This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Okuti
Okuti
Okuti
Okuti

Reviews of Okuti

Wildlife sightings and reviews

17 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Okuti and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 3 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Okuti.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

67% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Roan antelope

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Sable antelope

0% success

White Rhino

0% success

Showing 11-17 of 17
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs B
Caldicot

"Three wonderful nights on the Delta"

3 nights Arrived 9 Jun 2014
"Another great camp. The accommodation was exceptionally good and the staff's singing - both on our arrival and twice before dinner - was special.

No complaints at all." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms H
USA

"Okuti review"

3 nights Arrived 8 May 2014
"Had we stayed at Okuti before Tubu Tree, we might have had a different experience. Because we did not, we kept comparing the two and Okuti came up short on every front. While the design of the buildings is very interesting, innovative, and quite pleasing to the eye, practically, they were a disappointment. We had the two family room units. The bedrooms were extremely hot in the afternoon when we went in to rest (and this was in May.) The "living" part of the room had such subdued lighting that it was impossible to read or play games in there and there was only seating for 3 people so it kind of defeated the purpose of having an area for a family to gather. Another issue was no safe which was awkward as we had so much cash with us. Furthermore the doors had a large wooden key you needed to carry round with you and there was only one so that was inconvenient with 4 adults.

Another issue we had was with the condition of the vehicles. We had several different vehicles over the 4 days and there were numerous problems. One kept stalling continually and we had to push start it. Another had a top that was so low, the men in our group ( one at 6'5", two at 6'2") had to slouch in order not to hit their heads on the bars when we went over bumps. We finally told our driver we needed to have one of the vehicles with a higher top.

The highlights of Okuti were seeing a pack of wild painted dogs, several leopards, a monitor lizard and a pride of lions. Again though, the experience in the public preserve was just not the same. At one point we were even all uncomfortable as it felt as though we were all cornering and corralling a leopard instead of observing it. There were too many vehicles (6 at one point) all trying to get a look and jockeying around for position. Our guide, Nando, did a good job with the circumstances being what they were.

We really enjoyed our final evening which included an amazing singing and dancing performance by the choir and a very special celebratory dinner under the stars for just the 6 of us." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Average
Mr & Mrs B
N Hants

"Okuti review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2013
"robin and mona were the best hosts of the holiday, they gave the extra 10%. they always met you on your return from an activity to ensure you had had a good time. fabulous location beside the water and a beautiful chalet. food was excellent. solly the guide was excellent and made the stay complete. could not have asked for more. our favourite stay of the holiday." See all these reviews: 20n in Namibia; 6n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
RP
Guildford

"Our four days at Okuti"

4 nights Arrived 10 Aug 2012
"Okuti was efficiently run but also relaxed. The service was first class but also managed to be relaxed; the staff had a good attitude and were always prepared to put themselves out if necessary. The food was very good - ample variety and served well. The accommodation was of spacious design and comfortable. It was inclined to get a little hot in the afternoons (in August), leaving us to wonder what it would be like in summer. The two of us stayed in a family unit which gave us an enormous amount of space. There was reliable hot and cold water 24 hours a day.

The highlight of our stay here were the game drives and, in particular, our guide. Not only was he an expert tracker, but he knew all the animals and birds, even obscure ones, and was thoroughly knowledgeable about the ecology and environment. We had arranged in advance a dedicated guide for our last two days here but, in the event, we had him to ourselves for the full four days. This made an enormous difference to our game viewing experience. There were some mornings when, for health reasons, we were unable to start out first thing. But our guide could not have been more helpful or accommodating. He was there when we were ready to go, on one morning as late as 9 o'clock." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs W & W
Cornwall

"Okuti review"

3 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2012
"The "tents" are delightful and I loved the outside shower (only in the afternoon as too chilly at other times). The camp is well run and the staff are friendly and sociable. The dining tent is very pleasant and we enjoyed the food.

Our only slight difficulty was that our guide was rather too earnest and lacked a sense of humour. We also found it hard at times to understand his english. The first evening we were "told" to sit with him and the family who were our companions on the drive. At other camps we simply sat down where we chose and the various members of staff slotted happily into the gaps which lent variety to the conversations.

By this stage of the trip we were desperate for some exercise - a walk, a treadmill, anything rather than sitting! This camp (unlike the others) is fenced which increased the feeling of being confined. One niggle/concern - on the last morning the staff oiled the wooden floors of the "mess" tent and turned the surface into an ice rink. I nearly fell and pointed this out. Nothing was done. Several others slid and slipped and at lunch we had to hold on to the back of the chairs to go to the buffet table. Still no action was taken. Luckily no one actually fell over or was hurt.

Overall we both enjoyed it immensely." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Margo
California

"Beautiful camp on the Delta"

3 nights Arrived 22 Jun 2012
"We very much enjoyed our stay at Okuti, although it was my least favorite of the three camps we visited in Botswana. This had nothing to do with the staff or service, but rather the location within the national park. Because of being inside the park, they operate under different rules than the other two camps we visited--i.e. no driving off road, which means you can't get as close to the animals, no night drives, and many more vehicles in the park since it's open to everyone, including people doing their own camping or driving in for the day.

That said, the staff was outstanding--it's a small camp, and very friendly. The food was excellent, served family style at dinner, with the guides and management joining the guests at the dinner table. One of the days we had a day-long game drive in which we were gone for 9 hours and went way out in the park, where we felt much more like we were in a private reserve. That day we saw a huge pod of 45 hippos and had a picnic lunch just outside where they were swimming.

We had an excellent guide, Nando, and enjoyed water activities as well as the game drives. The rooms were beautifully decorated and felt very luxurious. Ker & Downey sees to your every need, including having drinks and snacks in the room." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Cambridge

"Superb safaries and camp at Okuti"

3 nights Arrived 30 Jul 2011
"Absolutely wonderful, faultless in every respect. Would go back tomorrow, a fantastic experience." See all these reviews: 9n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-17 of 17
94%
17 reviews of Okuti by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
14
1
2
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Moremi Game Reserve

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Botswana Private Mobile Safari

Private Mobile

The Botswana Private Mobile Safari has no fixed location; it's exclusive to your group and comes with a top professional guide. Expect comfortable camping, great food, and a superb wildlife experience wherever you decide to go.


100% (38 reviews)
Xigera Safari Lodge

Xigera Safari Lodge

Located deep in Botswana's Okavango Delta, Xigera Camp normally focuses on mokoro excursions and motorboat trips, with 4WD game drives when water levels permit.


98% (35 reviews)
Xakanaxa

Xakanaxa

Xakanaxa Camp is a well-established traditional camp beside a huge lagoon within the Moremi Game Reserve, with access to some superb game viewing.


89% (33 reviews)
Khwai Tented Camp

Khwai Tented Camp

Khwai Tented Cap offers a traditional African safari experience, in very comfortable tented accommodation, in a fantastic game area north of the Moremi Game Reserve.


95% (32 reviews)
Machaba Camp

Machaba Camp

Overlooking the Khwai River to Moremi Game Reserve beyond, the classic Machaba Camp combines comfort with excellent game viewing.


91% (30 reviews)
Sable Alley

Sable Alley

Smart, independent and well-run, Sable Alley overlooks a beautiful, hippo-filled lagoon within the diverse Khwai Private Reserve.


95% (22 reviews)
Mombo Camp

Mombo Camp

Mombo is one of Botswana's most exclusive safari camps, set in a beautiful, remote location within the Moremi Game Reserve and with exceptional game densities.


100% (9 reviews)
Chief's Camp

Chief's Camp

Chief's Camp is situated on Chief's Island, within the Okavango Delta's Moremi Game Reserve. Experience one of Botswana's top game-viewing areas by 4WD and mokoro.


93% (8 reviews)
Little Mombo

Little Mombo

One of Botswana's top safari camps, Little Mombo stands on the north side of Chief's Island, in the heart of the Okavango Delta's Moremi Game Reserve.


97% (6 reviews)
Camp Moremi

Camp Moremi

Camp Moremi lies within the Moremi Game Reserve, in one of the best locations for game viewing in Botswana.


100% (5 reviews)
Hyena Pan

Hyena Pan

Fairly rustic, and relatively inexpensive, Hyena Pan overlooks a natural waterhole that attracts an almost constant parade of animals.


88% (5 reviews)
Little Machaba

Little Machaba

Overlooking the Khwai River and Moremi Game Reserve beyond, Little Machaba is a classically designed camp with very comfortable tents in a great game-viewing area.


80% (5 reviews)
Skybeds

Skybeds

Situated in a private reserve close to Moremi Game Reserve, Skybeds offers a simple yet wonderful opportunity to sleep under the stars and watch wildlife from your bed.


80% (4 reviews)
Sango Safari Camp

Sango Safari Camp

Sango offers comfortable tented accommodation, without some of the frills often found in Botswana's camps, with an area that's scenic and gets excellent, consistent game sightings.


100% (1 review)
Khwai Bush Camp
No reviews yet
Tuludi

Tuludi

Tuludi is a brand new luxury camp, within the Khwai Private Reserve, built on a site under giant leadwood trees and overlooking the Okavango Delta floodplains.


No reviews yet
Khwai River Lodge

Khwai River Lodge

Khwai River Lodge is a luxurious and well-equipped safari camp, on the northern edge of Moremi Game Reserve. This area isn't exclusive, but it is beautiful and has excellent game.


No reviews yet
The Jackal & Hide

The Jackal & Hide

The Jackal & Hide camp is located in the Khwai Private Reserve – which borders the Moremi Game Reserve and Chobe


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa