This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Chris & Ammi from USA

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

3

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

Five Stars for Expert Africa

Botswana and 2 other countries between 18 May 2016 and 30 May 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"It exceeded our expectations for just about everything.

For your adventurist guest, when staying in Victoria falls, take a rafting trip on the Zambezi river and don't forget to do the Gorge swing if you don't have a heart condition! Botswana may be more expensive that other African countries for you Safari, but if you are concerned about the well being of the local people, we have been told that your money actually goes to free health care and education for their people. The Zero tolerance for poaching by the government appears to be working.

Its a very special place and without recommendations from Maruska Adye of Expert Africa, we would have never known what we were missing.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

You need to update the info on laundry. There is no limits on what they wash. Shinde, Okuti and Muchenjie all provided flash lights and had plenty of medical supplies. No need to supplement this when trying to keep baggage to a minimum. Trip itinerary was flawless. All of the connections to and from camps, while "open" went off like clock work.

Thanks Again Maruska!"

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"short stay at airport hotel"

1 night Arrived 18 May 2016
"When we arrived the City Lodge front desk, the receptionist told us that we did not have a reservation. Not a good start. She did not appear to be concerned and told us there were no rooms available.

Some 5-10 minutes later, the reservation was miraculously found... after talking to the manager! Its an ok place to spend a night if your in transit and need to spend a night at the airport.

Staff at the breakfast not very helpful."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Ilala Lodge

Ilala Lodge

"Great Victoria Falls Hotel"

2 nights Arrived 19 May 2016
"We travelled with our 20 year old daughter and booked separate rooms. Great view of Warthogs, Vervet monkeys, and were told of Elephant in the previous days from our balcony in our room.

Breakfast buffet was awesome. Lots of chooses. Staff was helpful, courteous, accommodating and would go back again. Great ambiance in the restaurant. Better than average food.

Ten Minute walk to the falls.+++"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Muchenje Safari Lodge

Muchenje Safari Lodge

"Nice, Intimate Chobe Safari Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 21 May 2016
"The lodge managers, Robert and Joy, were a hoot. Experienced, humorous and helpful answering any issues we had. Muchenje does not have electrified fences, but as it is a mile or so from the Chobe Park, you never know what will be visiting you in camp! Elephant were outside our door and Lions tracks were seen on the property the week prior to our arrival.

Mixed opinions on the guides. Neither Great but not bad. They did keep us out of harms way and showed us lots of elephants, giraffes, cape buffaloes hippos and African Crocs. Lion tracks were abundant but not the cats themselves.

We were not terribly impressed with the buffet offered by the lodge. It was standard fare and nothing to write home about. The location for Chobe was mixed. Its private from other lodges but a bit of a drive daily to the Chobe park for game viewing."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Okuti

Okuti

"Number One in Our Safari Book - Moremi Camp"

3 nights Arrived 23 May 2016
"We can't say enough accolades about the staff, the location, the experience, the "so called" tent with Mahogany flooring at Okuti Camp.

We were greeted upon our arrival with Botswana's greatest chorus, the Okuti staff member singing! It may sound cheesy, but the staff were incredible, heartful host who treated us to their traditional culture singing and dancing two of three nights.

One of our most memorable experiences occurred after spotting two leopard cubs later on our morning game drive. Our guide, Chachos, casually told us it was time to head back to lunch, to our surprise. Lunch turned out to be a white linen table set up out in the bush! Absolutely awesome!

Our last night at camp the staff went above and beyond the call of duty to surprise us with yet another incredible dinner feast, Botswana songs and dances. The game viewing was a special experience.

We were fortunate to see and hear lions and leopards, elephants, etc. If we ever return to Botswana, we would go back to Okuti!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Shinde Camp

Shinde Camp

"Great Safari at Shinde Camp"

3 nights Arrived 26 May 2016
"Game drives were over the top. Lions, Lions and more lions. Leopards. Its fairly open terrain, so spotting the cats was maybe a little easier than in Moremi.

The lodge is well kept and "tents" if you can call them tents not 5 star rooms, very nice. Staff was very attentive and food was good. There is a mixed bag of guides at Shinde Camp, some very experienced and others less seasoned.

Your guide can make your game drive experience. Not making any complaints about the game viewing. Ours was exceptional. What the Shinde camp lacked in cultural experience, was made up for by the abundance of big cat experiences."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
City Lodge OR Tambo

City Lodge OR Tambo

"Transfer Hotel"

1 night Arrived 29 May 2016
"Second time thru City Lodge was uneventful the way it should be."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Average

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team