This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms M from dublin 22

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

An amazing experience

Namibia between 10 Sep 2016 and 25 Sep 2016

Trip rating: Excellent
"This was a fantastic trip- thanks to Meghan and Tom who put it together for us. We are really glad we stayed 2 nights in Okonjima and would recommend this to others. Okuakuejo didn't fit with the feel of the rest of the trip. The draft trip had 2 nights in Okuakuejo and we only stated in Hobatere as there weren't 2 nights available in Okaukuejo - Hobatere was much nicer. It also had the advantage which we didn't appreciate until we got there of allowing us to drive through Etosha from west to east- this was an amazing experience.

Chish McIntyre's book was really useful for advice on tips etc but his best advice was to just drive from waterhole to waterhole through Etosha. We did this and the experience was almost indescribable.

I was worried about the roads and getting petrol along the way. The roads were scary to begin with but once we drove at a reasonable speed and were sensible they were fine. I really got into driving on them and was almost disappointed when we hit tar around Etosha!"

Arranged By Tom Morris


Elegant Guesthouse

Elegant Guesthouse

"Lovely friendly guesthouse"

1 night Arrived 11 Sep 2016
"We were greeted with a friendly welcome and a refreshing drink. This guesthouse was clean, airy and beautifully decorated. It was a great introduction to Namibia. Breakfast was freshly made to order and the muesli was particularly tasty.

Complimentary tea and coffee was available at all times.

This guesthouse was ideal either for a 1st or last night in Windhoek."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Fantastic time at Kulala Desert Lodge"

2 nights Arrived 12 Sep 2016
"we loved this lodge-on arrival staff were waiting for us with damp face cloths and a cool drink, both were very welcome after the long drive. The staff were really friendly, the main lodge area was inviting and comfortable. Our chalet had a fantastic view and was really in fitting with its surroundings.

All meals were lovely and the waiting staff were friendly and efficient. The evenings were really relaxing in the comfortable lounge area.

We went on 2 activities with Richael our fantastic, informative guide. The visit to the dunes and Deadvlei was out of this world and one of the highlights of our visit to Namibia. We also visited Sesiem canyon which I'm glad we did but I was not madly impressed by it.

The provision of purified water in Kulala and the other Wilderness Safari accommodations was great as it allowed us to conserve the bottled water we held for the long drives. I also really liked the palmolive free shampoo, shower gel etc that was provided.

Overall this we had a fantastic experience at Kulala and can easily recommend it to other travellers."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Sam's Giardino

Sam's Giardino

"Ideal for a few days in Swakopmund"

2 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2016
"Sam was very welcoming and was a font of information not just about Swakopmund but also about Namibia in general.

Breakfast was great and the free Wifi after days without was welcome.

We really enjoyed our stay here."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Damaraland Camp

Damaraland Camp

"Simply fantastic"

1 night Arrived 16 Sep 2016
"we loved this camp it was one of our absolute favourites during the trip. We were made to feel so welcome by all the staff. The food was great and we were luck to be able to participate in a traditional evening meal outdoors. This was a real treat.

We had a lovely evening walk with Richardt when we arrived which was ideal after our long drive- the views were breathtaking. The following morning we had a drive to find the desert elephants - Richardt is so knowledgeable and he made sure we got great photos without interfering in the elephants' routine we also had the added bonus of Richardt finding some giraffe.

our only minor comment was that everyone went to bed and the bar etc closed right after dinner. I know most people want to head off to bed early but we were on our holidays and would have liked to lounge around a bit over a drink. this is a minor point though and didn't take away from our stay at all.

This is a really special place."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"fantastic chalets"

1 night Arrived 17 Sep 2016
"We were initially disappointed with Doro Nawas after the friendly welcome we received in the 1st two camps. When we arrived, at about 3pm,there was no one in reception so we went into the bar- the staff reacted as those we had landed from Mars. They didn't know what to do with us and mumbled about our room not being ready.

However, once we got over this the service was great and all the staff were friendly. The chalet was the best of the trip, the outside shower was an experience! and the overall décor was fantastic - not to be missed.

We didn't do any activities at Doro Nawas as we just wanted to relax and that we did. Afternoon tea was lovely with tasty homemade cakes.

The food was really good and the courtyard with the fire and candles was cosy.

Overall we enjoyed our stay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

"Great night drive at Hobatere"

1 night Arrived 18 Sep 2016
"Hobatere was a great location, the staff were really friendly and interacted well with us and service was great. It was great to be able to lounge on the veranda watching the activity around the water holes during the early evening.

Our room was not on par with the previous accommodation, the bathroom was small. However it was clean and well maintained.

The evening meal was really good, my partner had the best steak of the trip here. However the afternoon tea was poor and breakfast didn't have a great selection on offer.

We went on a night drive with Michael and Patrick and really enjoyed it. It was great to see all the night creatures, although how the lads spotted some of the creatures they pointed out to us I don't know!! The drive culminated in finding 3 young lions just outside the lodge grounds - great way to end the drive.

Another great camp and we are really glad we got a chance to stay here"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

"Okaukuejo Camp review"

1 night Arrived 19 Sep 2016
"We felt this camp did not match that of the other accommodation on the trip. When we checked in we were asked for a 500 Namibia dollar deposit in cash which we were not expecting.

The room we had was nice and included a kitchen and fridge. It was clean and well furnished. However there was no safe in the room which surprised us given the security guards patrolling the camp.

The food in the restaurant was ok but on the night we were there the evening meal had red meal (springbok, pork and beef) all of which were tough according to my partner. There was no alternate and I don't eat red meat, this was accommodated everywhere else without a problem. Having said that the breakfast was good.

The shop in the camp was relatively well stocked and took visa so at least we got to stock up on supplies.

We felt the water hole was over rated as we saw much more wild life on our trips across Etosha than we did at the water hole and without the large audience.

On another type of trip this accommodation would have been fine but we were glad to move on from here."
Average
Location
Excellent
Food
Average
Rooms
Good
Facilities
Good
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

"beautiful accomadation on lodge"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2016
"This lodge was our favourite in terms of décor and lay out. The main building was very colonial and our chalet was ideal. I particularly liked the open air shower!. We had time to relax here as we stayed for 2 days and we needed the relaxation after all the travelling.

The pool while cold was not so cold as to be uncomfortable. We were treated to Dik Diks and Warthogs grazing on the lawns. There was a real relaxed atmosphere, the camp fire was lit every night and we really enjoyed sitting around it after dinner.

The food was tasty and plentiful and the staff were friendly. We went on a morning drive, which we really enjoyed and our guide made sure we got to experience the wildlife rather than just having photo opportunities without disturbing them.

We'd highly recommend this accommodation."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okonjima Plains Camp

Okonjima Plains Camp

"Amazing experience"

2 nights Arrived 22 Sep 2016
"We decided to spend 2 nights here instead of the one on the draft programme and we were so glad we did, such an experience! We had heard that the accommodation was of lesser quality to some other locations but we were delighted with ours. We stayed in S7, we had a great view of game rambling around, the room fitted in with the surroundings, was large, the bathroom was particularly well decorated. There was a fridge and staff filled a jug with water for us every day. We even had an owl visit us on the last night.

The staff were all friendly, the food was good particularly the afternoon tea!

We took part in the cheetah and leopard tracking - it was a great privilege to get so close to the cheetah and to learn about the work of Africat in preparing these beautiful animals for release into the wild. Our hunt for leopard illustrated the difficulty Africat have in monitoring these animals. Our guide Mike was informative and very experienced.
I also took the tour of the Africat foundation and got to see Leewa the leopard up close - such a beautiful animal. I really enjoyed the trip with Martin and learned so much about the difficulties caused by the local communities living in close proximity to cheetah and leopard.

Overall an amazing experience not to be missed"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team