This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs M from Colchester

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

6

Excursions taken

0

Well done Expert Africa!

Namibia between 18 May 2016 and 31 May 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"Two travellers with very different past experiences of safaris, we set off a little nervously. We returned with all our expectations surpassed.

We were so impressed by your understanding of our situation and the care you had taken to meet our wishes. We absolutely fell in love with Namibia and its people who, without exception, were a delight.

The team member, and organiser of our trip, was Martha Young initially. She guided us through the world of Namibia and chose for us a really good itinerary. My comments below relate to her, but subsequent colleagues who dealt with us did so most efficiently, too."

Olive Exclusive

Olive Exclusive

"A haven of peace in the capital"

1 night Arrived 19 May 2016
"Lovely warm welcome. Very comfortable bed. Delicious food.

Very impressed by personal touches, such as decanters of sherry, espresso machine, stone fire, coffee table books."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Mowani Mountain Camp

Mowani Mountain Camp

"Strongly recommended"

2 nights Arrived 20 May 2016
"An amazing location, with all rooms tucked in around the rocky environment.

We had the Mountain Suite which is 3 rooms and totally isolated from the rest of the hotel. Highlights included the outdoor bath and shower, the views, the sun-downer on the top of the rocks, a very well-stocked (free) minibar and exemplary service.

The game drive to find the Desert Elephants was wonderful as we tracked them by spoor and footprints, eventually finding them in a dried river bed. Max, our guide, was brilliant, carefully manoeuvring the vehicle so we got the best positions to watch the elephants.

The perfect start to any safari holiday!"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

"Unique"

3 nights Arrived 22 May 2016
"We were met at the drop-off point and driven the scenic route to the camp. Luxurious tents on stilts and the feeling that we really were in the desert.

Highlights included the singing staff (to greet us on arrival and to wave us off at the end); Kevin the jackal who was neither tame nor wild and wandered around as if he owned the place; the 2 hyenas who came almost too close for comfort after dark; foot trekking to view the desert rhinos was very "real" and we found on both days; the "Scorpion" dinner, under the stars, entertained by singing and dancing staff. This was the hottest time on our trip - it must be almost unbearable in the summer.

There is other game to spot, but not as abundant as later in the trip. This is for rhino afficianados. Probably the most friendly staff we came across - they describe themselves as "family" and all are dedicated to the work of the Save the Rhino Trust."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

"Miss this one at your peril!"

2 nights Arrived 25 May 2016
"All round excellence, even though this was the largest of our lodges.

Rooms 1, 2 and 3 are closest to the water-hole (some rooms had no view at all).

Highlights would include: the best food of the trip (kudu steak quite delicious); water-hole activity (including black and white rhino); the lioness roaring beneath our deck at 4 am!; the camp porcupines; the suckling giraffe (which our guide had never seen before); and generally lots of water-hole activity which can be viewed from the hide, just yards from the pool."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

"Garden-like atmosphere"

2 nights Arrived 27 May 2016
"Set out like a private home, we found the rooms a little less private than in the other camps.

A resident family of warthogs and a duiker have the run of the garden. Highlights were the scenery (Etosha pan); 2 cheetahs; 2 kori bustards in flight. Probably our least favourite of all our camps, but that must be seen against the super-excellence of all the others.

We still rate it "excellent"."
Excellent
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"What a finale!"

2 nights Arrived 29 May 2016
"Everything here was a delight

A huge bedroom and a separate sitting area where we could look out at wild-life. A jar of food thoughtfully provided by the camp allowed us to entice the guinea fowl and warthogs. View from the loo (in chalet 7) was a huge termite mound! A weaver bird nest hangs from the thatch and we have our own little water-hole.

Highlights for us were: the game drives (especially cheetahs and leopards); trekking cheetahs on foot; the enthusiasm of our guide, Mike; the visit to Africat. We fitted in 5 activities while we were her, and every one was special."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team