This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Mushara Outpost
Mushara Outpost
Mushara Outpost

Reviews of Mushara Outpost

Wildlife sightings and reviews

54 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mushara Outpost and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mushara Outpost.
Lion

67% success

Leopard

25% success

Cheetah

40% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

86% success

Elephant

71% success

Giraffe

71% success

Zebra

71% success

Eland

50% success

Spotted Hyena

40% success

Black Rhino

25% success

Sable antelope

20% success

Roan antelope

17% success

White Rhino

17% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 31-40 of 54
Duration
Arrival date
Ms W & Mr C
Dorset

"Mushara Outpost review"

3 nights Arrived 7 Sep 2014
"A very warm welcome upon arrival. Overall I would say the service was attentive, professional, discrete, but lacked some individualism.

We felt like guest in their house but what a beautiful place it was. The main building was wonderfully decorated with obvious a lot of time and consideration given to the furnishings and decor. The lodge was absolutely spotless with so many little touches. The food was really good and served at exactly the right pace.

The individual rooms reflected the attention in detail in the main building. Because you are on stilts it does get very cold at night . The glass surround shower was unique! We did see quite a few birds and animals from our veranda we guessed they were on their way to the nearby waterhole (not allowed to visit during the evening unfortunately).

Perfect location for Etosha so we were able to get there for opening in the morning come home in the afternoon and return late afternoon til dusk. I would definitely recommend this 'outpost'." See all these reviews: 8n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Devin & Willow
USA

"Mushara Outpost review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Sep 2014
"The Outpost main building is European design and one could imagine Earnest Hemmingway enjoying a sundowner there.

The rooms were very nice, private, and quiet. Meals were delicious." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia; 5n in Botswana; 1n in South Africa
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mrs S
Maldon

"Fantastic"

2 nights Arrived 4 Aug 2014
"We were made to feel very special here and loved the privacy that the accommodation gave us. We especially liked the showers. the hot water bottles in our bed were a nice touch.

We didn't do any activities here and although tempted by the swimming pool we saw mosquito larvae and it wasn't as clean as we might have liked. Otherwise though it was a perfect place to stay and sitting around the fire in the evenings and watching the stars was lovely." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia; 2n in Zambia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr A & Ms J
Hampshire

"Excellent room and food."

2 nights Arrived 2 Nov 2013
"Super, luxury accommodation. Lovely staff. V good food.

Regrettably our guided walk was poor - unable to answer questions re flora and fauna and an uninteresting trail." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Ms WM & Mr DS
Dublin

"Mushara Outpost review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Jul 2013
"The most beautiful accommodation we stayed in during the trip. Rooms are beautiful and main 'house' of the outpost is gorgeous.

Food was fabulous." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms G
Ireland

"Mushara Outpost review"

2 nights Arrived 3 Aug 2012
"a ray of sunshine after our okaukuejo experience.

wonderful warm welcome. standard of accommodation fantastic. staff really friendly and helpful. very close to ethosa which means getting into and out of the park is easy. would highly, highly recommend." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia; 2n in Botswana; 1n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Honeymooners
Brussels

"Mushara Outpost review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jul 2012
"Where to start?
We loved the food (tough to make a choice since the standards were VERY high everywhere we went to but, if I'd have to make a pick, this would be my favorite place to eat from our whole stay).
We really had a good time at the communal table
We loved the style of the place (very tastefully decorated).
Excellent guide and super friendly staff.
We loved the sense of privacy of the place, with the added possibility of taking a drink next to the fireplace: an excellent way to share stories with fellow travellers and/or take in the beautifull Namibian night-sky.
The room was very cozy and the bed was a joy to sleep in.
Wonderful place and can't wait to go back." See all these reviews: 11n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Prof & Mrs S
Scotland

"Mushara Villa - not Outpost"

3 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2011
"We made a mistake booking a tent at Mushara Outpost - it was cramped and uncomfortable with no outlook. We contacted the owner, Marc Pampe, who quickly relocated us to one of the two villas at Mushara Lodge. This was wonderful and worth the extra cost.

Highlight here was an eland coming to drink at "our" garden waterhole. We found the drive from the Lodge to the main park long and uninteresting. Our guide here was a driver rather than a guide compared with other camps.

The ratings relate to the Villa, not to Outpost." See all these reviews: 10n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr&Mrs S
ArniAG

"Mushara Outpost review"

2 nights Arrived 23 Jun 2011
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Mr M & Mrs J
UK

"A little luxury at Etosha"

2 nights Arrived 26 Dec 2010
"This was the disappointment of our trip. The room and lodge were lovely, with fantastic tented accomodation and excellent food, but they were not running any activities and as it had started to rain we couldn't really saty around the pool.

We ended up driving back into Etosha for the day and evening. This let us see more animals and a different part of the park, but it may have been just as well to have stayed at the accomodation that side, inside the park." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Average

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Poor
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Showing 31-40 of 54
93%
54 reviews of Mushara Outpost by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
42
8
2
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (641 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


92% (80 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (36 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (22 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park’s northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa