This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge


24°5’26.6"S 17°38’47.5"E

Reviews of Kalahari Red Dunes

Wildlife sightings and reviews

40 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kalahari Red Dunes and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 17 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kalahari Red Dunes.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wildebeest

94% success

Eland

86% success

Oryx

80% success

Zebra

73% success

Giraffe

71% success

Meerkat

55% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 40
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs F
Bristol

"Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2016
"I had developed a fluey cold at this point so found this a good place to read and take paracetamol!

However Kevin enjoyed some pleasant walks and a good game drive" See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 10n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr N & Mrs J
Suffolk

"Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 1 Feb 2016
"Lovely welcome.

Excellent evening drive. Good food. Charming people. Small but clean pool." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr D & Ms P
Dursley

"Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 5 Nov 2015
"Comfortable and good quality.

Excellent food and staff helpful and friendly." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mrs B
Hampshire

"Convenient stop on the way south"

1 night Arrived 18 Oct 2015
"This is where we had the only slight glitch in the trip!

We arrived on the road to the lodge at about12.45, planning to take a leisurely lunch and explore the surrounding, However another arriving guests car got stuck in the sand in front of us on the track up to the lodge they summoned help from the lodge which took a while to appear, they suggested we turned round, not easy, but we were soon bogged down in the slightly rising ground, eventually one of the staff got it out, and we were able to proceed to the lodge by another route,which was actually the 'out' route. This all took an hour in the middle of the day, and this lodge is only 3km off the B1! So we arrived rather harassed, only to be told we were too late for lunch, but the tea was just coming out, and we could have that.

After speaking to 2 other people a ham and tomato sandwich was rustled up which we were made to feel was a lot of trouble. I t appeared that one had to book to sit outside on the terrace for dinner, really? The meal was OK, but it is quite a big place,and not off the beaten track, I might have expected some choice, other than braised pork! The bungalow was spacious clean and fine, though the hand basins are rather strange and orange! And dont know what i could have put in the huge bavarian wardrobe without any hangers.

I took up the issue of the track in with the manager, who was there the next day, we arrived on a sunday, no sign of him then.

He tried to persuade me that no one else had ever been stuck in the sand before, and that we we on the wrong road, well so were the other visitors. I really couldn't believe that it had never happened before, it was a slope with deep sand. to be fair he did apologise for the lack of lunch and the track,and did waive the cost of a. Bottle of wine and a drive.

Needs a bit more effort on the service, fancy fittings are no substitute. The pool was attractive and there was a pleasant relaxing area outside the chalet, and we saw quite a few animals on the drive, so they have clearly put some effort into introducing an protecting them." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Average
Mr C & Mrs L
UK

"Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 24 Sep 2015
"An interesting lodge to stay at and helpful, friendly staff" See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Dr M
Rickmansworth

"Perfect stopover at Kalahari Red Dunes"

1 night Arrived 23 Jul 2015
"This was just a stopover for us but the rooms, setting and meal were all good.

As a stopover location it is excellent as it is a 5 minute drive from the B1 just north of Mariental." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Yorkshire

"Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge was good"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2014
"We stayed here for 2 nights and it was a pleasant and relaxing start to the holiday. The surrounding landscape is uninspiring but we did see plenty of wildlife.

The lodge itself and the food did not compare with the other places we visited in Namibia" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
R Family
San Diego

"Loved it"

1 night Arrived 16 Aug 2014
"Again some misunderstanding with the rooms.
The ones kept for us were too far apart.
We ended having one room only and they compensated us by not charging for the morning game ride.

The place is magnificent ...very nice architecture. Wonderful view. The best sunset.
Feels like you are living the safari dream.
Very pleasant team and a great place to wrap it up for the end of our great adventure." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Miss K & Mr G
London

"Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge"

1 night Arrived 20 Apr 2014
"The rooms are beautiful. There is air con although we didn't use it. They have nice shaded seating areas outside each room which are very private and catch the breeze.

The service lacks the personal touch. The food is ok but nothing special. We went on a sundowner game drive which was a bit disappointing. The driver ignored all the birds and inevitably put us in a spot that was either looking directly into the sun at the animals or had a bush between us and them. Not so good for taking photos. We also did the nyala self guided walk which we enjoyed.

There is a tame meerkat who runs around the lodge. The owners of the lodge found him and his sister abandoned when they were pups and they hand reared them. They released both meerkats when they were old enough to survive on their own but toffee decided he preferred the good life around the lodge than life in the wild. When we were there he showed up for afternoon tea to beg for cake." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 7n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr D & Ms T
Ontario

"Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 13 Nov 2013
"great stopover with very hospitable hosts" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Showing 21-30 of 40
93%
40 reviews of Kalahari Red Dunes by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
26
13
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Southern Namibia

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Game Ranch

Bagatelle is a welcoming guest farm in the Kalahari. Visit as a stopover heading south or to enjoy the photogenic red dunes and varied wildlife.


90% (183 reviews)
Eningu Clayhouse

Eningu Clayhouse

Scarcely an hour from Windhoek airport, Eningu is an artistic place to unwind amid the vast silence of the Kalahari.


90% (62 reviews)
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

Central Lodge offers clean, fresh and comfortable accommodation surrounded by a well-kept garden in the centre of Keetmanshoop.


71% (59 reviews)
Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge is a comfortable stop between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon. Expect stunning Kalahari scenery, two swimming pools and lots of space.


91% (36 reviews)
Dabis Guest Farm

Dabis Guest Farm

For good farm hospitality, wholesome cooking and an interesting farm drive, Dabis makes a great stop en-route from Lüderitz to the Sesriem area.


94% (25 reviews)
Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen is a unique hotel in the heart of southern Namibia's farming district and makes a good stopover option.


72% (17 reviews)
Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks, situated on the edge of the Kalahari Desert, is a perfect stop-over whilst driving between Namibia and Botswana.


82% (17 reviews)
Namtib Desert Lodge

Namtib Desert Lodge

A charming owner run lodge, located off the scenic D707, Namtib Desert Lodge is a convenient stop en route from the south to Sossusvlei.


87% (11 reviews)
Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse, located in Stampriet has comfortable chalets in the gardens of an old farmhouse.


93% (3 reviews)
Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp

Suricate Tented Camp

Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp is a relaxing spot with its own waterhole and a range of activities for exploring the area.


100% (3 reviews)
Kanaan Desert Retreat

Kanaan Desert Retreat

The tented Kanaan Desert Retreat offers a range of activities against the beautiful backdrop of the Namib Desert.


90% (2 reviews)
Otjimbondona Kalahari

Otjimbondona

Otjimbondona Kalahari is a luxurious, peaceful and relaxing lodge conveniently located close to Windhoek's International Airport.


No reviews yet
Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge

Camelthorn Kalahari

Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge offers a peaceful night's sleep in the Kalahari, breaking the journey between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon.


No reviews yet
Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge is located in the Intu Africa Kalahari Private Game Reserve; surrounded by red sands, it is a relaxing place for a night or two.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa