This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Onguma The Fort
Onguma The Fort
Onguma The Fort
Onguma The Fort
Onguma The Fort
Onguma The Fort
Onguma The Fort
Onguma The Fort

Reviews of Onguma The Fort

Wildlife sightings and reviews

35 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Onguma The Fort and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Aug-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Onguma The Fort.
Lion

67% success

Leopard

29% success

Cheetah

43% success

Giraffe

100% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Elephant

86% success

Eland

80% success

Black Rhino

50% success

Brown Hyena

50% success

White Rhino

43% success

Roan antelope

33% success

Spotted Hyena

33% success

Sable antelope

20% success

Aardvark

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 35
Duration
Arrival date
I&C
UK

"Onguma The Fort review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Oct 2015
"Excellent location and food. High quality rooms and service." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Maidstone

"Onguma The Fort review"

2 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2014
"Typically excellent private lodge reception and service. A very luxurious, enjoyable and relaxing stay.

Not much game compared to Etosha so best to stay here after you've been saturated with game viewing for a few days to relax and enjoy the beautiful lodge and surroundings." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs R
Hants

"Great stay at The Fort"

3 nights Arrived 19 Sep 2011
"Our second stay The Fort, having previously spent a night there in 2008 on a Wild About Africa trip. This time, we stayed for 3 nights.

Some people find the "moroccan" styling of the Fort and the "mini-Forts" incongruous in Namibia. However it works - providing stylish and cool accommodation in a superb location overlooking Fischers Pan.

We had our own guide with us, who took us into Etosha for several activities. The eastern end of Etosha seems to be more productive that the central area for game viewiing and we had excellent daytime sightings of lions, rhinos and elephants. The heavy rains earlier this year meant that there was still water in the Etosha Pan, which gave the whole area a different perpsective.

We went on the Night Drive and the Sundown Drive on the Onguma Reserve. The former was somewhat cursory, although we did see some bush-babies and a tortoise that apparentl shoudl have been hibernatiing, with the guide (Rector) seemingly being mainly interested in getting to an area where lions had been seen a couple of days earlier. The Sundown Drive also failed to find any of the big Onguma animals but Previous was an engaging and hardworking guide who poured a good G&T!

Meals at The Fort remain absolutely superb and would grace any 5-star city hotel. WE we delighted to find that Chef Immanuel is still there - he is an engaging man who takes great delight is describing the menu to the diners as well as leading the staff in singing after dinner on some evenings. It will be a massive loss to The Fort when Immanuel leaves shortly (apparently he is goig to a Kempinski property - we didn't find out which one, although it is not the neighbouring Mokuti).

The facilities remain excellent at the Fort, although there were some signs of slippages in service:
- on one day, we did not receive any hand towels, and it took 2 requests to staff to get some
- a waiter spilt a glass of beer down my wife's back (by accident!): although the staff were quick to clear the spillage and broken glass and to drive my wife back to our room to change, there was no offer to launder the soaked clothes (although admittedly, given the 2 day laundry service, that might have been difficult to deliver)
- the room book advises against drinking tap water but the only drinking water provided is for purcahse from the mini-bar. I cannot be sure but I recall that water was provided in the rooms on our previous visit.
The mamagers, Bronwen and Josef, were not there during our stay (Newman was in charge), so it is possible that the first two at least were temporary blips.

The Fort at Onguma Plains remains a spectacular and comfortable base from which to explore Etosha. However, given the increased competition at the top end of the market, it needs to avoid complacency. Whoever follows Immanuel as chef has a big act to follow!" See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A & Mrs L
Norfolk

"Fantastic Food"

2 nights Arrived 25 Nov 2010
"This was without doubt the best food and service of the whole trip. The staff hit just that right note between friendliness and professionalism, the management here were obviously top rate.

The chef came to the table at lunch and dinner to personally run through the menu, give you choices and make sure you were happy with each course - and the food was fantastic.

We had a package including activities. The drive on the private reserve was fine but very low key. The main drive takes you into Etosha when what you see is a matter of luck as always - the number of game (rather than the number of species) certainly seemed higher on the eastern side of Etosha than the west.

On the day we left they were closing for refurbishment work and the staff having a holiday but there was never the least suspicion that standards would be allowed to slip right to the moment we left. Highly recommended." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Inverness

"Onguma Plains - The Fort"

1 night Arrived 3 Oct 2009
"Can only be described as stunning, in terms of location, facilities, rooms, friendliness and service. This is a wonderful facility with superb facilities overlooking a waterhole which constantly attracts a wide range of wildlife.

The restaurant and viewing areas have been superbly planned with outstanding views and comfort. The innovative pool and the partly submerged bar tables and seats added to the overall atmosphere. The rooms are no less attractive and provide beautifully and imaginatively planned and furnished accommodation.

The staff were attentive without being intrusive and very competent, friendly and helpful. The food was excellent and the evening meal was memorable not just for the quality of the various courses, but also for the setting and ambience. At the end of the meal, we were treated to an excellent singing performance by the all male staff whose vocal skills would have put many professional choirs to shame.

Overall a wonderful stay in a wonderful place." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Gloucs

"Onguma Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 3 Oct 2009
"In many ways this should have been the highlight of the trip given the location and standards of this lodge. However we were quite surprised to find that the water was heated by gas and we also felt slightly uncomfortable at times with the ostentatious usage of water given the scarcity of this resource in the country.

We would have also prefered to have a little less fuss about getting to a from the rooms by use of golf carts. There was not the same apparent threat as at Ongava. This would have been a great place to sleep out again if they could ahve safety poles and wires on the balconies as at other Doro Nowas.

The staff were celarly highly trained and the food was good, but for us the best bit was the evening songs that we were treated to... fantastic!" See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs AH
York

"Opulent decadence"

1 night Arrived 3 Oct 2009
"The highest standard of accomodation and facilities and seemed very plush and glamorous but at the same time somehow cold and unwelcoming.

As we could not have 2 nights at Etosha Lodge we went here. I preferred the Etosha [Ed: 'Aoba'] Lodge" See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms L & Mr H
USA

"Over the top"

1 night Arrived 3 Oct 2009
"After an initial "wow" reaction, I think everyone in our group was a bit appalled at Onguma Plains Camp (now known as The Fort on Fisher's Pan). It certainly is a beautiful place, but it's just TOO over the top. I give it low marks for environmental friendliness: Too many large decorative pools evaporating water into the atmosphere. And ridiculous to have air conditioners in rooms that are basically open to the atmosphere (though the rooms got very hot once the turndown service closed up the mesh/slat wall that overlooks the pan).

Most ridiculous of all is that they won't even allow you to walk to your room in the daytime, but insist on taking you in a little motorized cart. Supposedly this is to protect you from wildlife, but nowhere else was there this daytime restriction (and Etosha Aoba, 7km down the road, even allows you to walk back to your room unaccompanied at night)." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia; 3n in Botswana
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr H & Ms W
London

"Fantastic Fort Suite"

3 nights Arrived 15 Apr 2009
"Onguma The Fort (formerly Onguma Plains Camp) was our fourth and final lodge of our trip in Namibia. In many ways it was the most luxurious with a flatscreen TV, air conditioning, etc and we just loved the design of the whole Fort and the public spaces which brought Arabic/North African influences to Namibia. This design may not be for everyone, but we definitely loved the colour scheme and overall vibe of the place.

The Fort is close to the Western gates of Etosha National Park so also very conveniently located to get into the park in the morning and is not far from Mokuti airstrip where we landed. It overlooks a watering hole where springbok, kudu, zebras and waterhogs came to drink and which during the dry season probably sees other animals visit it as well.

The service we received from the waiters and management at Onguma was fantastic. We thought Albertus and Erasmus in particular were fantastic and they prepared a very romantic private dinner for us on our last night. Also Karen and Ryan the managers were efficient and helped us out with re-confirming flights etc. They were truly excellent.

The guides we had however, were probably the weakest of our trip. Things didn't start well as there was no one to meet us when we landed at the airstrip (at all other camps we had been met by a guide with cold drinks). Our guide was Nicholas for the game drives in both the Onguma Reserve and Etosha National Park. The sundowner game drive in Onguma was disappointing and not perfectly prepared, e.g. bottle openers not available to open bottles, holes in table cloth, our guide making private calls on his mobile during the game drive etc. In addition, our guide was accompanied on the game drive by an understudy who was learning to become a guide and we were quite surprised when Gerson, the understudy, also helped himself to the beers as part of the game drive while he was still "on duty".

Another area for improvement is the food, which on 2 out of 3 nights was not fantastic, but I think it depends on who is chef in the kitchen as on our final night, with a new chef, the food was markedly better. We also enjoyed the singing from the waiting staff and thought this was one of the highlights of our Onguma trip.

Overall, Onguma does some things really well such as the level of accommodation, fantastic waiters/service in the lodge, but there is room for improvement with the guides and also the food. If visiting the Etosha area again, we may be tempted to try out the Ongava private reserve next time as a couple that visited both Onguma and Ongava reported that the wildlife they saw at Ongava (lions, rhinos etc.) was also more diverse and more easily spotted there than at Onguma." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Average
Facilities:
Excellent
D & S on Honeymoon
UK

"Onguma Plains Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Mar 2009
"It's difficult to express how wonderful this place was. The location is stunning with a view in the distance of Fishers Pan and a wide plain set out below and in front of the rooms and main building. This made for some fantastic sunsets to watch in the evenings, and there was a constant stream of animals to and from the waterhole in front of us. One morning we were woken by the sound of zebras hooves galloping past our window!

Our room enormous and stunningly designed in a north african style with a huge terrace which had an outdoor shower and bath. Two walls of the room were canvas and rolled up to open up the room to the terrace and the plains. The service here was exceptional, and the food was consistantly stunning, from breakfast through to a four course dinner - the chef is brilliant and also very friendly!!

On our second day we returned from our nature drive to find a dinner table for two set up on our terrace with candles lit and champagne on ice...the chef came over to our room to describe the menu to us and we were served a candlelit dinner on our terrace under the stars. The staff even came over to sing to us at the end of our meal! Simply a wonderful honeymoon memory...

The only negative feedback would be that at the entrance gate as we arrived the guard tried to persuade us to give a lift to two people into the reserve. We didn't really have room due to all our luggage and it made us feel a little uncomfortable. Not quite the luxury welcome we had expected!!" See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 35
95%
35 reviews of Onguma The Fort by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
26
9
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (639 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


93% (79 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost is a comfortable, stylish lodge, and a good base from which to explore nearby Etosha National Park on your own or with a guided safari.


93% (55 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (21 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa