This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mrs E & family from UK

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

1

Very special place, Namibia.

Namibia between 9 Jul 2019 and 20 Jul 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"Utterly vast and alternately dotted with German cakes and rhino. That's Namibia. The people are lovely. The scenery staggering.

We went thinking we were going on holiday and returned realising we'd experienced the trip of a lifetime. A cliche I know but it's warranted in this case.

Make sure you've got a good set of wheels if you are travelling around (the investment in a Toyota Hilux/Ford Ranger or similar is worth it) and pray that the drought breaks soon. It's a tough and beautiful land."

Arranged By Sabina Hekandjo


Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

"Beautiful lodges and friendly staff"

1 night Arrived 9 Jul 2019
"We were blown away by the tented lodges at Kalahari Red Dunes lodge.

The attention to detail was evident. The staff were very friendly and helpful too.

The free mountain bikes and trails were much enjoyed by my husband and kids."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Luxury in the wilderness"

2 nights Arrived 10 Jul 2019
"After a long, tiring and somewhat nerve wracking drive involving shredded tires and loud bangs from our engine, we arrived at the lodge to cool damp towels and refreshinfg drinks. This really is a stunning place and after our journey it felt like we'd arrived at an Oasis in the desert.

Our tented lodges were beautiful, as were the lounge and restaurant. We'd recommend the private Sossusvlei whole day trip. Our guide was extremely knowlegdable and was able to follow the tracks of sidewinder snakes and white widow spiders to lead us to their burrows. He took us off the beaten track and away from the other tourists so we could properly experience the majestic solitude and quiet of the Namib/Naukluft Nattional Park.

The day ended with a picnic under a sprawling tree, we felt as though we'd stepped back in time and into the film 'Out of Africa' as our guide set up tables and chairs and cooled wine in a portable ice bucket."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

"It's a must"

11 Jul 2019 • All-day excursion

This excursion benefits from being private, something you really appreciate when you witness the larger groups in buses i the park. The bespoke nature of the trip means you are in a vehicle which can access a much wider variety of places, out of range to the rest, and with a guide who can help you to discover the things you want to see.

Our guide, Ennos, tracked down side winder snakes and white widow spiders. We also saw Oryx and Social Weaver birds with their incredible nests. Ennos also know how to attract the other birds around Deadvlei by putting ice cubes on the ground which drews large crowds of sparrow and crow, thirsty for the melting ice. He created the most marvellous picnic for us under a tree.

Tables, chairs, portable handbasin and wine cooler - it felt more like 1919 rather than 2019.
Excellent
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

"Good modern hotel with excellent breakfasts"

2 nights Arrived 12 Jul 2019
"Comfortable spacious modern rooms and a good range of eating establishments attached to the hotel which channels a German vibe; we enjoyed very good seafood at the fish restaurant, tasty schnitzel at the sports bar and the most incredible breakfast buffet I have ever seen in my life in the brasserie. They even had Sachertorte. Bonkers!

Staff were faultless: couldn't do enough to help especially Beverly in the Brasserie who made a special take away packed lunch for my son with a nut allergy."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Our most favourite place. Ever. "

2 nights Arrived 14 Jul 2019
"You have to experience the beauty of Erongo for yourself. Words cannot do it justice.

We were a little unsure when Sabina recommended including it as part of our itinerary as there are no obvious 'big draws' such as wildlife or famous desert scenery. But we are so glad we did. The tented lodges up in the hills feel as though you are in your own treehouse. They are utterly charming. The service was friendly and personal and the food was out of this world with a wine list that includes two served at Her majesty, Queen Elizabeth's Diamond Jubilee dinner.

Erongo Wilderness Lodge is like a little family up in the hills, one that takes you on walks over the rocks and feeds the dozens of horn bill, love birds and sparrows every morning before breakfast. We are going back."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

"Front row seats for Rhino!"

2 nights Arrived 16 Jul 2019
"We were slack jawed when we walked into the restaurant and reception at Ongava. It is absolutely stunning. A briefing from one of the guides, Brandon, about not going out of your chalet alone after dark added a frisson of excitement - after all, this is an unfenced camp. All the chalets overlook the waterhole and as I sat quietly on my veranda various animals wandered past me such as rock Hyrax, Waterbuck, various other antelope...You are at the same level as the water hole so you really do feel like you are amongst the animals.

We went on a late afternoon game drive with our guide who managed to find a very wide range of animals for us including 4 white rhino, two adults and two calves. The land is so very dry (more so than usual at this time of year due to the drought) that Ongava are, quite rightly, feeding the rhino. This has the benefit of attracting all sorts of other animals too who come along for a meal including common zebra and the rare mountain zebra, giraffe, Oryx and many others. They also feed the porcupine in the evening and a dream came true for me when I witnessed two huge spiny fellows marching up the stairs to the restaurant kitchen for their evening meal. We turned and saw two rare black rhino plodding towards the illuminated waterhole.

What a wonderful place."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

"Better than Etosha National Park."

1 night Arrived 18 Jul 2019
"The plaudit owes something to our guide who went by the wonderful and unlikely name 'Ethelbert Teek'. Teek, as he wanted to be known, took us on quite the most remarkable safari game drive of our entire trip around the private reserve that is 'Etosha Heights/Safarihoek'. This man is a Namibian Croccodile Dundee.

We were really hoping to see Elepants as we hadn't found any in Etosha. Teek tracked them by following dung and tree damage and surely enough we crept up upon a herd of 10 elephants including 2 calves feeding on acacia. The private reserve seemed to us to contain lots more wildlife than Etosha and we also had incredible close up encounters with Black Rhino (mum and baby) zebra, giraffe, moongoose, honey badgers, African Wildcat, you name it.

The lodge itself is quite modern and overlooks the vast reserve. We shared it with just a group of Italians. It deserves to do well and if wildliife is your thing, this is your place."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Okonjima Villa

Okonjima Villa

"Our other most favourite place in the world."

1 night Arrived 19 Jul 2019
"Sharing the title with Erongo, Okonjima enjoys the beautiful topography of Erongo with the abundant opportunities for wildlife spotting a la Safarihoek.

We were excited about staying at Bush Camp as it looked very lovely. But when we reached the gate we discovered we had been upgraded to 'The Villa'. This is an exclusive property away from the rest of the accommodation and with its own chef, driver and 'butler/concierge'. It also has its own infinity pool and waterhole. This is movie star stuff and the first (and probably last!) time we will get to experience such a level of exclusivity.

The wildlife spotting is much more democratic and everyone gets to track radio-collard Leopard in the dry river bed and get up close to the Cheetahs at the AfriCat foundation centre. If you make time to visit the latter you'll add another dimension to your trip here. The history of the place, from farm to trophy game reserve to conservation success story - thanks to the incredible Wayne whose vision it is."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team