This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge


24°5’26.6"S 17°38’47.5"E

Reviews of Kalahari Red Dunes

Wildlife sightings and reviews

40 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kalahari Red Dunes and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 17 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kalahari Red Dunes.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wildebeest

94% success

Eland

86% success

Oryx

80% success

Zebra

73% success

Giraffe

71% success

Meerkat

55% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 40
Duration
Arrival date
Dr and Mrs A
Surrey

"Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 30 Jun 2019
"This was our first proper stop and was a good choice as easy to reach and chance to get used to driving etc.

The lodge is beautifully arranged and furnished and service was excellent. It is hard to judge the wildlife experience because it felt they were suffering in the drought like a lot of places. We opted to go out on the bikes which we really enjoyed. A sandstorm rather dominated our afternoon here but did not ruin the experience." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Meerkat

1 sighting

Oryx

1 sighting

Jane/Chris
crolles

"Personalised service"

1 night Arrived 19 Jun 2019
"Again we were given an upgrade - the honeymoon chalet as we were the only ones staying that night.

Staff charming, very attentive (well done Gottfried!). Good evening meal and breakfast.

Excellent first overnighter." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs T
Twickenham

"Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 14 Mar 2019
"Our view: 8/10. Very nice lodges, good setting, lovely and quiet (only 8 guests!), very nice staff, especially Henry, the manager, and good food. Not enough animals to see when on the drive, but to be fair they call themselves a ‘farm’. Two nights were the right amount of time for us." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Eland

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

1 sighting

Peter
Stockton

"Good one night stay"

1 night Arrived 30 Sep 2018
"Our first impression of Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge was that it had seen better days, but our first impression was wrong. Once we stepped into the Lodge and then saw our room we were very impressed.

The rooms are very large and the most artful of any accommodation we had on this trip. There was a large sitting room, beautifully appointed covered outdoor siting area and outdoor shower. Bed was comfortable with mosquito netting and the bathroom included a large, open shower. Rooms were air-conditioned.

We were surprised by the delicious, multi-course dinner. Wine selection was good. Breakfast included fruit and yogurt plus a hot option.

We enjoyed the evening game drive and sundowner with game sightings. The area that is remote to the lodge has a wild feel, but the area around the lodge didn't seem quite as natural because feed is put out for the animals. That said, it was fun to watch the meerkats as we ate breakfast." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

2 sightings

Meerkat

2 sightings

Oryx

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

1 sighting

Mr & Mrs R
Northum

"Great stay"

1 night Arrived 28 Sep 2018
"This was the second stop on our trip and we really enjoyed our stay here for one night. When we first arrived (early) there was a large group of Africaans still there who appeared to dominate the main lodge area. That said we ordered some lunch and had our welcome drink and introduction without problems. The individual cabins were fantastic, very spacious both inside and out. A massive picture window with a view of the feeding area where there were eland, wildebeest, oryx, ostrich and ground squirrels. You also had a shower in the living room as well as the bathroom area. There is also a turn down service, nice touch.

As we were there early we decided to do one of the self guided walks where we saw red hartebeest, springbok and steenbok on the trail ahead. I would say the walks are not very well marked as somehow we ended up incorporating two other walks as well. Make sure you take plenty of drinking water with you as it is very hot and exposed, but well worth the effort.

The three course dinner was very good with game on offer and some nice wine, you can also have drinks brought to your cabin! Breakfast was good with plenty of pastries and muffins, although the juice was a dilute type it was ok. The only thing we didn’t like was what appeared to be an orphaned meerkat in the dining room in the evening, which diners were picking up and having their photo taken with. We didn’t see any meerkats outside although there seemed to holes. That said I would definitely recommend this lodge." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Meerkat

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

The Rolling Crones
UK

"Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 13 Jan 2018
"The Lodge was located in just the right place for our journey south and it gave us a great introduction to the country and the places we were to see" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs & Mr W
Dorset

"A place that made an effort"

1 night Arrived 30 Nov 2017
"This was another stopover only (unfortunately). It was a comfortable and interesting place and I think that we could easily have suffered another day. The bungalow was lovely, spacious, well thought out, nicely furnished and fresh.

You have to hoof it a bit (on a boiling day) to get to the dining area. This is equally spacious and feels very comfortable. The food and service was good. There's a pleasant sitting area to retire to with a coffee.

We did do a sundowner game drive here. It's not going to be too exciting with only various grazers and browsers to see, nor is it quite real (as some of them are 'imports' - like Eland and Bleesebok), but we enjoyed it and it was done well - and we came across an African Wild Cat. They are developing this side of things in a thoughtful way.

We were sorry to have to move on so quickly." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr D
Cambridge

"Kalahari Redu Dunes walk"

1 night Arrived 28 Sep 2017
"We stayed at the Kalahari Red Dunes for our first night of our Namibia trip. We had an excellent sun-down drive and a walk in the morning. The staff were very helpful and held the car with no worries when we were a tad late for the drive." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr MA
SE London

"Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 16 Jun 2017
"Wonderful relaxing first stop with tame eland and plentiful game to see and luxurious accommodation...." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Miss A
Okehampton

"Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Feb 2017
"Great place to unwind- very nice people, pleasant manager and lovely place. Very comfortable and characterful rooms.

Wildebeest immediately outside our room in the early morning!" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 40
93%
40 reviews of Kalahari Red Dunes by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
26
13
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Southern Namibia

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Game Ranch

Bagatelle is a welcoming guest farm in the Kalahari. Visit as a stopover heading south or to enjoy the photogenic red dunes and varied wildlife.


90% (183 reviews)
Eningu Clayhouse

Eningu Clayhouse

Scarcely an hour from Windhoek airport, Eningu is an artistic place to unwind amid the vast silence of the Kalahari.


90% (62 reviews)
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

Central Lodge offers clean, fresh and comfortable accommodation surrounded by a well-kept garden in the centre of Keetmanshoop.


71% (59 reviews)
Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge is a comfortable stop between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon. Expect stunning Kalahari scenery, two swimming pools and lots of space.


91% (36 reviews)
Dabis Guest Farm

Dabis Guest Farm

For good farm hospitality, wholesome cooking and an interesting farm drive, Dabis makes a great stop en-route from Lüderitz to the Sesriem area.


94% (25 reviews)
Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen is a unique hotel in the heart of southern Namibia's farming district and makes a good stopover option.


72% (17 reviews)
Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks, situated on the edge of the Kalahari Desert, is a perfect stop-over whilst driving between Namibia and Botswana.


82% (17 reviews)
Namtib Desert Lodge

Namtib Desert Lodge

A charming owner run lodge, located off the scenic D707, Namtib Desert Lodge is a convenient stop en route from the south to Sossusvlei.


87% (11 reviews)
Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse, located in Stampriet has comfortable chalets in the gardens of an old farmhouse.


93% (3 reviews)
Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp

Suricate Tented Camp

Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp is a relaxing spot with its own waterhole and a range of activities for exploring the area.


100% (3 reviews)
Kanaan Desert Retreat

Kanaan Desert Retreat

The tented Kanaan Desert Retreat offers a range of activities against the beautiful backdrop of the Namib Desert.


90% (2 reviews)
Otjimbondona Kalahari

Otjimbondona

Otjimbondona Kalahari is a luxurious, peaceful and relaxing lodge conveniently located close to Windhoek's International Airport.


No reviews yet
Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge

Camelthorn Kalahari

Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge offers a peaceful night's sleep in the Kalahari, breaking the journey between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon.


No reviews yet
Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge is located in the Intu Africa Kalahari Private Game Reserve; surrounded by red sands, it is a relaxing place for a night or two.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa