This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kalahari Bush Breaks
Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks


22°20’10.0"S 19°45’8.2"E

Reviews of Kalahari Bush Breaks

Wildlife sightings and reviews

17 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kalahari Bush Breaks and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2021, 1 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kalahari Bush Breaks.
Cheetah

0% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Eland

0% success

Meerkat

0% success

Oryx

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Wildebeest

0% success

Zebra

0% success

Showing 11-17 of 17
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs F
Lancashire

"Very pleasant intermediate stop-off"

2 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2008
"Overall an agreeable lodge.We appreciated the private patio at the rear of the chalet, which also allowed a very personal viewing of animals visiting the waterhole. The food was first class although, as a vegetarian, I was disappointed that there was no alternative to the chicken dinner on the second night.

On the game drive,we were rather discontented that, in the rear of the vehicle, we were unable to hear the driver's comments. We were fortunate that the other passengers, a Dutch couple, relayed the dialogue to us.

We both felt that the owner, Barney,(?) really did not want to be involved with the guests." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr D & Mrs L
Cumbria

"meet on arrival"

1 night Arrived 13 Sep 2008
"a lovely place to start or end your holiday." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Caracal party
London

"Wasrm welcoming lodge in Kalahari"

1 night Arrived 1 Jul 2008
"Kalahari bush Breaks was terrific, again we were made to feel really welcome, the design and setting of the place was lovely and the game viewing was much better than we expected.

We had a great time driving ourselves around the 4-wheel drive route and had good sitings. The food and wine were excellent." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs K
Berks

"A good end to our holiday"

2 nights Arrived 21 Oct 2007
"Very comfortable room and excellent food and service. Not a great deal to do but a nice way to end our holiday" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs B
Beds

"An oasis in the desert"

1 night Arrived 7 Oct 2007
"Fantastic accom with excellent food and v pleasant hosts. Once again we were the only guests that night but meat was braai'd and served with excellent accompanyments.

Morning dawned wonderful blue sky but windy and - 3 degrees - freezing. Unfortunately we had to eat breakfast outdoors as repairs were taking place to their home roof so could not offer indoor facilities but not their fault.

Thought this lodge was brilliant and wished we could have stayed 2 nights then continued on to airport. Safari vehicle had puncture so we were unable to do game drive - pity." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms J
Arizona

"Taxidermy Manor is a better name!"

1 night Arrived 15 Aug 2007
"This is a hunting lodge. My grandaughter was horrified by the stuffed baby giraffe and it's mom standing next to the breakfast table. Every room was filled with examples of stuffed animals representing the best of every species, deleted from the gene pool. If you are interested in taxidemy this is the place for you!

Our room was nice, clean and ICY COLD. One thin blanket on each bed. When we realized how cold the room would get we got dressed at 11 pm and went to the reception to get more blankets. In every other place we stayed we had had plenty of warm quilts, blankets or covers.

There were 17 for dinner, divided into 4 parties of which we were one. It was freezing cold (41 degrees) yet they served everyone outside at 730 pm. All of us 17 wore our warm everythings, hats and mittens and were still very cold. The hostess/owner seemed extremely stressed and had difficulty managing getting the food out in a timely way. She was not especially pleasant; when others complained about being cold she replied, "Cold? Oh, I am roasting. How can you be cold?"

For us this was a no-star place." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr Caracal
UK

"A convenient stopover"

1 night Arrived 27 Jul 2007
"Being the only guests made the place a little soleless although the owners were pleasant and attentive.

We were not offered activites but were happy to relax after long day driving and early walk at Erongo.

We enjoyed the food but just felt a little uncomfortable alone at the big table!" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Showing 11-17 of 17
84%
17 reviews of Kalahari Bush Breaks by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
6
9
1
1
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Southern Namibia

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Game Ranch

Bagatelle is a welcoming guest farm in the Kalahari. Visit as a stopover heading south or to enjoy the photogenic red dunes and varied wildlife.


90% (184 reviews)
Eningu Clayhouse

Eningu Clayhouse

Scarcely an hour from Windhoek airport, Eningu is an artistic place to unwind amid the vast silence of the Kalahari.


90% (62 reviews)
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

Central Lodge offers clean, fresh and comfortable accommodation surrounded by a well-kept garden in the centre of Keetmanshoop.


71% (59 reviews)
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Kalahari Red Dunes

A friendly lodge set around a dry lake, which makes a nice stop off on the way down to Fish River Canyon.


93% (42 reviews)
Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge is a comfortable stop between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon. Expect stunning Kalahari scenery, two swimming pools and lots of space.


91% (36 reviews)
Dabis Guest Farm

Dabis Guest Farm

For good farm hospitality, wholesome cooking and an interesting farm drive, Dabis makes a great stop en-route from Lüderitz to the Sesriem area.


94% (25 reviews)
Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen is a unique hotel in the heart of southern Namibia's farming district and makes a good stopover option.


72% (17 reviews)
Namtib Desert Lodge

Namtib Desert Lodge

A charming owner run lodge, located off the scenic D707, Namtib Desert Lodge is a convenient stop en route from the south to Sossusvlei.


87% (11 reviews)
Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse, located in Stampriet has comfortable chalets in the gardens of an old farmhouse.


93% (3 reviews)
Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp

Suricate Tented Camp

Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp is a relaxing spot with its own waterhole and a range of activities for exploring the area.


100% (3 reviews)
Kanaan Desert Retreat

Kanaan Desert Retreat

The tented Kanaan Desert Retreat offers a range of activities against the beautiful backdrop of the Namib Desert.


90% (2 reviews)
Otjimbondona Kalahari

Otjimbondona

Otjimbondona Kalahari is a luxurious, peaceful and relaxing lodge conveniently located close to Windhoek's International Airport.


No reviews yet
Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge

Camelthorn Kalahari

Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge offers a peaceful night's sleep in the Kalahari, breaking the journey between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon.


No reviews yet
Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge is located in the Intu Africa Kalahari Private Game Reserve; surrounded by red sands, it is a relaxing place for a night or two.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa