This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch


24°18’1.9"S 18°1’58.2"E

Reviews of Bagatelle Game Ranch

Wildlife sightings and reviews

184 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Bagatelle Game Ranch and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 14 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Bagatelle Game Ranch.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

38% success

Oryx

85% success

Eland

83% success

Wildebeest

77% success

Zebra

67% success

Giraffe

58% success

Meerkat

38% success

Aardvark

23% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 184
Duration
Arrival date
Linda & Paul
UK

"Top class lodge in every respect"

1 night Arrived 22 Apr 2018
"An excellent lodge to begin our two week photographic trip. Wonderful location and the evening BBQ dinner was wonderful.

A pity we were there for only one night." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A
Alaro

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

2 nights Arrived 2 Jan 2018
"an excellent way to start the trip. saw lots of meerkats, bat eared foxes etc etc.

only comment is that they tried to downgrade us to a standard room when we arrived and only put us into the dune chalet once we insisted that this is what we had paid for." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs C
Shrewsbury

"Wow factor"

2 nights Arrived 31 Dec 2017
"This was an amazing place to stay for New Year.

Everything about it was superb right down to the goats drinking from the pool & the donkey nuzzling up to the guests around the pool side & the pet springbok!

Superb views & stunning sunsets from our very private Dune chalet. We had excellent trips from knowledgable guides, it was a shame that the 'bushmen' had to resort to telling us what their lives used to be like but not any more.

Wonderful outdoor dining area with great freshly cooked food, all the staff were great." See all these reviews: 27n in Namibia; 1n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Oxon

"Bagatelle - very disappointing"

2 nights Arrived 12 Nov 2017
"Let's start with the positives - great location in the Khalari dunes; meerkats; good evening meals; and the helpful attitude of some of the staff.

Negatives - the off hand attitude of other staff; the disappointing breakfasts; finding the three cheetahs in an enclosure that seemed no bigger than a tennis court; the fact that on the morning scenic drive most of the creatures ran off as the vehicle approached (this suggests that someone had been shooting animals from vehicles); the "tame" springbok in the dining area with a length of hose pipe stuck on each horn; and the way that the water & electricity failures were dealt with by the management.

We understand that there can be problems with power and water supplies - this was not the issue. Our criticism concerns the way the management failed to keep guests informed. It would have been really helpful if the staff had told us about the electricity problem when we arrived. We reached our room then had to go back to reception to try to find out what was happening. (5 minutes walk downhill then 10 minutes back uphill). The electricity eventually was restored at 7.00 pm. The next day there were more power cuts. Once again no one came to inform us - so yet more walking to/from reception. Then the water supply failed - there was no water from mid-afternoon to 9.30 pm. Once again we had to trek to/from reception to ask staff what was happening. They seemed ill informed and indifferent. By the evening management were offering free wine as compensation but in the end we suggested that not charging us for the game drive would be more acceptable.

We did not enjoy our stay at Bagatelle. Building chalets on top of sand dunes when temperatures reach the high 30s is not sensible if there is no back up generator. The lodge's website says "The design and décor, materials and furnishings, gardens and natural settings, all combine to ensure our guests live their dream of an African Safari." Certainly not my dream.

Too gimmicky, too hot, too poorly managed and, given these factors, too expensive." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Poor
Mr & Mrs C
Cambridge

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 31 Oct 2017
"Used as a brief overnight stop en route south to Fish River - pity as we could easily have stayed longer." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mrs & Mr J
Birmingham

"Lovely setting"

2 nights Arrived 31 Oct 2017
"Once again a game ranch with detached accommodation set amidst the red sands of the Kalahari.

Spacious bedroom and nice deck outside where the various animals walk past.

Meals and cakes at tea time were very good and there was plenty of space to sit and relax. the shop also had a range of quality gifts / souvenirs available." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
D & P
Lavenham

"A pleasant and relaxed start"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2017
"We loved it! Especially all the 'local' animals - springbok, eland, meerkats, goats, donkey - all visited!

We really enjoyed the bushman trip.

The night drive was a little disappointing. There was no guide. The driver had to drive and hold the flashlight. He did his best, but not ideal!" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R
Napier

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2017
"Good place to stay while getting over jet lag.

Saw lots of meercats." See all these reviews: 23n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms A & Mr M
Lagos

"Stunning location, mixed experience"

1 night Arrived 27 Aug 2017
"This is a hard review for us as the location and approach to the ranch is stunning, and on arrival we were advised that we had been upgraded to a chalet with an outside jacuzzi which was greatly appreciated. The chalet was in fact one of our favourite rooms during our trip, beautifully decorated, well equipped with a large deck area with exceptional views.

Whilst we gave this lodge an excellent rating because we very much enjoyed our stay and would return, there were some areas that perhaps could be improved and streamlined.

During check in we felt the staff to be rather detached and very commercially orientated. Whilst its obviously important to be informed of all activities on offer, in fact I had called the previous evening to enquire and had reserved a game drive for that afternoon, we did feel that they were over pushing the sale of their tours of which there were several options.

The lounge and communal areas were lovely, very comfortable and with a well stocked shop. Wi-fi did not connect in our chalet but was useable in the communal areas.

Our game drive that afternoon was just the two of us plus guide and a lady from reception joined us saying that she needed "familiarization". The drive was enjoyable and the guide perfectly pleasant and informative and we saw plenty and enjoyed the scenery. This activity included the cheetah feeding and sundowner.

Dinner was a buffet with the exception of the starter and dessert which was served at the table. Unfortunately it would appear that they vastly underestimated how busy they were. Three roast chickens are insufficient for a dining room full of people.
I had reiterated my dietary requirements upon check in (no red meat) and the waitress confirmed that they had that information noted, however when I went to the buffet to get some chicken I was informed that it was all finished and would not be replaced. We were not eating particularly late, in fact people arrived after us and running out of chicken was unexpected.
There were also two large salad bowls which were almost empty and when I asked for these to be replenished new dishes never appeared, at least during the time that we were at the restaurant. Eventually after I addressed this with the waitress they prepared me a chicken breast with a fresh bowl of salad. This was a shame and I hope just a "one off" as the dining room and setting were beautiful.

The outside bar area was also very nice and comfortable and we enjoyed a pre-dinner drink sitting enjoying the environment. We did not use the pool as we stayed only one night plus there appeared to be some sort of renovation under way around the sides but there was water in the pool.

Later in the evening an Eland was encouraged to come close to the dining area with food laid out for it. Perhaps it is a tame animal and frequent visitor, however I'm not sure how I personally feel about an animal being fed and encouraged to come close to the building for that reason, but that is just my opinion, others were very happy to photograph it. Whilst I know and understand why the cheetahs are in captivity this is another area that I was not especially comfortable with for my own reasons, however we did very much enjoy watching the meerkats.

Unquestionably this is a beautiful ranch amongst the stunning red dunes and perhaps we are being overly critical. We would happily stay there again despite our experience in the dining room.

This was also the only place where we were asked for a tip and that was by the gate man as we were leaving." See all these reviews: 22n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr&Mrs D + kids
Herts

"Great relaxing place to start trip"

2 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2017
"Really good start to the trip with plenty of opportunity for relaxing or activities. Ideal location on route south or on dogleg to Sossusvlei if wanting a couple fo nights downtime or avoiding a stay in Windhoek.

Check-in welcoming and efficient. Stayed in strawbale room which was plenty big enough for 5. Inferior setting to dune chalets but perfectly pleasant. Accommodation very comfortable and of a good standard.

Nice pool area, restaurant and bar. Kids particularly liked donkeys, goats and springbok around the tables!

Breakfast buffet was good and had a wide choice, Sandwiches and salad available for lunch. Dinner was a buffet with several options - all very good and with enough choice to keep children largely happy, but no specific kids menu.

Mongoose, ostrich and meerkats around lodge very approachable.

Easy self-guided short walks into the dunes.

Did sundowner drive which was very interesting and typical of Kalahari. Some low density game - oryx, springbok, eland, wildebeeste etc - good scenery, great sunset. Guide was good and informative if unspectacular. Owing to numbers on other activities, this was combined for us with cheetah feeding free of charge. Two cheetahs captive in 12ha enclosure not able to be re-released as orphaned as cubs - certainly not 'wild' and fed from a bowl, Might not be everyone's cup of tea, but nevertheless, kids very excited at being in with them and being able to touch them.

Bushman walk with three bushmen and interpetor very interesting, even for kids. Walking group was a little large at about 15-20 but they still managed to keep everyone engaged." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 184
90%
184 reviews of Bagatelle Game Ranch by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
110
62
10
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Southern Namibia

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Eningu Clayhouse

Eningu Clayhouse

Scarcely an hour from Windhoek airport, Eningu is an artistic place to unwind amid the vast silence of the Kalahari.


90% (62 reviews)
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

Central Lodge offers clean, fresh and comfortable accommodation surrounded by a well-kept garden in the centre of Keetmanshoop.


71% (59 reviews)
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Kalahari Red Dunes

A friendly lodge set around a dry lake, which makes a nice stop off on the way down to Fish River Canyon.


93% (42 reviews)
Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge is a comfortable stop between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon. Expect stunning Kalahari scenery, two swimming pools and lots of space.


91% (36 reviews)
Dabis Guest Farm

Dabis Guest Farm

For good farm hospitality, wholesome cooking and an interesting farm drive, Dabis makes a great stop en-route from Lüderitz to the Sesriem area.


94% (25 reviews)
Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks, situated on the edge of the Kalahari Desert, is a perfect stop-over whilst driving between Namibia and Botswana.


84% (19 reviews)
Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen is a unique hotel in the heart of southern Namibia's farming district and makes a good stopover option.


72% (17 reviews)
Namtib Desert Lodge

Namtib Desert Lodge

A charming owner run lodge, located off the scenic D707, Namtib Desert Lodge is a convenient stop en route from the south to Sossusvlei.


87% (11 reviews)
Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse, located in Stampriet has comfortable chalets in the gardens of an old farmhouse.


90% (4 reviews)
Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp

Suricate Tented Camp

Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp is a relaxing spot with its own waterhole and a range of activities for exploring the area.


100% (3 reviews)
Kanaan Desert Retreat

Kanaan Desert Retreat

The tented Kanaan Desert Retreat offers a range of activities against the beautiful backdrop of the Namib Desert.


93% (3 reviews)
Otjimbondona Kalahari

Otjimbondona

Otjimbondona Kalahari is a luxurious, peaceful and relaxing lodge conveniently located close to Windhoek's International Airport.


No reviews yet
Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge

Camelthorn Kalahari

Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge offers a peaceful night's sleep in the Kalahari, breaking the journey between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon.


No reviews yet
Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge is located in the Intu Africa Kalahari Private Game Reserve; surrounded by red sands, it is a relaxing place for a night or two.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa