This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch


24°18’1.9"S 18°1’58.2"E

Reviews of Bagatelle Game Ranch

Wildlife sightings and reviews

184 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Bagatelle Game Ranch and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 14 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Bagatelle Game Ranch.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

38% success

Oryx

85% success

Eland

83% success

Wildebeest

77% success

Zebra

67% success

Giraffe

58% success

Meerkat

38% success

Aardvark

23% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 184
Duration
Arrival date
Mr A & Mrs K
Wilts

"Great night drive"

1 night Arrived 22 Sep 2018
"Very welcoming. Good food. Nice chalet overlooking the waterhole. Night drive is well worth doing." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Aardvark

2 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Oryx

2 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Wendy
Melbourne

"Bagatelle"

1 night Arrived 12 Sep 2018
"Loved the upgrade to the Honeymoon lodge.

Once again, some of the activities felt contrived. Maybe we have had a lot of very good experiences and this was not in the top tier." See all these reviews: 26n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Eland

1 sighting

Oryx

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs R
Aberdeen

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 10 Sep 2018
"The lodge was conveniently located to break the journey from Windhoek to the Fish River Canyon. Check in was different as the staff were arguing in front of us.
The room was excellent with a great view across the desert. Only problem was for some reason our dune room 4 had not had its path completed which meant our shoes and socks were continually covered in red sand.

We took the combo activity that consisted of a game drive which the guide worked hard to make enjoyable even with limited animals. This was followed by the cheetah feeding which we thought would be zoo like but was actually circus like as the keeper hand fed them. Good to see the cheetah before and after. Very full jeeps to see the sunset.

The food was good once you picked the best from the buffet arrangements for the main course.

Pool area was pleasant though water was again very cold." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Cheetah

2 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Oryx

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Dr J.
London

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 2 Sep 2018
"Good overnight stop. Glad we didn't stay longer" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
A and A
Cossington

"Stopover en route to fish River Canyon"

1 night Arrived 31 Aug 2018
"Bagatelle is typical of many Namibian lodges - good location (a bit of a drive from the main road), well appointed room with a view, warm welcome, a sundowner drive, a couple of activities, in their case cheetah feeding and a nature drive, and a nice dinner and breakfast.

The stand out element of the typical lodge 'package' was the food - some of the best we had in Namibia." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms J
London

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch is beautiful"

1 night Arrived 5 Jun 2018
"Beautiful ranch, well organised, lovely cabins.

Only downside with a dune cabin is that you have to climb a red sand dune to get to and fro so are constantly picking up sand..." See all these reviews: 5n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
TansySue
UK

"Edge of the Kalahari "

1 night Arrived 20 May 2018
"Whilst our dune chalet was very nicely appointed with a modern bathroom and a great big bath tub, we were very disappointed to find the water in the evening barely warm and the flow was so very poor that a shower was not practical and a bath definitely impossible. Surprisingly we were asked to spare the scarce water but there was no plug in the wash basin!

We understood the dune chalets were the best accommodation at Bagatelle, but the long walk in the sand from the main building together with the difficult trek up over the deep sand dune, made the location not ideal for our very short stay. We noticed the next door chalet had proper steps built into the dune and how we would have loved to have swapped rooms!

We arrived at 4pm and immediately swapped vehicles and went straight out onto an organised sundowner game drive arriving back after dark and left at 8am next day. We therefore had no opportunity to enjoy other attractions such as watching the waterhole near our room nor the meerkats and cheetah we had seen advertised.

Our evening meal was taken outside and because of the cold, people had to dine in their coats with blankets - not very practical but it would appear the indoor dining room was not big enough to accommodate all the guests. Dinner was buffet and it was disappointing to find that early on, the variety of salad items had run out with only lettuce being available. The kitchen was not very geared up to accommodate Mr L's dietary requirements despite them being advised of it in advance.

Breakfast was taken early at 7am and was in the indoor dining room - a much nicer experience altogether." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Sightings Report

Eland

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Oryx

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr M
Wakefield

"Room with a wonderful view"

1 night Arrived 17 May 2018
"We were in Dune Chalet 3 which had a fabulous view over the waterhole. We only stayed one night but had a thoroughly enjoyable time.

I'm glad we had a 4WD car otherwise we would have struggled with the sandy parking area near the chalet.

The D road that accesses the property was one of the most challenging we encountered on our whole trip." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Linda & Paul
UK

"Amazing place to stay"

1 night Arrived 4 May 2018
"An amazing location, really friendly and helpful staff and beautiful food.

Met the owners of the ranch who were so enthusiastic and welcoming towards us.

Taken to see the local family of meerkats - a highlight of our trip." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J & Ms D
UK

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 25 Apr 2018
"Basic but very good experience. Friendly staff." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 6n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 184
90%
184 reviews of Bagatelle Game Ranch by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
110
62
10
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Southern Namibia

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Eningu Clayhouse

Eningu Clayhouse

Scarcely an hour from Windhoek airport, Eningu is an artistic place to unwind amid the vast silence of the Kalahari.


90% (62 reviews)
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

Central Lodge offers clean, fresh and comfortable accommodation surrounded by a well-kept garden in the centre of Keetmanshoop.


71% (59 reviews)
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Kalahari Red Dunes

A friendly lodge set around a dry lake, which makes a nice stop off on the way down to Fish River Canyon.


93% (42 reviews)
Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge is a comfortable stop between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon. Expect stunning Kalahari scenery, two swimming pools and lots of space.


91% (36 reviews)
Dabis Guest Farm

Dabis Guest Farm

For good farm hospitality, wholesome cooking and an interesting farm drive, Dabis makes a great stop en-route from Lüderitz to the Sesriem area.


94% (25 reviews)
Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks, situated on the edge of the Kalahari Desert, is a perfect stop-over whilst driving between Namibia and Botswana.


84% (19 reviews)
Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen is a unique hotel in the heart of southern Namibia's farming district and makes a good stopover option.


72% (17 reviews)
Namtib Desert Lodge

Namtib Desert Lodge

A charming owner run lodge, located off the scenic D707, Namtib Desert Lodge is a convenient stop en route from the south to Sossusvlei.


87% (11 reviews)
Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse, located in Stampriet has comfortable chalets in the gardens of an old farmhouse.


90% (4 reviews)
Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp

Suricate Tented Camp

Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp is a relaxing spot with its own waterhole and a range of activities for exploring the area.


100% (3 reviews)
Kanaan Desert Retreat

Kanaan Desert Retreat

The tented Kanaan Desert Retreat offers a range of activities against the beautiful backdrop of the Namib Desert.


93% (3 reviews)
Otjimbondona Kalahari

Otjimbondona

Otjimbondona Kalahari is a luxurious, peaceful and relaxing lodge conveniently located close to Windhoek's International Airport.


No reviews yet
Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge

Camelthorn Kalahari

Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge offers a peaceful night's sleep in the Kalahari, breaking the journey between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon.


No reviews yet
Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge is located in the Intu Africa Kalahari Private Game Reserve; surrounded by red sands, it is a relaxing place for a night or two.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa