This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Muchenje Safari Lodge
Muchenje Safari Lodge
Muchenje Safari Lodge
Muchenje Safari Lodge
Muchenje Safari Lodge
Muchenje Safari Lodge

Reviews of Muchenje Safari Lodge

Wildlife sightings and reviews

151 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Muchenje Safari Lodge and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Jun-2018, 18 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Muchenje Safari Lodge.
Lion

76% success

Leopard

53% success

Cheetah

0% success

Wild dog

44% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Buffalo

94% success

Hippo

94% success

Sable antelope

67% success

Wildebeest

53% success

Spotted Hyena

50% success

Roan antelope

41% success

Eland

25% success

Brown Hyena

14% success

Aardvark

6% success

Pangolin

6% success

Sitatunga

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 151
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs Y.
Lisserbroek

"Muchenje Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Oct 2018
"Overall warm feelings for all staff. esp in the lodge itself. Recommend the long day offered starting with a long drive (one hour) on tar road to Chobe to have the boat trip (not comfortable in an open car but worthwhile once you get there) and after that proceed your way back through Chobe NP.

The evening drives in the surrounding of the lodge were a bit disappointing, turning to the main road and via a turn back to the camp.

A tip, the guide /ranger was very young (forgot his name unfortunately) and impulsive. Fast driving over the dirt roads in Chobe, not using the gear in a proper way. Busy with other things like his mobile instead of looking for animals.

Wildlife seen during our stay and mentioned below were at Chobe so not on the premises of Muchenje" See all these reviews: 14n in Botswana; 4n in Namibia; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Average
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Simon&Carmelo
Italy

"Friendly Traditional Safari Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2018
"This was a traditional lodge in a lovely location on an escarpment looking down to Namibia just outside the Chobe park. It was very relaxing and the staff here were lovely and friendly. I think the the rooms could do with some updating but his did not distract from our stay. We did a great day drive in the park which encompassed a river cruise and lunch. This was quite unforgettable. So many elephants buffalo and hippo and on the drive back a lion, a lion and kill a pride of lioness and five cubs as well as zebra,giraffe,baboon and kudu,lechwe etc and so many photos." See all these reviews: 5n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

4 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Lion

4 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Spotted Hyena

1 sighting

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Ms J.
London

"Muchenje Safari Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 28 Sep 2018
"This lodge wasn't as good as the other two.

I thought I had been told it had it's own jetty but this was not the case so we had to travel for an hour in order to have a boat trip on the Chobe River. However, this boat trip was excellent with a tasty lunch and we also had a great game drive on the way back.

But the rooms of the lodge were not up to the standard we expected as we did have a rat in the room which laid its droppings, particularly off putting was one next to my head when I awoke in the morning. We have been on other safaris and this was the first time we had animals in the rooms. When we told the staff they acted surprise but I heard other people complaining about the same issue and actually had it sitting on the cupboard when she returned to the room." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe; 2n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Average
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Poor
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Average
Family A
Scarborough

"Muchenje Safari Lodge review"

3 nights Arrived 18 Sep 2018
"This was one of the great joys of our month long safari.

When you arrive and they put the brakes on and you stop outside the lodge your heart keeps moving forwards over the absolutely stunning view across the Chobe River Valley. Stunning.
The rooms were wonderful with fabulous views over the valley. Our long day, with a boat rip and a 60km game drive was one of the best safari days we have had (15 lions, hundreds of elephants, buffalo, lechwe etc).

Our guide, Ali, was one of the very best we have had and set the standard for the rest of the trip.

Chobe is massive and so intimate encounters with animals are not what it is about but if you want to see dozens of hippos, hundreds and hundreds of elephants and thousands of buffalo in a vista that can take them, this is it.

We generally prefer to go to parks where you can go off road for more close up encounters but that seemed irrelevant here. We would gladly go there again." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia; 9n in Botswana; 3n in Zimbabwe; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Roan antelope

1 sighting

Sable antelope

2 sightings

Wildebeest

3 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr & Mrs LN
London

"Very happy with Muchenje!"

2 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2018
"Muchenje Safari Lodge is situated in a wonderful location high on the hill with a view down to a small waterhole and the river. Our room was large and stunning in every way. All of the amenities were superb. The shower room and the separate bathroom were fantastic. It is a place you could spend a relaxing time in cooler and wetter weather but was also spectacular for the time we were there. The managers, Kitty and Toff and the owner who was there at the time could not have been more welcoming. Their love for the area shines through everything they organise and do.

The interior central area is beautifully organised and decorated with comfortable over-sized furniture. There are many external seating areas and a small pool with a terrace area all overlooking the distant river. The camp is open so wild animals can and do roam through. The dining area is communal seating with your guides and either Kitty or Toff spread throughout the guests. The food is buffet style, tasty and plentiful. The bar is extensive and everything plentiful. The wine with dinner was very nice too.

The trips are organised with military precision which is a little scary at first but then you quickly grow to appreciate it. Our first trip was into the West side of the park. Although wildlife is a little more sparse than on the Kasane side it is not as crowded and there was still lots to see. The evening safari was fun. Again, not a lot of wildlife but elephants at night and wild cats and jackals were found which gave you a different view of the surrounding area.

Our guide was good. He drove most of our trips and the boat too. He was older and very, very knowledgeable but not as forthcoming with chat, smiles and volunteering information as the other guides we saw/had. Everyone is different!

The following day was a long one. We started out with an early morning safari with a different guide who was quite young and enthusiastic who readily shared information which we enjoyed. A walking safari was also offered. We headed back along the long road to Kasane spotting wildlife along the way before joining our boat for a water safari. This was the only time we had cause to complain a little. The boat had folding chairs opened up and put around the outside and a very large folding table in the middle. We all moved our chairs so that we were facing outwards and at an angle but it was cramped. With the number of people we had on it it felt very over-crowded (but still safe) and thankfully, everyone was very considerate of everyone else so that all could get photos. We went down the Botswana channel which was less busy than the main channel. We saw lots of wildlife and had a very enjoyable lunch by the riverbank. The game drive back through the park was good too. We also chose to go on the evening drive which we enjoyed.

The next morning we had been offered a game drive or a walk but chose to stay in camp in our lovely room before our transfer to the airport.

We always felt welcome and well looked after at Muchenje and would gladly return to this lovely lodge!" See all these reviews: 16n in Botswana; 2n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

3 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

2 sightings

Sable antelope

1 sighting

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

6 sightings

New to Africa
London

"Elephants (and others) at Chobe riverfront"

3 nights Arrived 23 Aug 2018
"Very friendly and welcoming Lodge, attentive to children and happy to accommodate guests' requests regarding daily activities where possible. Toff and Kiddy are always present to greet guests and make sure everything is running smoothly. All staff are friendly and attentive.

The guides are always around and happy to share stories with guests over dinner. The view from the Lodge is absolutely stunning, and the arrival at the Lodge with the vehicle overlooking the flood plain is breath taking. The only downside is the drive to the National Park which is about 15-20 minutes on a tar road. Sightings are possible but it can be chilly in the early morning (we were well equipped courtesy of the excellent advice from Expert Africa). For this reason, we think it is probably better to go here before locations where no tar road driving is required, as people could be disappointed with the extra driving (even if it is well worth getting to the Park, don't get me wrong!). The Lodge is also a good intermediate step between the more developed Victoria Falls area and the wilderness of the Okavango Delta.

The Chobe riverfront offers a different landscape compared to the Okavango Delta, well worth visiting due to the abundance of wildlife on the flood plain. Drives are limited to roads in the National Park which make some sightings challenging although guides are very good at trying to provide as good a view as possible. Sy and Ali were particularly helpful and excellent at spotting animals.

The day boat trip on the river is a must, and it gives time to really appreciate elephants including groups of bachelor bulls playing and splashing each other on the river." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

8 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

3 sightings

Sable antelope

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

3 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mr J & Ms J
Devon

"A wonderful end to our trip"

3 nights Arrived 20 Jul 2018
"Our second visit to Muchenje and it was as good as before. The chalets are superb, which wonderful views, very well equipped and comfortable and with all amenities you would expect from a luxury lodge. Water is not drinkable but supplied free in the rooms and at reception. The staff are friendly and helpful and the food and wine excellent. We did a morning walk, and saw a lot of wildlife and at last got some exercise.. The game drives and boat trip, led by KB, were excellent. He was a very good guide and for the first time, we met someone who understood completely the English language and his humour was very dry and cheeky! We hope he is still there when we return. We even saw a leopard on the way back to the lodge one evening, which made us late through the park gate, but he managed to charm the guards and get away without a fine. We also surprisingly saw our first ever wild dogs.
I would highly recommend this lodge, it is in a quiet area just outside the park and on the game drives you meet fewer vehicles." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Roan antelope

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Ms M & Ms SP
Canada

"Muchenje Safari Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 17 Jun 2018
"Great place to stay and we enjoyed the people we met there very much. They matched us up with another couple for our activities so we got to know them quite well. Wow just 4 people on all the game drives. It was great. Loved how many animals we got to see in the Chobe area. Realized how many we had seen in Namibia but not the same quantities. Guide was good and very happy with our experience. Would recommend a 3-night stay here so you have a chance to relax more. We played hookey on the last day just to relax a bit.

One of the managers wished she had known Jeanne was having a problem with her leg because we ended up getting the furthest cabin when she could have given us the closest one. She took it upon herself to contact the other two camps so they would be aware of the knee problem.

I was puzzled by a reference to the benefit of Muchenje being as far west as it was because of early access to the river for our river excursion. We drove all the way back to Kasana to get on the boat and then drove all the way back again to get back to the lodge. We also had quite a drive to get into the reserve every game drive and it felt a bit repetitive after a while.

I wished I had got your request for number of wild life sightings before we left. I didn't even think to pay attention to how many sightings there were." See all these reviews: 8n in Botswana; 4n in South Africa; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Wildebeest

1 sighting

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs R
Daventry

"Muchenje - welcome to Botswana"

2 nights Arrived 8 Jun 2018
"This was my first holiday as a single traveller. Everyone was so welcoming, it felt like coming home. A very comfortable place in all senses, very relaxing.

There was abundant wildlife in Chobe and the guide had good knowledge of mammals and birds. My ambition was to see wild dogs and we found them on the first game drive. What luck!

The boat safari gave a different viewpoint and the picnic lunch served on board was excellent. Able to see large herd of elephant and pod of hippos ashore. Found a huge herd of buffalo in the afternoon.

The vehicle was never crowded, usually only three or four passengers." See all these reviews: 10n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Sable antelope

2 sightings

Wild dog

1 sighting

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs CH
Wimbledon

"Stunning lodge with breathtaking view"

3 nights Arrived 8 May 2018
"Warm welcome from the host and lovely cabin with two bathrooms, two terraces beautifully furnished. The star of the show was the view towards Namibia over the floodplain with water higher than the Chobe river front has experienced for some years.

Great morning, afternoon, night and all day safaris provided with truly first class wildlife sightings. However we visited out of season and found the Chobe river front nonetheless very busy compared to the weeks we have spent in Namibia and were not at all keen about vehicles surrounding wildlife.

Elephants walk through the camp and guards walk you to and from your cabin at night so visiting is not for the faint-hearted." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Showing 11-20 of 151
95%
151 reviews of Muchenje Safari Lodge by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
120
26
5
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Botswana

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Botswana.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Chobe National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Chobe Princesses

Chobe Princesses

The Chobe Princess houseboats offer a memorable way to explore the Chobe and Zambezi Rivers in Namibia's Caprivi. Perfect for a couple or for a group of family or friends.


96% (57 reviews)
Garden Lodge

Garden Lodge

Overlooking the Chobe River, the intimate Garden Lodge is a haven of tranquillity away from the bustle of Kasane.


96% (54 reviews)
Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge

Savute Safari Lodge sits on the banks of the Savuti Channel within Chobe National Park, and offers access to excellent game viewing, especially during the dry season.


94% (34 reviews)
Chobe Under Canvas

Chobe Under Canvas

This is a typical location for Chobe under Canvas, a small, semi-permanent camp in the Chobe Riverfront area that offers good value for money and high standards of care.


100% (20 reviews)
Savute Under Canvas

Savute Under Canvas

A mobile camp with the comforts of a semi-permanent tented camp, Savute Under Canvas offers guided game drives within the Savuti region of Chobe National Park.


96% (18 reviews)
Chobe Safari Lodge

Chobe Safari Lodge

Chobe Safari Lodge is a good value, hotel-style lodge in the heart of Kasane offering game drives, boat cruises and fishing trips.


84% (18 reviews)
Chobe Game Lodge

Chobe Game Lodge

Chobe Game Lodge occupies an enviable riverfront location within Chobe National Park and boasts well-earned 'eco' credentials, as well as an excellent all-female guiding team.


85% (12 reviews)
Chobe Elephant Camp

Chobe Elephant Camp

Located in one of our favorite areas of Chobe National Park, Chobe Elephant Camp is a simple but well-appointed camp with a strong bush feel.


97% (12 reviews)
Zambezi Queen

Zambezi Queen

The Zambezi Queen offers luxurious two- and three-night cruises along the game-rich Chobe River, including game viewing by small boat and 4WD as well as catch-and-release fishing.


96% (9 reviews)
Ngoma Safari Lodge

Ngoma Safari Lodge

With sweeping views across the floodplains of the Chobe River, Ngoma offers superb food and flexible safari activities.


100% (6 reviews)
Chobe Chilwero

Chobe Chilwero

On the periphery of Chobe National Park, Chobe Chilwero offers luxurious surroundings and excellent food, which complement superb game viewing on game drives and boat trips.


100% (2 reviews)
Savute Elephant Lodge

Savute Elephant Lodge

Savute Elephant Lodge is a luxurious camp on the banks of the now flowing Savuti Channel. This is a classic big-game area, although its location within Chobe National Park does limit the activities which are possible here.


100% (1 review)
Elephant Valley Lodge

Elephant Valley Lodge

Elephant Valley Lodge is a lovely camp in a beautiful setting – sit in its hide and watch the wildlife come to drink at the waterhole. Activities focus on boating and drives in Chobe which - although very busy, and a long drive from the lodge – is very rich in wildlife.


80% (1 review)
Camp Kuzuma

Camp Kuzuma

Camp Kuzuma sits in the Kazuma Forest Reserve and is an excellent place to see elephant in particular. Away from the busier riverfront area of Chobe National Park this camp offers a luxurious base form which to explore this less visited region of northern Botswana.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa