This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Sable Alley
Sable Alley
Sable Alley
Sable Alley
Sable Alley
Sable Alley
Sable Alley
Sable Alley

Reviews of Sable Alley

Wildlife sightings and reviews

23 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Sable Alley and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in May-2018, 14 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Sable Alley.
Lion

85% success

Leopard

83% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

77% success

Elephant

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Giraffe

92% success

Wildebeest

77% success

Buffalo

71% success

Spotted Hyena

67% success

Sable antelope

42% success

Eland

36% success

Roan antelope

25% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 23
Duration
Arrival date
Mr G
Canada

"Sable Alley"

3 nights Arrived 18 Oct 2018
"Lovely accommodations. Great walking safaris with Russell" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr B
New York

"Sable Alley"

3 nights Arrived 25 Sep 2018
"A spectacular experience and beautiful location with top class rooms and service. Has recently been renovated and everything in the camp from the entrance to the general areas and the rooms themselves were wonderfully done. The staff were friendly, helpful and made us feel extremely welcome and comfortable. They often would good 'above and beyond', such as laying on a special celebration for our anniversary.
The scout we were assigned was very knowledgeable and experienced. He made sure we saw a variety of wildlife as well as educating and informing us of specific details related to it. The concession around this camp had a large quantity of wildlife and there was very little we did not see. The 'stand-out' feature for this camp is the water hole right in front of the camp that hosts a large (and noisy) hippo pod as well as attracting many other mammals, birds and a reptile. One day a herd of elephant wandered through the camp passing us just feet away." See all these reviews: 6n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

6 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

7 sightings

Ms J.
London

"Sable Alley review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2018
"The staff were very friendly and welcoming.

We liked the lodge, it was clean and the rooms were lovely situated around the waterhole. The guide was very informative.

We spent one night at Skybeds which I am glad we did but would not revisit. As the waterhole there is not lit is was difficult to see the animals although I did have a magical hour watching the elephants move through the camp at 2am.

We also had an excellent game drive back from Skybeds" See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs W
Roehampt

"Amazing staff and service"

3 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2018
"Sable Alley was wonderful.

The staff are particularly good, led by the exceptional Mrs P. The tents are very stylish and comfortable." See all these reviews: 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Eland

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

2 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wild dog

3 sightings

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

3 sightings

Mr AJ & Mrs VA
UK

"Sable Alley review"

3 nights Arrived 30 May 2018
"Not sure why we needed a tracker as well as a guide - it was somewhat annoying when they were in conversation between themselves, quite clearly on matters not affecting us.

ie we didn't have the whole attention of the guide" See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

5 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Wild dog

1 sighting

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

4 sightings

Gaza
South Africa

"Sable Alley feed back"

4 nights Arrived 10 May 2018
"We have always traveled to Botswana with Wilderness Safaris (Xigera; Jacana; Kalahari Plains; Vumbura Plains; Kings Pool). We decided to try someone else. Obviously from the noted camps it can be seen that we love Botswana as we would not be returning so frequently. We had a few concerns however it must be understood that this has not changed our minds to do another trip with your organisation.

1) Not sufficient vehicles for travelling in the bush. Having to share with people who have no clue about what is going on in the bush and who totally lack simple understanding of what a privilege it is to actually be out in the wilds is so disappointing. The reason why I say this is because we were constantly having to drop and pick up people resulting in the vehicle hanging around close to the camp when in fact we should be out on a game drives (Is that no what we have paid for). And as we all know it is timing that finds something around the next corner. If you are not exploring the next corner then you will definitely miss out.

2) No camera facilities for mounting your camera on. It is such a simple requirement that would enable your camera to remain stable when using a long lens (Mounted bean bag)

3) Guides need to understand that when on a drive they should be clear in what they say as only the absolute tourist can be told anything and they will believe it. I have had the privilege to have grown up in the bush and I find it disappointing to sometimes listen to absolute nonsense been spoken by the guides. I am sure you would think that I am a know it all but I have lived and grown up in central Africa (Zambia) for some time however i am based in Cape Town for the last 25 years.

4) Guides need to ask what your preference of drinks are for the day and not to simply assume that what you requested at the beginning is what you will have all the way along. i say this because we are not the normal tourist who are in the camp for 2 days and one could get away with this. We always stay for 4 days

5) Small things if you are flying home and you must leave at a certain time in the morning one should provide a lunch packet. This small gesture shows that you have your clients interest at heart. The question could be asked, and it would be your clients decision if they wanted lunch or not. (Wilderness Safaris does this and this goes a long way)

6) Breakfast needs to be sorted out as some people like to have scrambled eggs/or any other type of eggs with bacon, sausage etc. (Again i say this because Wilderness Safaris does this)

7) Your person running the camp was a wonderful host Johann van den Heever whom i had a similar discussion with telling him what makes a massive difference to ones stay. The rest of the stay was was made a pleasure with your staff that ensured that we were well looked after.

8) Comments such as activities to be graded we do understand that they are all seasonally driven and activities such as Boating etc are restricted by the water levels. That is why one can only note Good.

9) For others to read my comments is something that your organisation should rather take and ensure that the items noted above are addressed as this will make your camp even more special.

AGAIN I MUST SAY THAT WE WILL MOST DEFINITELY LOOK TO DOING ANOTHER ADVENTURE WITH YOUR ORGANISATION" See all these reviews: 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Good
Mr H
Germany

"Sable Alley review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Mar 2018
"as described before. [ Ed: This traveller's review of their whole trip is written under Camp Kalahari - it is:

"We visited Camp Kalahari, Tau Pan Camp, Sable Alley, Chief´s Camp within 9 days during raining season. The trip as a whole was great and most impressive. Our Group consist of 3 men and 3 women from 56 to 80 years old. The air transport was excellent and even so the Chance to store additional luggage in Maun.

The sequence of different locations was a symbol for rising attraction, comfort, number and variety of animals. In Camp Kalahari we met a family of native bushmen (about 25 people, young and old) who introduced us for more than 2 hours into their way of life. Now we can make fire without matches and lighters, we can hunt with bow and arrow, we will find plants with water in their roots and so on. It was a fundamental experience and we are still deeply impressed.

Then we saw many Lions with their cubs, we saw many Leopards, Cheetahs and impressive big Elephants not only at the horizon but often in almost touching distance,

We will never forget excellent Food and Red wine and last but not least we remember the friendliness of all people. Before landing at home we started already collecting money for our next visit in Botswana.

Thanks a lot, it was a great time." ]" See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
J & R
Canada

"Sable Alley review"

3 nights Arrived 15 Nov 2017
"Our Visit was mid November. No complaints everything worked out well. We didn't know much about this location as it is relatively new. Staff seemed a little confused at times but always willing and eager to help. Game viewing was good overall although there were long periods without too much action.

Our enthusiasm may have been a little muted as we arrived from an extremely busy work week and 46 hr 6 flight journey.

We would recommend Sable Alley to other travelers." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr T & Ms K
NL

"Sable Alley review"

2 nights Arrived 10 Nov 2017
"Comfortable place, great scenery, nice activities.

Service was adequate but a bit impersonal. Hospitality could be improved upon, it is not nice to send guests to bed at 21.15 hrs because the manager wants to sleep. Next evening 22.30 hrs was slightly better, but still, not really hospitable." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 7n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Poor
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs T
Oxon

"Sable Alley review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Nov 2017
"This was an outstanding camp. The first night we were here we had an elephant between us and the room (and this is why you are escorted back!). We waited (and waited, and waited...) and went to the tent rapidly when told to go... to find no lights available.

Fifteen minutes later, in a dark tent, we are watching the elephant in the moonlight. In a tent with full lighting, we would never have had such a great show. (The Camp Manager apologised for the power outage, but the unintended view was so spectacular I cannot possibly complain!)

We saw - as our guide put it - SWARMS of elephants. They were moving across the area and never have I seen so many family groups. (The long term impact is to be seen, but the immediate amazement is overwhelming.)

Starting the visit with lions at a kill was excellent. We also had leopard sightings (two at night, one brief in daylight) and a small pack of wild dogs. I appreciated that the guide did not pretend the environment for the dogs was okay - the heavy lion presence impacted their ability to raise pups, and this too is something that is an increasing problem as habitat becomes more compressed.

Overall, this new camp really impressed." See all these reviews: 13n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 23
95%
23 reviews of Sable Alley by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
18
4
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Moremi Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Botswana Private Mobile Safari

Private Mobile

The Botswana Private Mobile Safari has no fixed location; it's exclusive to your group and comes with a top professional guide. Expect comfortable camping, great food, and a superb wildlife experience wherever you decide to go.


100% (43 reviews)
Xigera Safari Lodge

Xigera Safari Lodge

Located deep in Botswana's Okavango Delta, Xigera Camp normally focuses on mokoro excursions and motorboat trips, with 4WD game drives when water levels permit.


98% (35 reviews)
Xakanaxa

Xakanaxa

Xakanaxa Camp is a well-established traditional camp beside a huge lagoon within the Moremi Game Reserve, with access to some superb game viewing.


89% (33 reviews)
Khwai Tented Camp

Khwai Tented Camp

Khwai Tented Cap offers a traditional African safari experience, in very comfortable tented accommodation, in a fantastic game area north of the Moremi Game Reserve.


95% (33 reviews)
Machaba Camp

Machaba Camp

Overlooking the Khwai River to Moremi Game Reserve beyond, the classic Machaba Camp combines comfort with excellent game viewing.


91% (30 reviews)
Okuti

Okuti

Okuti Camp has an innovative design and offers game drives and boat trips in a beautiful, game-rich part of Moremi Game Reserve.


94% (17 reviews)
Mombo Camp

Mombo Camp

Mombo is one of Botswana's most exclusive safari camps, set in a beautiful, remote location within the Moremi Game Reserve and with exceptional game densities.


100% (11 reviews)
Chief's Camp

Chief's Camp

Chief's Camp is situated on Chief's Island, within the Okavango Delta's Moremi Game Reserve. Experience one of Botswana's top game-viewing areas by 4WD and mokoro.


93% (8 reviews)
Little Mombo

Little Mombo

One of Botswana's top safari camps, Little Mombo stands on the north side of Chief's Island, in the heart of the Okavango Delta's Moremi Game Reserve.


97% (6 reviews)
Little Machaba

Little Machaba

Overlooking the Khwai River and Moremi Game Reserve beyond, Little Machaba is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a great game-viewing area.


83% (6 reviews)
Hyena Pan

Hyena Pan

Fairly rustic, and relatively inexpensive, Hyena Pan overlooks a natural waterhole that attracts an almost constant parade of animals.


88% (5 reviews)
Camp Moremi

Camp Moremi

Camp Moremi lies within the Moremi Game Reserve, in one of the best locations for game viewing in Botswana.


100% (5 reviews)
Skybeds

Skybeds

Situated in a private reserve close to Moremi Game Reserve, Skybeds offers a simple yet wonderful opportunity to sleep under the stars and watch wildlife from your bed.


80% (4 reviews)
Sango Safari Camp

Sango Safari Camp

Sango offers comfortable tented accommodation, without some of the frills often found in Botswana's camps, with an area that's scenic and gets excellent, consistent game sightings.


100% (1 review)
Tuludi

Tuludi

Tuludi is a brand new luxury camp, within the Khwai Private Reserve, built on a site under giant leadwood trees and overlooking the Okavango Delta floodplains.


100% (1 review)
The Jackal & Hide

The Jackal & Hide

The Jackal & Hide camp is located in the Khwai Private Reserve – which borders the Moremi Game Reserve and Chobe


80% (1 review)
Khwai Bush Camp
No reviews yet
Khwai River Lodge

Khwai River Lodge

Khwai River Lodge is a luxurious and well-equipped safari camp, on the northern edge of Moremi Game Reserve. This area isn't exclusive, but it is beautiful and has excellent game.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa