This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kalahari Anib Lodge
Kalahari Anib Lodge
Kalahari Anib Lodge
Kalahari Anib Lodge

Reviews of Kalahari Anib Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

36 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kalahari Anib Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kalahari Anib Lodge.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

50% success

Meerkat

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 36
Duration
Arrival date
Mr P &R & Ms H & S
UK

"Great first night at Kalahari Anib"

1 night Arrived 30 Apr 2012
"We only stayed here for one night, our first night in Namibia.

We received a very warm welcome after our long journey and were shown to our room which was opposite the bush. The 4 course evening meal was lovely and we were treated to after dinner entertainment by the staff a great first night." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr O & Mrs R
Germany

"Great hking trail at Kalahari Anib Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 4 Jul 2011
"To us it was the perfect start of our Namibia self-drive holiday. A chance to relax and leave work behind us before starting with the big drives.

Great stop-over on the way to the Namib Desert and we were amazed by the variety of wildlife. Plenty of ostriches, oryx and wilderbeast. We even saw 6 giraffes, which came as a total surprise. Enormous weaver bird nests.

We really enjoyed the walking trails, knowing that we would be spending a lot of time in our cars on the drives between different lodges. We also participated in a sunset-drive, saw even more animals and enjoyed the sun set on top of the dunes. Amazing!" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs R
Yeovil

"a culinary star in the Kalahari"

1 night Arrived 10 Nov 2010
"We arrived very tired and really only wanted a snack and bed so were dismayed to find that we had to wait until 8pm for dinner.

However, we were delighted with the meal and the splendid way it was presented. Quite outstanding really for such a remote spot.

The accomodation was clean and comfortable and we certainly had no complaints" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr B
Suffolk

"Wonderful Walks"

1 night Arrived 3 Oct 2010
"We enjoyed being in the original individual rooms rather than in the central block like last time.

We love the easily accessible walking and enjoyed another memorable al fresco dinner while the breakfast was once again strangely simple by comparison." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss T & Mr B
London

"lovely area"

1 night Arrived 3 Oct 2010
"Very good afrenoon safari, knowledgable guide" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms F
Essex

"Kalahari Anib Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 6 May 2010
"Beautiful lodge - we went on one of the early morning drives which was well worth the experience. The staff were excellent and the food was a set menu but of a very high standard." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Family P
Belgium

"Kalahari Anib Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 7 Aug 2009
"Anib Lodge was a good start to our trip. The rooms were clean and comfortable although there was not much noise insulation between rooms and you could clearly hear what was going on in the room next door. The large pool was lovely (if a little cold!).

Although our request for a birthday cake for our son (who had his 9th birthday on the day we stayed here) did not seem to have been passed on to the lodge, the staff still managed to provide a large cake with candles after the meal accompanied by "Happy Birthday" sung in English and several local languages, which was great.

Two small critiques (and these apply to most of the places we stayed) are first that no-one explained what was available in terms of activities - it was up to us to find out, and second that when we asked for some information about the local area, the reception staff were unable to help - perhaps a bit more local knowledge (outside of the immediate lodge area) would be of use." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mrs J
Warwick

"Kalahari Anib Lodge"

1 night Arrived 5 Aug 2009
"Very welcoming, nicely laid out.
Sunrise safari to edge of Kalahari dunes well worthwhile and at N$225 good value for money. Very cold!
Good night time water hole.
Fixed menu announced in three languages, German, English and Nama!" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms R & Mr G
Hants

"Kalahari Anib Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 26 Jul 2009
"We loved the accommodation - it was our first real 'taste' of Namibia and although we managed to arrive at dinner at 7.00pm, if we hadn't been starving, we wouldn't have realised that we NEEDED to be there at 7.00 as everyone sat down together.

We loved the 'introduction' of the menu and the wonderful entertainment that followed it. This was an experience that we felt others could learn from, as the entertainment came after the meal!" See all these reviews: 24n in Namibia; 11n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs W
Sedbergh

"good first night stop at Kalahari Anib Lodge"

1 night Arrived 19 Jun 2009
"This was an excellent, peacful first stop as it was easily reached from Windhoek on tarmac roads leaving the challenge of graded roads to after a full nights sleep.

The dinner was good and we appreciated the effort made to introduce visitors to the local language, singing and dancing. We opted for the early morning game drive which started at 6.00. We were the only people on it and thoroughly enjoyed it. The guide's knowlege of the wildlife was impressive, and he also managed to fix the landrover when it ground to a halt!

The room was pleasant and clean but was surpassed by rooms later on our trip. There was the added excitement of an out of season surprise thunderstorm with spectacular lightning display." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Showing 21-30 of 36
91%
36 reviews of Kalahari Anib Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
21
14
0
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Southern Namibia

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Game Ranch

Bagatelle is a welcoming guest farm in the Kalahari. Visit as a stopover heading south or to enjoy the photogenic red dunes and varied wildlife.


90% (184 reviews)
Eningu Clayhouse

Eningu Clayhouse

Scarcely an hour from Windhoek airport, Eningu is an artistic place to unwind amid the vast silence of the Kalahari.


90% (62 reviews)
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

Central Lodge offers clean, fresh and comfortable accommodation surrounded by a well-kept garden in the centre of Keetmanshoop.


71% (59 reviews)
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Kalahari Red Dunes

A friendly lodge set around a dry lake, which makes a nice stop off on the way down to Fish River Canyon.


93% (42 reviews)
Dabis Guest Farm

Dabis Guest Farm

For good farm hospitality, wholesome cooking and an interesting farm drive, Dabis makes a great stop en-route from Lüderitz to the Sesriem area.


94% (25 reviews)
Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen is a unique hotel in the heart of southern Namibia's farming district and makes a good stopover option.


72% (17 reviews)
Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks, situated on the edge of the Kalahari Desert, is a perfect stop-over whilst driving between Namibia and Botswana.


82% (17 reviews)
Namtib Desert Lodge

Namtib Desert Lodge

A charming owner run lodge, located off the scenic D707, Namtib Desert Lodge is a convenient stop en route from the south to Sossusvlei.


87% (11 reviews)
Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse, located in Stampriet has comfortable chalets in the gardens of an old farmhouse.


93% (3 reviews)
Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp

Suricate Tented Camp

Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp is a relaxing spot with its own waterhole and a range of activities for exploring the area.


100% (3 reviews)
Kanaan Desert Retreat

Kanaan Desert Retreat

The tented Kanaan Desert Retreat offers a range of activities against the beautiful backdrop of the Namib Desert.


90% (2 reviews)
Otjimbondona Kalahari

Otjimbondona

Otjimbondona Kalahari is a luxurious, peaceful and relaxing lodge conveniently located close to Windhoek's International Airport.


No reviews yet
Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge

Camelthorn Kalahari

Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge offers a peaceful night's sleep in the Kalahari, breaking the journey between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon.


No reviews yet
Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge is located in the Intu Africa Kalahari Private Game Reserve; surrounded by red sands, it is a relaxing place for a night or two.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa