This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Mushara Outpost
Mushara Outpost
Mushara Outpost

Reviews of Mushara Outpost

Wildlife sightings and reviews

54 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mushara Outpost and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mushara Outpost.
Lion

67% success

Leopard

25% success

Cheetah

40% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

86% success

Elephant

71% success

Giraffe

71% success

Zebra

71% success

Eland

50% success

Spotted Hyena

40% success

Black Rhino

25% success

Sable antelope

20% success

Roan antelope

17% success

White Rhino

17% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 41-50 of 54
Duration
Arrival date
Mr R & Mrs E
UK

"Mushara Outpost review"

2 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2010
"The best experience of the trip. The manager was superb. Everything about this place was excellent plus. We liked the wart hogs and antelopes in the gardens.

One of the drivers changed one of our tyres when we had a puncture." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs C
Woking

"Warthogs on the lawn"

2 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2010
"Quite a different experience to other places we stayed.

Very stylish effect somewhat spolit by the warthog poo all over the lawns - though they clearly made some effort to clear it up you had to be careful when by the pool in bare feet - not quite in keeping with the image they were aiming for. The room was lovely (we were in 7) with a verandah perfect for sitting and watching the wildlife go by.

The staff were delightful and the food different and good." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs B
Winchester

"watch out for the dik dik and warthogs"

1 night Arrived 14 Oct 2010
"We made the mistake of turning up at Mushara Lodge (which comes first along the road from the park). Perhaps this could be pointed out as it was a quite a way along the private road before we reached the lodge.

Nice elegant dinner. Such a shame that breakfast at 6am was served outdoors on the terrace with the temperature about 10-11oC which literally froze me. The tea was already cold by the time it reached the table served in large wide cups - it would have been better to serve teapots. Needless to say I did not hang about. After 7am once the sun was up it might have been ok.
Sometimes hot was on left and sometimes right in Namibia.

Beautiful tent and elegant bathroom area." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mr D & Ms S
UK

"Mushara Outpost review"

2 nights Arrived 12 Oct 2010
"Decor etc is sightly OTT, but nevertheless a super place to stay. Room 8 is really private! Food here was the best we had - excellent. But they are milking the prices! about £9 for 2 G&Ts - it's cheaper in London!!!!

Nice pool - you can actually swim a length!" See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Ceredigion

"Wonderful place"

2 nights Arrived 21 May 2010
"What can we say - excellent staff, great food, lovely accomodation - one to savour!

Especially enjoyed the pool and watching the family of Warthogs on the lawn. The night fire and staff singing were much appreciated. A lovely place to spend our two days chilling out after a very hectic itinerary." See all these reviews: 25n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr A & Ms W
London

"Mushara Outpost review"

2 nights Arrived 5 Jan 2010
"What a stunningly well desined and stylish lodge. This was probably the best of all in terms of accommodation. Staff were friendly and helpful, and the guided tours were good value (better value than Ongava, Camp kipwe and Kulala).

Food here was better than anywhere else." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs AS
York

"Mushara Outpost review"

1 night Arrived 25 Sep 2009
"A true luxury lodge. Efficient & well run." See all these reviews: 16n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr R & Mrs S
UK

"Well located, good food, mosquitos!"

1 night Arrived 15 Sep 2009
"We only stayed here one night, and were bothered by mosquito here (the only place we stayed in Sept in Namibia where this was a problem) which unfortunately has probably influenced our view of what is a very well appointed lodge.

The welcome was friendly, the central building was very nicely designed and furnished and was very comfortbale and relaxed. The lodges however (only eight of them) were the smallest rooms we stayed in on our trip and whilst furnished well the slight lack of space meant you wouldnt spend much time in the room. Its within easy striking distance of the Etosha park, and very easy to find just off the main road.

The dinner we were served was of a good quality - it was chef prepared for us, fresh, and well presented (no choice, the menu is fixed) so we have no complaints here. Breakfast was ok, but we didnt linger over this as we were leaving promptly for the etosha park.

One of the guests had a birthday, so at the end of dinner all the staff inc from the kitchen came out as a surspise and sang for her (and indeed all the guests) which was actually quite moving and was a real highlight of our stay. Advice on animal sightings in Etosha was also freely given, which proved very helpful (do ask!)." See all these reviews: 7n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mr & Mrs P
Belgium

"Luxury, calm and welbeeing"

2 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2009
"A very good place to drive to Etosha east." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Ms G
Aberdeen

"Mushara Outpost review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Apr 2009
"This lodge was outstanding. We were greeted immediately we arrived and given a glass of homemade lemonade whilst the lodge and its services were explained to us. We were shown to our delightful and comfortable tented room - all beautifully appointed. Sundowners around an open air fire and dinner on the deck.

The main building was beautifully decorated and there were lots of interesting books to browse through. The staff were outstanding, friendly, helpful and a pleasure to be with. We enjoyed the hide overlooking a waterhole where we saw kudu, impala, warthog, mongeese and many birds as well as the guided drives to Etosha in the morning and afternoon (the morning one was the best if you were only going to do one).

We could not fault any aspect of our stay at Mushara Outpost and felt it was one of the best places we have stayed anywhere worldwide." See all these reviews: 9n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 41-50 of 54
93%
54 reviews of Mushara Outpost by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
42
8
2
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (641 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


92% (80 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (36 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (22 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Oberland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet
Etosha King Nehale

Etosha King Nehale

A short drive from the national park’s northern entrance, Etosha King Nehale Lodge is an interesting and comfortable base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa