at Desert Rhino Camp was one of the highlights of my trip. The experience of tracking and finding a rhino was wonderful, and certainly got my adrenalin going.

The room and the food were also very good, and I particularly enjoyed socialising with the assistant manager, Agnes, the guide, Raymond, and the trackers over dinner."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Damara Mopane Lodge

"It served its purpose very effectively"

1 night Arrived 13 Sep 2012
"I spent two nights here due to my car breaking down, and found the staff particularly helpful."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

"A great base for Etosha"

3 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2012
"A great base for seeing Etosha."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Food
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Just wonderful"

2 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2012
"In fact I was upgraded to Okonjima Bush Camp on my arrival.

The experience of tracking and finding cheetahs that had just made a kill on the first day, and a leopard on the second was one which I will long remember. My room was the best I stayed in on the whole trip (and there was some stiff competition), and the food was delicious.

My arrangements only included activities in the price for the day after I arrived, and the cost of those which I did on the first day was very reasonable. Finally, both my guides, Roan and Albert, were very good."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team