This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms C from Montana

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

12

Excursions taken

0

My Aug 2021 trip

Namibia and 2 other countries between 1 Aug 2021 and 24 Aug 2021

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was my first trip to Africa. It won't be my last. I traveled with 2 friends who had been to southern Africa 3 times previously, one time using Expert Africa. I was extremely impressed with how smoothly the trip went, and how well chosen the itinerary was.

We wanted to see animals of course, but 2 of us are birders, and one is a fisherman. The fisherman had wonderful catches at Kwara and Setari, and the birding was wonderful throughout the trip. And the animal sightings far exceeded my expectations. I want to especially commend the trackers at Kwara and Lagoon, Mike and Ken. I did not expect to see nocturnal animals, but they were able to show us some wonderful creatures, lesser bushbaby, African wildcats, serval, scrub hares, bat-eared foxes (we saw those in the daytime too), small spotted genet. I was really thrilled.

The accomodations were far more luxurious than I had expected, and the food was overall superb. All the travel arrangements worked perfectly.

Maruska Adye-Rowe, who handled this trip for us, was great. The trip was delayed for a year due to covid, and really evolved. She dealt with our changing ideas very well. First it was a shorter trip to Botswana and Victoria Falls, then that got lengthened, then we added the time in Namibia.

Maruska stayed on top of the covid testing situation. On our way, during our layover in NY, Maruska called to tell us the entry requirements for Namibia had changed, and she'd arranged covid testing for us at our hotel at the Johannesburg airport the evening we arrived."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Image alt

Waterberg Guest Farm

"Waterberg Guest Farm review"

1 night Arrived 3 Aug 2021
"We only stayed one night at Waterberg on our way to Etosha, so we didn't have any time for activities. I really would love to go back and spend more time there, the setting is magnificent and the food was wonderful. My room was great, with a fantastic view of the Waterberg plateau from the porch.

I'm a birder, and I was delighted at all the birds I saw just walking from my room to the dining room."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

"Onguma Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 4 Aug 2021
"Again, we only stayed one night at Onguma, but I'd love to go back there for a longer stay. My room was lovely, the food was delicious, and the setting with a water hole by the dining area was wonderful.

With more time there, I'd have enjoyed the swimming pool.

I'm a birder, delighted that Onguma was a very birdy place. Also enjoyed the evening safari ride."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Aug 2021
"We spent two nights at Okaukuejo Camp, and had a wonderful time driving through Etosha and seeing incredible wildlife and birds. Highlights included a mother rhinoceros and a baby at a water hole in the daytime, amazing numbers of many antelope species, elephants, giraffes. I would have liked at least one more night here.

The waterhole at Oaukuejo was the best part of the camp. In the late afternoon, a long line of elephants would appear in the distance, our of the haze, and single file come to the waterhole. I loved watching them first drink, and then get in the water and play. Watching how giraffes drink was fun too.

The waterhole is illuminated, and the highlight of night observations were the rhinos. At one point there were 6 individuals there.

Birding at Etosha is fantastic. Secretary bird was a highlight.

The one downside was the food. There is only one dining room. I played safe with chicken both nights, and it was fine if not up to the standard of Waterberg or Onguma. But one of my companions had lamb, and it was actually very tough inedible mutton. She couldn't even cut it with her knife.

On the other hand, breakfast was quite good, and the meals were inexpensive."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Excellent
Villa Violet

Villa Violet

"Villa Violet review"

1 night Arrived 7 Aug 2021
"We spent only one night at Villa Violet on our way to Sossusvlei from Etosha. It was a good choice.

The owner recommended a nearby restaurant for dinner, and we really enjoyed our meal. She also helped us with booking covid tests on-line."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Desert Quiver Camp

Desert Quiver Camp

"Desert Quiver Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 8 Aug 2021
"Desert Quiver Camp was great place from which to explore Sossusvlei. The rooms were lovely, and we very much enjoyed the bar by the pool. Our meals were taken at the Sossusvlei Lodge, and were extremely good.

We went on a sunrise balloon ride with Namib Sky, and that was a wonderful experience.

I enjoyed the drive into the national park, the red dunes are spectacular. Sadly we didn't have time for much walking."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ti Melen Guest House

Ti Melen Guest House

"Ti Melen Guest House review"

1 night Arrived 10 Aug 2021
"Ti Melen Guest House is really lovely, I enjoyed the landscaping which attracted many birds. My room was magnificent, huge and beautifully furnished.

We were too tired to go into Windhoek for dinner, so a sandwich/pizza delivery place was recommended, and that worked. Breakfast was very good.

Ti Melen was in the perfect location for continuing our trip, driving to Botswana.

The only downside would be for more elderly or infirm travelers. There are a lot of steps to climb, and the entrance driveway is almost straight up. Relieved we got up it in a manual shift car."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks

"Kalahari Bush Breaks review"

1 night Arrived 11 Aug 2021
"I really enjoyed my time at Kalahari Bush Camp, really relaxing after a lot of driving. The owner was so helpful when one of my companion's covid test results were held up.

My room was great, the meals were great, and the setting was fantastic. The rooms have little private patios in the back looking into the bush - I saw waterbucks and warthogs very close up from mine. There is an irrigated lawn with large trees between the dining area and the bush where there were many new birds for me. A good number I saw no where else. I'd have enjoyed an extra day here, just to relax and watch birds.

Perfect location to stay while waiting for covid test results needed to cross into Botswana."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Thamalakane River Lodge

Thamalakane River Lodge

"Thamalakane River Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 12 Aug 2021
"We stayed at Thamalkane River Lodge for one night before flying out to bush camps.

I enjoyed the location on the river, great views from the dining terrace. My room was lovely, with a deck looking out on the river. Coming from a dryer habitat, the wooded surroundings and the river made a pleasant change, and there were many different birds.

I saw my first hippos here, and we watched elephants crossing the river a bit downstream."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Kwara Camp

Kwara Camp

"Kwara Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 13 Aug 2021
"We spent 3 nights at Kwara Camp, and that was just about right. Two nights wouldn't have been long enough. The rooms were fabulous, as was the food.

The game drives were wonderful, but I would highly recommend taking the boat ride to the heron/stork rookeries as well. One of my traveling companions fished with the guide and tracker, while my birder companion and I enjoyed the rookery from the roof of the boat. The bream caught by the fisherman was served at dinner that evening.

Our guide and tracker at Kwara were wonderful. I was especially pleased at their knowledge of birds as well as animals."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Setari Camp

Setari Camp

"Setari Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2021
"Setari Camp is a water camp, no game drives. We stayed here 3 nights, and the boat explorations made a very relaxing break between two camps with very bouncy Land Cruiser game drives. The rooms were wonderful, and being raised on boardwalks, we were able to go to and from our rooms by ourselves even after dark. The food was excellent.

We saw some animals we didn't see at any other camps, such as Nile crocodiles, water monitor lizards, reedbuck and sitatunga antelopes. But the birds were the real draw here for two of us, and the fishing for the third. The catch here were tigerfish, really beautiful and plentiful. The hour boat ride from the airfield to Setari Camp through endless papyrus with herons flying right and left was amazing.

We also did a mokoro trip here, just delightful, and visited the village by the airstrip. The crafts available to buy there were beautiful, I really coveted some larger baskets than I didn't have luggage room for, but still I bought a number of smaller items for gifts. It was extremely interesting to walk through the village.

Our guide was brilliant at birding. He found a Pel's fishing owl for us, which I had especially hoped for, African skimmers, herons, storks, too many wonderful birds to list. And in the afternoons, between activities, hanging out at the pool I saw many more birds."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Lagoon Camp

Lagoon Camp

"Lagoon Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Aug 2021
"Three nights at Lagoon Camp was just about right - two nights would have been too short a visit. The setting right on the river is fantastic - I really enjoyed watching the elephants across the river, and one afternoon on a game drive, we parked to wait for a large herd to cross the river. What a spectacle! Lagoon Camp seemed a little less spruce than Kwara Camp, but I believe Kwara Camp had recently been renovated.

Our guide and tracker here were fantastic, as really all of our guides were on the whole trip. They tracked down four male lions trying to get at a warthog in its burrow. The lions then all paused, and started to walk away. Our tracker thought he'd heard a buffalo in distress, so we tracked the male lions, and found 4 females trying to bring down the buffalo. Again, the guides at Lagoon knew birds, to my delight.

The boat ride at Lagoon was relaxing, but there was less to see along the river here than on boat rides at Kwara and Setari. No crocodiles, for example, and oddly not many birds. But seeing birds and animals is partly luck."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Ilala Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2021
"Ilala Lodge was the perfect end to our trip. It's within walking distance of Victoria Falls, and has extensive grounds. From the raised dining terrace, we watched three elephants demolish a tree one evening. We knew they could damage trees, had heard them at it, but watching it happen was astonishing.

Victoria Falls was amazing. I am glad we decided to see the Falls from the Zimbabwe side. Running a gauntlet of vendors on the way to the Falls was only a minor annoyance.

Another wonderful birding spot, and a very relaxing and lovely place to end our trip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team