This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Mushara Outpost
Mushara Outpost
Mushara Outpost

Reviews of Mushara Outpost

Wildlife sightings and reviews

54 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mushara Outpost and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mushara Outpost.
Lion

67% success

Leopard

25% success

Cheetah

40% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

86% success

Elephant

71% success

Giraffe

71% success

Zebra

71% success

Eland

50% success

Spotted Hyena

40% success

Black Rhino

25% success

Sable antelope

20% success

Roan antelope

17% success

White Rhino

17% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 54
Duration
Arrival date
Ms M
dublin 22

"beautiful accomadation on lodge"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2016
"This lodge was our favourite in terms of décor and lay out. The main building was very colonial and our chalet was ideal. I particularly liked the open air shower!. We had time to relax here as we stayed for 2 days and we needed the relaxation after all the travelling.

The pool while cold was not so cold as to be uncomfortable. We were treated to Dik Diks and Warthogs grazing on the lawns. There was a real relaxed atmosphere, the camp fire was lit every night and we really enjoyed sitting around it after dinner.

The food was tasty and plentiful and the staff were friendly. We went on a morning drive, which we really enjoyed and our guide made sure we got to experience the wildlife rather than just having photo opportunities without disturbing them.

We'd highly recommend this accommodation." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Colchester

"Garden-like atmosphere"

2 nights Arrived 27 May 2016
"Set out like a private home, we found the rooms a little less private than in the other camps.

A resident family of warthogs and a duiker have the run of the garden. Highlights were the scenery (Etosha pan); 2 cheetahs; 2 kori bustards in flight. Probably our least favourite of all our camps, but that must be seen against the super-excellence of all the others.

We still rate it "excellent"." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Ms O
Vancouver

"Luxurious Mushara"

2 nights Arrived 7 Apr 2016
"The Outpost is gorgeous. The main villa is beautifully decorated and to call the accommodations "tents" seems misleading. It was certainly the chicest tent I've ever seen.

This was toward the end of our trip. We'd been driving rough gravel roads and rushing from activity to activity for almost two weeks. Mushara was an oasis of calm and relaxation. We went into Etosha with a guide in the morning and saw some interesting animals (large herds of giraffe - some sparring, cheetahs, hyena, and a black rhino). Came back to the Outpost intending to have lunch and a break and head back out. Instead we just relaxed into a lazy afternoon.

We were the only guests, which could have been awkward. However, the service was nicely balanced between attentive and discrete. The lack of other guests highlighted the oasis feeling." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms J & Mr J
Reading

"our luxury stop!"

1 night Arrived 1 Nov 2015
"We enjoyed the luxury and relaxation of Mushara after 3 days in Etosha. It was a lovely place. But it was an up-market hotel and lacked the local spirit and generosity we experienced in the lodges - I didn't have the feeling that there was much commitment to promoting Namibia. Food was good but portions, especially at breakfast, felt carefully cost controlled. Staff very nice and friendly but there wasn't the joie de vivre and community spirit that we experienced at Doro !Nawas or Kualala.

The word conservation was not in any of the Mushara literature we read and, despite not having much rain for 5 years, the hose pipes were left on for several hour, flooding the grass and paths. It felt like the white owned cattle farm had been transformed into a hotel where profit was the main motivation. But having said that we thoroughly enjoyed the night there and facilities." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr D & Ms P
Dursley

"Mushara Outpost review"

1 night Arrived 1 Nov 2015
"Great luxury to be pampered a bit after being in more basic accommodation.

Great food and very attentive staff. Would love to have stayed a couple of extra days.

Great for birds." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 4n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs H
Derbyshire

"Mushara Outpost review"

2 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2015
"Pretentious and posh. Lovely buildings, tents and pool but location is very poor. In a drab, dry river bed with no views and dense shrub all round. Some good but limited birding.

Food was fancy/way too complicated (a starter with 6 different sub-dishes is not our thing). Staff were smart, well trained and efficient as you would expect in such a classy outfit. It was notable that this was the only place in Namibia that got our bill right first time! Too efficient by far.

Access to Van Lindqvist gate is OK.

I'm sure some people would love the 'luxury' but not us." See all these reviews: 19n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Poor

Location:
Poor
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Poor
Facilities:
Good
Ms M & Mr N
Hagley

"Beautiful place - very elegant"

1 night Arrived 21 Sep 2015
"Good location for park - lodge and room was very luxurious" See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr J & Mrs S
Streatha

"Mushara Outpost review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Aug 2015
"One of the most luxurious "tents" we've ever stayed in! Superb facilities and excellent imaginative food.

The guided trips into Etosha were really good as well - we covered in a relatively small part of the park but still managed to find multiple lions, elephant, rhino as well as cheetah." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr M
Rickmansworth

"Mushara Outpost - luxury tented lodge"

2 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2015
"Mushara Outpost consists of a stunning main lodge with double luxury tents in the grounds. To be honest you can hardly describe these as tents at all. They are fantastic hugh ensuite bedrooms that just happen to have canvas walls. They each have an indoor and outdoor shower, minibar, veranda...It is very quiet and relaxing here. They do not take young children.

Dinner is superb and eaten communally. Pre dinner drinks are taken around an outdoor fire.

Mushara is a few kilometers from the Von Lindequist Gate and then 10km on to Namatoni camp. There are are several good watering holes near to Namatoni. We saw lots of animals here." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Horsham

"Mushara Outpost review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Nov 2014
"Great food and attention to detail all round. Small lodge with very friendly staff in lovely setting. Luxurious bed and and bedding.

More formal atmosphere with other guests compared to other lodges we stayed at. 10km outside park but easily accessible on Tarmac road.

Would recommend." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 54
93%
54 reviews of Mushara Outpost by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
42
8
2
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (640 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


93% (79 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (36 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (22 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Onderland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa