This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Botswana Private Mobile Safari
Botswana Private Mobile Safari
Botswana Private Mobile Safari
Botswana Private Mobile Safari
Botswana Private Mobile Safari
Botswana Private Mobile Safari
Botswana Private Mobile Safari

Botswana Private Mobile Safari


19°9’55.9"S 23°45’48.5"E

Reviews of Private Mobile

Wildlife sightings and reviews

36 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Private Mobile and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 18 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Private Mobile.
Lion

94% success

Leopard

82% success

Cheetah

29% success

Wild dog

60% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

83% success

Roan antelope

50% success

Sable antelope

30% success

Pangolin

18% success

White Rhino

18% success

Black Rhino

8% success

Aardvark

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 36
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs R
Lower Hutt

"Andrew and his crew- Perfect Mobile Camp"

3 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2017
"Andrew welcomed us off the light plane flight with an afternoon safari back to camp. We were very lucky to see a male and female lion and then two male lions on our way. The Kwhai area was a lovely change of scenery to the dry Chobe vegetation.
The camp is amazing. Patrick puts out delicious food and the team is very friendly. Enjoyed celebrating Botswana day.

This was the family's favourite experience after trying self drive and lodges. Recommend rangers for safari's every time with as small as numbers as possible to increase chance of more time at sightings and moving on when you want.

Andrew is a great guide- spotting all the animals we wanted to see- this was week 2 of safari for us so we were happy to see more of the same and take our time at each sighting and Andrew found it- Hippos restless, Lion cubs, Leopard, Wild Dogs.
A slight confusion about our travel home was very well handled and it turned out to be the best game drive yet.

Recommend- check one of the mattresses- one was very firm- and have snacks for the afternoon safari drive on arrival- we had left our lodge at 1045, had breakfast at 9 and didn't eat until 6pm- fine for the adults- tough on master 10 and 12." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs G & Mr M
Canada

"Sublime Okavango"

4 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2017
"We knew our trip to the delta would be a beautiful and educational travel experience but we couldn't imagine just how beautiful it actually was until we started to experience it.

We are seasoned campers. We thought we had lived well on previous trips to the bush (in Canada) but we have never had such luxury in such remote wilderness as we did on our mobile camping trip. In fact, we hadn't imagined so much luxury could be created while staying in a tent. All of our needs were met, the meals were extraordinary, the vehicle and all camping equipment (linens, tent, etc) were in immaculate condition. We felt safe and we felt pampered and it was clear that Andrew and his staff wanted us to have a special experience.

Andrew is an interesting and knowledgeable guide who was open to our requests for stops along the way. He was clearly safety conscious and respectful of the animals and the park rules. He gave great attention to detail. His staff were wonderful .

I loved our isolation at the two campsites we stayed at because of the bird activity in the morning and the animal activity so close to us at night. And I would recommend the mobile camping safari to anyone. I would also recommend Andrew Harkness safari to anyone. I would go again next year if I could. Maybe one day.

Truly a sublime experience.
" See all these reviews: 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Peacocks/LC
USA

"Harkness/Khwai Mobile Camp"

5 nights Arrived 16 Aug 2017
"This was our second safari with Andrew Harkness and his team (see our review from August 2016). There are several advantages to a private mobile safari:

1. Value - you get a unique experience at very favorable rates;
2. Expert guiding - Andrew is one of the best young guides in Botswana:
3. Food - Again we had the best cuisine prepared by Andrew's crew (over the fire); The quality was better than in any of the "sophisticated" camps:
4. The small details -- Andrew and his team show up on time, do what they say they're going to do, attend to all the small details, and produce a wonderful experience. He also has a wicked sense of humor.

The Khwai Community concession has "self-drive" tourists who can fail to maintain the "bush etiquette", but the wildlife viewing is consistently excellent. Lions, elephants, Painted dogs, leopards et al. We'd recommend combining a Harkness Safari with camps on the private concessions. The overall experience becomes a more authentic safari." See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
BJB
Los Angeles

"Harkness Mobile Safaris"

4 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2017
"As we deplaned at the Khwai airstrip after over 24 hours of traveling, we were greeted by the ruggedly handsome and personable Andrew Harkness. Sorry girls, he's happily married with two young sons.

This was the beginning of a fantastic four days in Khwai. As other reviewers have indicated the camp is nicer than many of the permanent camps throughout Africa. Our tent was spacious and the beds were comfortable. Each night Andrew's team formed our towels into a different animal including giraffes, birds, and elephants. There was a separate sitting tent with a trunk housing a full bar, love seat, and chairs to relax at your leisure.

The meals prepared by the team were outstanding. Pippa, Andrew's wife, provides the recipes and coordinates the meals. We are picky eaters and Pippa managed to surpass our expectations. Patrick, the chef, and his capable team execute her recipes that include quiche, vegetable lasagna, curry, and fresh bread baked over the fire. We didn't have to lift a finger. Harkness Mobile Safaris is "glamping" at its finest.

These travellers commented about their private guide:

Experiencing the guiding of Andrew is equivalent to being a treasured guest in someone's home. Every detail of the camp and game drives was outstanding. As other guests noted, the camp and meals are as nice as the high end camps throughout Africa. With our goal of photographing game in the bush, we spent a day following the "wild or painted dogs'. While tracking two female lionesses, Andrew climbed on top of the vehicle with binoculars to assure a photo op. With his vast knowledge of birds, there were many opportunities to photograph birds resting or in flight. While we are not campers, the experience was fantastic and not one to miss.

" See all these reviews: 6n in Zimbabwe; 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms K
Oakland

"Botswana Private Mobile Safari review"

3 nights Arrived 5 Jun 2017
"Andrew was a pleasure; knowledgeable, passionate, responsible and altogether enjoyable.

The scenery and wildlife were also amazing. Our mobile safari experience exceeded our expectations in every way.

Andrew's wife (menu planner!) and staff (Patrick especially) deserve a special mention for their efforts and amazing cuisine." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
EB
France

"Unforgettable trip in Khwai Reserve"

3 nights Arrived 5 Jun 2017
"The mobile camp experience was great. Staying at a campsite rather than a lodge, we felt that much closer to nature, with elephants browsing on the trees right next to our tents, and just the right level of thrill during the night with hippos grunting and lions roaring nearby, while feeling safe in our campsite with the careful way the tents were organised and the guide and the team also in camp. The conditions were very comfortable, much more high-end than I had expected, but still retaining the best aspects of camping - drinks around the campfire, eating outdoors, sleeping under the stars (well, in a tent of course!).

Andrew Harkness was an excellent guide, very informative about the animals, the country and the culture, and the Batswana team that helps at the camp worked really hard to make everything as comfortable as possible.

On the safari drives Andrew was very responsive to our reactions, always stopping and turning off the motor at anything we found interesting, and able to name virtually every species of bird or animal we saw. We enjoyed his company, felt very safe in his care and learned a lot.

I recommend him and the mobile camp experience wholeheartedly." See all these reviews: 4n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Godalming

"Great time with Andrew Harkness"

4 nights Arrived 17 May 2017
"This was the highlight of our holiday. Andrew is an excellent guide - very attentive and informative and the game viewing could not have been bettered. He runs a very good operation with excellent staff.

The chef, Patrick, produced some outstanding food from his bush kitchen - the best of our holiday.

We would highly recommend this private mobile safari as a way to experience the bush of the old days. Our tent was very spacious and comfortable. " See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Bertie
UK

"Camping in the Bush"

4 nights Arrived 7 May 2017
"Our private mobile safari was based at the Khwai Community concession. Our guide was Andrew Harkness, an English guy who has adopted Botswana as his home. Andrew runs his own company, Harkness Safaris with his wife Pippa. They both have huge experience of working in the lodges prior to setting up this mobile business.

We were delighted at the level of accommodation provided and amazing food, all cooked on a bush oven. Andrew's knowledge of the area was outstanding. He is really happy to listen to his guests so that he can tailor the activity to what you are really interested in. Andrew picked us up from Maun and drove us to Khwai, which gave us amazing insights in to how the local people live as we spotted various villages along the way.

Andrew only provides safaris to private groups, so that he can tailor the holiday. No juggling what everyone wants to see. We were particularly interested in birds (we saw 61) but also saw big game including leopard with cubs and wild dogs.
We would highly recommend Andrew and his lovely team. Nothing is too much trouble. We have visited Botswana before and stayed on lodges so were a little apprehensive. However the camping experience is amazing being so close to the wildlife. We are tempted to go back again, this would make it our third visit to Botswana!

Only note of caution. One of us got a tick, which also happened to a previous guest. " See all these reviews: 11n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr M
Bow

"Glamping is Great on a Mobile Safari"

3 nights Arrived 11 Mar 2017
"We chose a mobile safari based on prior experience in the Serengeti - the thrill of nighttime predator roars and calls in close proximity to our camp. Andrew Harkness provided us with a great experience in difficult viewing conditions (tall grass, low mopane, and local flood conditions).

We spent just three nights with Andrew, so we camped in one area only. Contrary to our expectations, we never actually entered the Moremi Game Reserve. Our guide indicated that entry into Moremi occurs only on six-day or longer trips. Had we known this during the planning stage, we might have chosen another camp instead. However, that was before we met Andrew.

The advantages of staying in the Khwai Conservancy, as we did, is that bush walking, off-roading, and night driving are allowed. Consequently, we were able to observe and follow a pack of wild dogs as they roused themselves from a siesta and began an evening hunt and to go on an informative mid-morning hike.

See comments by Ms I. from North Berwick for additional details on our shared vacation." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms I
North Berwick

"Botswana Private Mobile Safari review"

3 nights Arrived 11 Mar 2017
"Andrew and his staff coped very well with the challenges generated by the bad weather that preceded our visit. Clearly the area had been flooded but it barely rained at all during our stay.

The food was outstanding. I have no idea how Philemon, the chef, created such good food from his pit oven. The whole set up was an "Out of Africa" experience. My group have all been campers and hikers and we adapted readily to camp routine. I personally loved dining outside all Deeted up for breakfast and dinner.

Andrew miraculously never got stuck despite the conditions and water flowing over the bonnet. I have a Landrover and off roading experience, and i would not have driven my vehicle through some of the water Andrew took on.

Some of the drives were a little quiet on the wild life side but this gave us more time to enjoy the unique scenery including the devastation caused to the trees by the elephants. We also had superb drives including close observation of elephants, baboons, wild dogs and lions. We followed the dogs for a long time, which was great. I served our sun downer on the move and am pleased to say that I did not spill a drop!

Having lions roaring around the camp and resting within about 150 yards of the camp on the last night was an unforgettable experience. This was my first mobile safari and i am very glad we did it.

Minor issues arose in relation to the lack of duvet and pillow slips on the bed. My bed was not terribly comfortable but i have camped on much worse. The lights in the tent consistently failed, but i had two torches with me and generally use very little light when camping to avoid attracting insects anyway. I suspect that we suffered teething problems with the camp set up as this was the first camp of Andrew's season.

I wish him and his gang every success going forward. He is very well informed and enthusiastic about the environment and the natural world." See all these reviews: 12n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 36
100%
36 reviews of Private Mobile by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
36
0
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Moremi Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Xigera Safari Lodge

Xigera Safari Lodge

Located deep in Botswana's Okavango Delta, Xigera Camp normally focuses on mokoro excursions and motorboat trips, with 4WD game drives when water levels permit.


98% (35 reviews)
Xakanaxa

Xakanaxa

Xakanaxa Camp is a well-established traditional camp beside a huge lagoon within the Moremi Game Reserve, with access to some superb game viewing.


89% (33 reviews)
Khwai Tented Camp

Khwai Tented Camp

Khwai Tented Cap offers a traditional African safari experience, in very comfortable tented accommodation, in a fantastic game area north of the Moremi Game Reserve.


95% (32 reviews)
Machaba Camp

Machaba Camp

Overlooking the Khwai River to Moremi Game Reserve beyond, the classic Machaba Camp combines comfort with excellent game viewing.


91% (30 reviews)
Sable Alley

Sable Alley

Smart, independent and well-run, Sable Alley overlooks a beautiful, hippo-filled lagoon within the diverse Khwai Private Reserve.


95% (22 reviews)
Okuti

Okuti

Okuti Camp has an innovative design and offers game drives and boat trips in a beautiful, game-rich part of Moremi Game Reserve.


94% (17 reviews)
Mombo Camp

Mombo Camp

Mombo is one of Botswana's most exclusive safari camps, set in a beautiful, remote location within the Moremi Game Reserve and with exceptional game densities.


100% (9 reviews)
Chief's Camp

Chief's Camp

Chief's Camp is situated on Chief's Island, within the Okavango Delta's Moremi Game Reserve. Experience one of Botswana's top game-viewing areas by 4WD and mokoro.


93% (8 reviews)
Little Mombo

Little Mombo

One of Botswana's top safari camps, Little Mombo stands on the north side of Chief's Island, in the heart of the Okavango Delta's Moremi Game Reserve.


97% (6 reviews)
Little Machaba

Little Machaba

Overlooking the Khwai River and Moremi Game Reserve beyond, Little Machaba is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a great game-viewing area.


80% (5 reviews)
Hyena Pan

Hyena Pan

Fairly rustic, and relatively inexpensive, Hyena Pan overlooks a natural waterhole that attracts an almost constant parade of animals.


88% (5 reviews)
Camp Moremi

Camp Moremi

Camp Moremi lies within the Moremi Game Reserve, in one of the best locations for game viewing in Botswana.


100% (5 reviews)
Skybeds

Skybeds

Situated in a private reserve close to Moremi Game Reserve, Skybeds offers a simple yet wonderful opportunity to sleep under the stars and watch wildlife from your bed.


80% (4 reviews)
Sango Safari Camp

Sango Safari Camp

Sango offers comfortable tented accommodation, without some of the frills often found in Botswana's camps, with an area that's scenic and gets excellent, consistent game sightings.


100% (1 review)
Khwai Bush Camp
No reviews yet
Khwai River Lodge

Khwai River Lodge

Khwai River Lodge is a luxurious and well-equipped safari camp, on the northern edge of Moremi Game Reserve. This area isn't exclusive, but it is beautiful and has excellent game.


No reviews yet
Tuludi

Tuludi

Tuludi is a brand new luxury camp, within the Khwai Private Reserve, built on a site under giant leadwood trees and overlooking the Okavango Delta floodplains.


No reviews yet
The Jackal & Hide

The Jackal & Hide

The Jackal & Hide camp is located in the Khwai Private Reserve – which borders the Moremi Game Reserve and Chobe


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa