This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kalahari Anib Lodge
Kalahari Anib Lodge
Kalahari Anib Lodge
Kalahari Anib Lodge

Reviews of Kalahari Anib Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

36 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kalahari Anib Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kalahari Anib Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

50% success

Meerkat

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 36
Duration
Arrival date
Ms M
Ontario

"kalahari"

1 night Arrived 30 Jul 2016
"Love this place! Pure luxury. We wished we could have stayed longer. We arrived after dark and only had that one night.

Staff in the restaurant were amazing and the food was delicious!" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 2n in Rwanda; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Average
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs W
Ontario

"Kalahari Anib Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 30 Jul 2016
"unfortunately we arrived very late and left early the next morning.

I would have liked to have more time here." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 2n in Rwanda; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs & Mr F
BC

"Great start to our Namibia trip"

1 night Arrived 12 May 2016
"We stayed here for one night after travelling in Kgalagadi Park. Rooms are very nice and spacious. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

We arrived mid afternoon and they cheerfully provided us with lunch even though the lunch service time was over. Dinner was a surprisingly good buffet and the staff sang and danced towards the end of the meal. It was a fun evening. The hotel is quite large and there were some tour groups but they could easily handle the food for everyone.

Our only criticism was of the bar lounge area. Although it's large and spacious, there were not enough comfy chairs. We had to perch on uncomfortable backless stools.

We did not have time to go on a drive or walk but the activities here look very interesting." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr M
W Lothian

"Kalahari Anib Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 26 Sep 2014
"Butlins in the Bush. Avoid if possible. Ugh Never again, unless as a punishment posting.

Staff there could not give a tuppeny damn about guests. Only reason we stayed there was to cut driving time to the airport. Should have driven on." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Taylor family
UK

"Kalahari Anib Lodge"

1 night Arrived 3 Jul 2014
"Lovely lodge on the edge of the Kalahari. Very peaceful.

Although they don't have any of the big cats here there is still a lot to see. There were a series of walks you could do alone that were easy and fun. There was lots to see, especially birdlife and it was nice to be able to wander about freely.

The chalet was very clean and comfortable and there was a lovely swimming pool. It was also very pleasant to sit out next to the fire at night watching the stars. The staff were very friendly and helpful and kept us going with a good supply of logs for the fire. Meals were lovely, the bar very good value and a very good selection at breakfast.

A very relaxing place to stay." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
Bristol

"Kalahari Anib Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 7 Jun 2014
"The room was good with lovely hot shower. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The only thing that spoilt our stay was the insistence that everyone had to eat at the same time. The hotel is so far from everywhere that it is necessary to eat dinner there. However, the kitchen was clearly struggling to serve over 60 meals simultaneously on our first night. On the second night it was worse as there were even more residents. It was extremely cold in the dining room (early June) and a long wait between courses. On the second night we gave up before we reached dessert. We very fortunate in being close to the kitchen so our meals were reasonably warm.
Both game drives (sunset and sunrise) were very good with lots of information being conveyed in a relaxed manner." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Mr M & Ms H
UK

"Anib lodge"

1 night Arrived 29 Aug 2013
"The Anib Lodge was a good stopover on our way to the Khalagadi TFP. We went out on a game drive and a sun downer. The guides and staff were very helpful and friendly , and it was a lovely trip out into the red Kalahari to watch the sun go down. We saw quite a bit of game and despite the cold wind, we thoroughly enjoyed our one night with them." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 5n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Bristol

"Kalahari Anib Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 26 Jul 2013
"Excellent place for an overnight stop on the way south.

Lovely meal and entertainment afterwards!

Amazing sunset." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr F & family
Belgium

"Good first stop"

1 night Arrived 18 Jul 2013
"Easy to reach from Windhoek. Good to get to know your car on the tarred roads, before the challenge of the gravel roads. Green oasis at the edge of the Kalahari Desert.

Clean and comfortable rooms (two connecting rooms make a family room) Staff is very friendly and welcoming.

Nice walks in the surroundings, we saw a lot of antelopes, including a large herd of eland!

Four course dinner is excellent, although the atmosphere is a bit that of a school excursion (group dinner with rather fast service) Singing and dancing by the staff after dinner is lovely!

A good stop over on your trip to the south or the Namib desert" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Dr I
London

"Kalahari Anib Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 23 Jun 2012
"Kalahari Anib Lodge was nice but quite basic. Clean room and comfortable bed. After having been to the Etosha, the safari drive was okay but, again, basic in comparison (perhaps start here and then go north rather than the other way round). Great for kids though (and the one's on my safari loved it!).

The food was fantastic and the staff were probably the kindest and friendliest of all throughout my three week trip. They did indeed make me feel very welcome. For a traveller like myself, it was a good and clean place for a brief stop-over.

If you have kids, it's an excellent place if you don't mind it a bit touristy. Amazing red sand!" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 36
91%
36 reviews of Kalahari Anib Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
21
14
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Southern Namibia

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Game Ranch

Bagatelle is a welcoming guest farm in the Kalahari. Visit as a stopover heading south or to enjoy the photogenic red dunes and varied wildlife.


90% (184 reviews)
Eningu Clayhouse

Eningu Clayhouse

Scarcely an hour from Windhoek airport, Eningu is an artistic place to unwind amid the vast silence of the Kalahari.


90% (62 reviews)
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

Central Lodge offers clean, fresh and comfortable accommodation surrounded by a well-kept garden in the centre of Keetmanshoop.


71% (59 reviews)
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Kalahari Red Dunes

A friendly lodge set around a dry lake, which makes a nice stop off on the way down to Fish River Canyon.


93% (42 reviews)
Dabis Guest Farm

Dabis Guest Farm

For good farm hospitality, wholesome cooking and an interesting farm drive, Dabis makes a great stop en-route from Lüderitz to the Sesriem area.


94% (25 reviews)
Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen is a unique hotel in the heart of southern Namibia's farming district and makes a good stopover option.


72% (17 reviews)
Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks, situated on the edge of the Kalahari Desert, is a perfect stop-over whilst driving between Namibia and Botswana.


82% (17 reviews)
Namtib Desert Lodge

Namtib Desert Lodge

A charming owner run lodge, located off the scenic D707, Namtib Desert Lodge is a convenient stop en route from the south to Sossusvlei.


87% (11 reviews)
Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse, located in Stampriet has comfortable chalets in the gardens of an old farmhouse.


93% (3 reviews)
Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp

Suricate Tented Camp

Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp is a relaxing spot with its own waterhole and a range of activities for exploring the area.


100% (3 reviews)
Kanaan Desert Retreat

Kanaan Desert Retreat

The tented Kanaan Desert Retreat offers a range of activities against the beautiful backdrop of the Namib Desert.


90% (2 reviews)
Otjimbondona Kalahari

Otjimbondona

Otjimbondona Kalahari is a luxurious, peaceful and relaxing lodge conveniently located close to Windhoek's International Airport.


No reviews yet
Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge

Camelthorn Kalahari

Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge offers a peaceful night's sleep in the Kalahari, breaking the journey between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon.


No reviews yet
Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge is located in the Intu Africa Kalahari Private Game Reserve; surrounded by red sands, it is a relaxing place for a night or two.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa