This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch
Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch

Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch


24°18’1.9"S 18°1’58.2"E

Reviews of Bagatelle Game Ranch

Wildlife sightings and reviews

182 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Bagatelle Game Ranch and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 12 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Bagatelle Game Ranch.
Leopard

0% success

Cheetah

36% success

Oryx

82% success

Eland

80% success

Wildebeest

73% success

Zebra

70% success

Giraffe

50% success

Meerkat

45% success

Aardvark

27% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Spotted Hyena

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 182
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs M
Chiswick

"Bit of a 'filler' in our itinerary "

2 nights Arrived 10 Apr 2017
"This was our lasts to and a bit of a filler in our itinerary, as we booked quite late and had been unable to get into another camp that we wanted to stay at. The staff were friendly but the young white woman who we took to be the owner - or at least was managing the staff - was only interested in them and not in any contact with the clientele, which seemed odd. What's more, while most of the staff were smartly dressed, an older white male, who seemed to function both as a guide and odd job man, was as scruffily dressed as you can imagine and definitely gave off a totally wrong image. Give the man a uniform and tell him to wear it! Another odd experience was that we booked a cheetah feeding tour (half an hour, two cheetahs and five minutes of action, not worth the money) but the guide wasn't around as we arrived too late! Went again the following night. So overall definitely a bit hit and miss on the staffing front, with more consistency needed
This part of the Kalahari seemed in no way like a desert during our visit, which was shortly after an unusually wet rainy season. It was more like prairie grassland. However the riding was excellent for the experienced riders in our family, and they were very happy with that.
Rooms are pretty basic and not up to the standard of other camps we stayed at. However the food, especially dinner, was excellent
to sum up. like the curate's egg, good in parts. But this isn't the most exciting part of Namibia we saw, and this location is probably best as an overnight stopover, or two nights at most. " See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ian & Vivienne
UK

"Convenient when travellling South"

1 night Arrived 8 Apr 2017
"This property is a three and a half Drive south from Windhoek airport and is a lovely introduction to Namibia. Two nights would be ideal as we felt we had not truly appreciated what it had to offer in just one night.

The evening meal was served al fresco and the quality was good.

We stayed in a Dune chalet which had a wonderful view as they are elevated but are the furthest from the reception area.

You can ask to be driven to and fro but the walk was nice and not difficult unless you have a disability.

As with most accommodations in Namibia, you need to ask reception for a hairdryer to borrow during your stay." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mrs B
Lancs

"good overnight stay"

1 night Arrived 17 Feb 2017
"this is fine for an overnight stay. dinner was good, service was good, room was good pool was good" See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms J
Northamptonshire

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 15 Dec 2016
"Accommodation had great setting, but no water on one occasion, and no hot water once we did get it!

Outdoor buffet was not great, food cold, burners kept blowing out." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Average
Mr E & Ms S
Sweden

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 19 Nov 2016
"Very nice place as the last stop. The only remark would be that they get somebody that knows how to organise their kitchen. At lunch with 6 tables with guests all coming at different times, all got served at the same time.

For dinner the same thing, but just with all tables busy. All staff was there, it's just that the owner seemed to create more chaos then bringing order, we left halfway into the dinner, despite great food." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Dr N
King's Lynn

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 8 Nov 2016
"The game drive and the cheetah feeding were a great introduction to Namibia" See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Miss M
Margate

"Beautiful place"

1 night Arrived 9 Oct 2016
"Beautiful room, amazing food, great service - we did a sundowner trip which was stunning and had the added bonus of Skundy the pet Sprinbok, a pool visit by some goats and meerkats constantly scurrying around." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs A & Mr J T
Essex

"Well worth arriving for afternoon game drive"

1 night Arrived 29 Aug 2016
"We were well greeted and were lucky enough to get an upgrade, to the Honeymoon Suite, a large chalet complete with Jacuzzi. However we did not have a chance to try this out and given the warnings of acute water shortages and the need to keep showers brief it would not have been appropriate to use it.

We arrived early enough to get on the afternoon game drive & sundowner which were well worth doing. We had a very good, conscientious and knowledgeable guide; we got the impression that the others were too.

All staff were very friendly and helpful.

A very good start to the holiday and a realistic and excellent place to break the long journey south. It was also an introduction to driving on gravel and sand roads." See all these reviews: 21n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms R & Mr M
York

"Bagatelle Kalahari Game Ranch review"

1 night Arrived 5 Aug 2016
"This was a very pleasant stopover.

Our chalet had great views and we enjoyed the terrace. We thought the food was of a high standard.

We did not have time to book any activities but liked the short self-guided walk.
" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 3n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Cambs.

"Good accomodation but a bit artificial"

1 night Arrived 19 Jul 2016
"The accommodation here is great, as is the food. But be aware that the game drive is through their enclosed nature reserve rather than in the open Kalahari. as this was our first stop outside Windhoek it was good to learn something about Namibian wildlife but we were unsure about what wildlife we'd seen was native to the area and what had been bussed in.

Stroking a cheetah was an unexpected experience!" See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 31-40 of 182
90%
182 reviews of Bagatelle Game Ranch by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
109
61
10
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Southern Namibia

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Eningu Clayhouse

Eningu Clayhouse

Scarcely an hour from Windhoek airport, Eningu is an artistic place to unwind amid the vast silence of the Kalahari.


90% (62 reviews)
Central Lodge

Central Lodge

Central Lodge offers clean, fresh and comfortable accommodation surrounded by a well-kept garden in the centre of Keetmanshoop.


71% (59 reviews)
Kalahari Red Dunes Lodge

Kalahari Red Dunes

A friendly lodge set around a dry lake, which makes a nice stop off on the way down to Fish River Canyon.


93% (42 reviews)
Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge

Kalahari Anib Lodge is a comfortable stop on the journey betwen Windhoek and Fish River Canyon. Expect stunning Kalahari scenery, two swimming pools and lots of space.


91% (36 reviews)
Dabis Guest Farm

Dabis Guest Farm

For good farm hospitality, wholesome cooking and an interesting farm drive, Dabis makes a great stop en-route from Lüderitz to the Sesriem area.


94% (25 reviews)
Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen

Hotel Helmeringhausen is a unique hotel in the heart of southern Namibia's farming district and makes a good stopover option.


72% (17 reviews)
Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks

Kalahari Bush Breaks, situated on the edge of the Kalahari Desert, is a perfect stop-over whilst driving between Namibia and Botswana.


82% (17 reviews)
Namtib Desert Lodge

Namtib Desert Lodge

A charming owner run lodge, located off the scenic D707, Namtib Desert Lodge is a convenient stop en route from the south to Sossusvlei.


87% (11 reviews)
Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse

Kalahari Farmhouse, located in Stampriet has comfortable chalets in the gardens of an old farmhouse.


93% (3 reviews)
Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp

Suricate Tented Camp

Suricate Kalahari Tented Camp is a relaxing spot with its own waterhole and a range of activities for exploring the area.


100% (3 reviews)
Kanaan Desert Retreat

Kanaan Desert Retreat

The tented Kanaan Desert Retreat offers a range of activities against the beautiful backdrop of the Namib Desert.


90% (2 reviews)
Otjimbondona Kalahari

Otjimbondona

Otjimbondona Kalahari is a luxurious, peaceful and relaxing lodge conveniently located close to Windhoek's International Airport.


No reviews yet
Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge

Camelthorn Kalahari

Camelthorn Kalahari Lodge offers a peaceful night's sleep in the Kalahari, breaking the journey between Windhoek and Fish River Canyon.


No reviews yet
Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge

Zebra Kalahari Lodge is located in the Intu Africa Kalahari Private Game Reserve; surrounded by red sands, it is a relaxing place for a night or two.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa