This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms S from Sheffield

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

2

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

0

Wonderful wildlife experiences

Botswana between 23 Mar 2019 and 1 Apr 2019

Trip rating: Excellent
"Absolutely fine."

Sable Alley

Sable Alley

"Lovely surroundings & safari at 1st rate camp"

3 nights Arrived 24 Mar 2019
"We (mother and I) enjoyed everything about our stay and safari at Sable Alley.

We found the camp itself luxurious, staff attentive, the meals superb and our guide 'Shakes' excellent. We did not want for anything.

We especially loved the outdoor shower!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

My Aug 2013 trip

Kenya between 21 Aug 2013 and 2 Sep 2013

Trip rating: Good
"Nairobi airport really tarnished our holiday experience - sadly.

Our transfers and drivers (apart from Driftwood to Mombasa - which may have been correct), were excellent.

Driftwood - not quite sure what was going on there regarding locals. Also need to mention that I was charged a very large sum of money for use of the safe in our room.

Asha Cottage - very good.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

I realise that the situation in Nairobi Airport is beyond your control - but it was horrendous.

I would like to thank Richard for all the hard work that he put into our booking - much appreciated."

Feedback response

The Nairobi airport fire two weeks before these travellers arrived was a truly exceptional situation and caused a good deal of disruption to many flights through the airport. We were very sorry to hear of the impact this had on Ms S and her son, but based on the reports of staff travelling through Nairobi, and further reports from travellers, we believe things are running much more smoothly now (September 2013).

Arranged By Richard Trillo


Driftwood Beach Club

Driftwood Beach Club

"Driftwood Beach Club review"

3 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2013
"Room clean, food good.

Freddie found hassle from "beach boys" very intimidating and this meant that he would not go on the beach. Many guests/day visitors used the bar area during the day, some couples looked slightly dubious. Freddie asked me if the two black ladies accompanying two white African men were prostitutes - and I think they were. However, this aspect did not tarnish time at the Driftwood Beach Club.

I went out to the forest - guided bird tour - very good and also snorkelling on one of the dive boats - well looked after and enjoyable. Water a little cloudy for good views of fish."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Satao Camp

Satao Camp

"Satao Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Aug 2013
"Confusion regarding transfer from Driftwood to Satao - driver arrived before 6.00 am for 6.30 am pick-up and insisted that we were going back to Mombasa. I could not understand why this was - connected with German couple for journey from Mombasa to Satao Camp - this seemed like a very long winded way and wasted a considerable amount of our time.

Satao Camp excellent - tent excellent, food good, jeep excellent, driver/guide excellent."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Diani Blue

Diani Blue

"Asha Cottage review"

3 nights Arrived 28 Aug 2013
"Your road transfers (apart from Driftwood to Satao) were excellent - organisation first class.

Asha Cottage lovely.

Beach boys remained a problem - continual and never left alone, despite advice of befriending one or two!

Visited forest, monkey sanctuary - all interesting.

School on site - thus busman's holiday. Did go in for a morning and actually found it very interesting."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Shimba Lodge

Shimba Lodge

"Shimba Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 31 Aug 2013
"We had variable and at times disappointing weather throughout our time in Kenya.

Afternoon game drive (after our driver managed to locate guide - I did have to get a little huffy at reception about absence of the guide who we were told was in a local village and would be joining us later - not the driver's fault). So, (very poor English sorry) - guide in tow, afternoon game drive and walk at sundowner location lovely.

Guide and driver decided to change itinerary for the following day and rather than 6.30 am game drive for two hours we left at 8.30 am for walk to Sheldrick Falls - much better as fog meant we could not see water hole let alone Shimba park at 6.30 am. No animals at water hold at all - Kenyans kept saying whole holiday that climate was not what it should be.

My son and I enjoyed walk with guide - gun in hand - Freddie thought very exciting.

Shimba Lodge somewhat empty and strange feel really. Loved the night sky and sounds though.

Holes in mosquito nets - a little worrying. Thought food expensive for what it was."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Facilities
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team