This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs L from Brighton

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

7

Excursions taken

0

My Namibia trip June 17

Namibia between 24 Jun 2017 and 8 Jul 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"Amazing! Whilst we have travelled around the world, this was meant to be the trip of a lifetime and it was. It is a holiday we will long remember. We have always wanted to go on safari and see elephants, lions and other wildlife in their natural habitat, but it was also special in terms of the fantastic scenery, friendly people and some of the amazing places we stayed. A great way to mark a special birthday! Thank you."

Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

Wolwedans Dunes Lodge

"Amazing place"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jun 2017
"This was an amazing place to stay in terms of location and helpful friendly staff. Tabitha our guide deserves a special mention for her friendly welcome and trips to see the sunset and tracking animals in the desert. It felt good to stay somewhere where they are doing good work and are part of a community.
My only negative comment was that the hot water system broke and I couldn't have a wash one day!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Disappointing and unwelcoming place"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2017
"I have already passed our comments on, but this was the one dud part of our fantastic holiday.
The staff were surly, rude and unwelcoming from the start. We told the guide that I had a bad back and couldn't do much walking on the excursion to the Dunes, but we were placed with a (very nice) Swiss couple clearly wanted to go hiking up the Dunes. The guide, who was disinterested from the start, told us to wait by the Landrover whilst they went for a short walk. However, we were left alone for nearly two hours without water or anywhere to sit and did not receive any apology from the guide on his return or from the manager at the Lodge.
The room was nice - if a bit too small and the food was okay.
The location was amongst the least photogenic of the places we stayed on our trip."
Poor
Location
Average
Service
Poor
Activities
Poor
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Poor
Strand Hotel

Strand Hotel

"Best massage ever at this hotel!"

2 nights Arrived 29 Jun 2017
"Great buffet breakfast and helpful staff at this well located modern hotel. We enjoyed our stay in Swakopmund and I can highly recommend the very reasonable spa - we both had a massage here, which was a nice treat. Comfy rooms."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"This is a special place which I will remember"

2 nights Arrived 1 Jul 2017
"This is indeed a special place in terms of people, location and room. Very stylish design, comfy rooms, and lovely welcoming staff who sang to us on arrival and departure! The service was helpful but also laid back, perfect! The guide went out of his to ensure that we saw the desert elephants. Staying here was definitely one of the highlights of our trip."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

"Amazing view of wildlife from the dining room"

2 nights Arrived 3 Jul 2017
"Great location right at the gates of Etosha and it was amazing to see wildlife including rhinos from the dining room. The evening drive enabled us to see lions close up.
Great luxurious room with a view of zebras from the bathroom. Really good for wildlife overall.
The welcome was a bit lacklustre - there was an attempt to sell us activities without explaining how much they were or what happened on them. More information would have been helpful.
The food was poor overall - I had an omelette at breakfast which I couldn't eat as the eggs were still raw!"
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

"A beautiful room"

2 nights Arrived 5 Jul 2017
"This was a beautiful and luxurious place to stay with probably the best food on our trip. We had our own private riad with a view of the watering hole. The room was amazing with a fire and large separate bathroom.
There was less wildlife to see here so if visiting again we would probably just dry into Etosha and not do the activities although they were good value."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Average
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Good
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Okonjima Plains Camp review"

1 night Arrived 7 Jul 2017
"We upgraded our room for the last night of our stay and it was worth it - there was a good view of warthogs and other animals from the deck and it had very comfy beds.
We were glad to see cheetahs on the excursion.
A well designed dining room but the service could have been better at breakfast time. We kept having to go and ask the staff for cooked food and hot drinks. They were friendly though."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team