This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs H from Fleet

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

8

Excursions taken

2

An exciting trip

Namibia between 19 Aug 2017 and 5 Sep 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"A great trip. Very varied. Friendliness wherever we went. A lot of miles, many on poor roads, the rest on very good (and quiet) paved roads. The standard of lodges was, on the whole, very high. The food was better than expected. Most of the extra activities were good and the country was as dramatic as we hoped. Virtually no mosquitoes at this time of year.

We changed plane at Jo'burg. No biometric checks in transit or any problems with forwarded luggage."

Galton House

Galton House

"Lovely first night stay"

1 night Arrived 19 Aug 2017
"After a long flight it was good to have a convenient first night stop at Galton House, which was easy to find. The room was very light and spacious, just by the pool. The welcome was warm and the breakfast good. The house was comfortable and decorated with a lot of style, including some very good photographs. Plenty of interesting books to look at. Wifi worked well."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Fascinating window into a working farm"

2 nights Arrived 20 Aug 2017
"We really enjoyed the farm drive and the chance to learn about the practical and political issues involved with running a large farm in very challenging conditions. Our visit gave us insights into the difficulties of raising stock in a very arid area. It provided a very good introduction to Namibia.

I also enjoyed the chance to wander by myself over the farm along the suggested trails, looking at birds. We liked the chance to meet interesting people at dinner and enjoyed the food.

The room was simple, the bed very comfortable.

It made a very good stopping off point on our way from Windhoek to Sesriem."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Kulala Desert Lodge

Kulala Desert Lodge

"Very well placed lodge"

2 nights Arrived 22 Aug 2017
"A very warm welcome here and a good-sized comfortable room with a great view. We tried star gazing from a mattress on the roof but the cold drove us inside.

We took the early morning trip to Dead Vlei and Sossusvlei. It is an extraordinary area. Our advantage of closeness to the entrance to the park didn't seem to make any difference as we watched a fleet of vehicles from Sesriem flash past us. It was very busy at Dune 45, Dead Vlei and Sesriem and we felt the trip was too hurried. We would have appreciated more time, particularly at Sossusvlei. But it was the peak period so I suppose it was not surprising."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Organic Square

Organic Square

"Well run guesthouse"

3 nights Arrived 24 Aug 2017
"We found this a good B&B, with very good clean and comfortable room and excellent breakfast. It provided a good base for activities (trip to Sandwich Harbour and Kayaking with Seals). The manager was very helpful in booking dinner in a local restaurant. The wifi was better than in many of the other places in Namibia.

Whilst staying here these travellers also took part in a kayaking with seals excursion in Walvis Bay and a day trip to Sandwich Harbour, here are their comments:

Well organised and thoroughly enjoyable. The seals were very relaxed and no sign that they were putting on a show. Many birds as well to see. Jeanne and Bernd looked after us very well and emailed pictures afterwards.

We were fortunate that the tide was just about right to get into Sandwich Harbour for a short visit. Only a few birds but our guide was very good at pointing them out. We were very pleasantly surprised by the hot lunch provided in the dunes and the dune bashing was fun. A very good day."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Coast and Sandwich Harbour

Coast and Sandwich Harbour

"Fascinating trip "

25 Aug 2017 • All-day excursion

We were fortunate that the tide was just about right to get into Sandwich Harbour for a short visit. Only a few birds but our guide was very good at pointing them out. We were very pleasantly surprised by the hot lunch provided in the dunes and the dune bashing was fun. A very good day.
Excellent
Kayaking with seals

Kayaking with seals

"An interesting encounter"

26 Aug 2017 • Morning excursion

Well organised and thoroughly enjoyable. The seals were very relaxed and no sign that they were putting on a show. Many birds as well to see. Jeanne and Bernd looked after us very well and emailed pictures afterwards.
Excellent
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Aug 2017
"Again a very warm welcome form the staff. The room was very spacious and could have done with a bit more light. The manager was very helpful over our problems with our car. Eating in the bush was fun but it is a challenge to keep the food warm. We met some very interesting people among the other guests. A great private trip looking for desert-adapted elephants - perhaps the best activity of our holiday - thanks to Regie our guide."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Anderssons Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Anderssons Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Aug 2017
"The situation around the waterhole with a hide was very good. The rooms are due to be refurbished and they need it. Communication of activities when we arrived was rather poor and they were on the expensive side. The trip into Etosha was fine, the one in the Ongava reserve involved a great deal of driving but that was so that we could see a rhino and calf. We think the renovation should make quite a difference."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Activities
Average
Rooms
Average
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

"Mushara Outpost review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2017
"This was the best lodge we stayed on our holiday - stylishly furnished, spotlessly clean with a large very well equipped room. A good pool and a hide looking over a small waterhole. It had a very friendly feel and the staff were delightful. We didn't take advantage of any of the activities as we drove ourselves around Etosha."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 4 Sep 2017
"A wonderful location hidden in a canyon. The final approach road is a challenge which you don't need to take. Very welcome small rock pool to cool off in. The room was very comfortable, the bathroom very simple but well designed and practical. The sundowner drive was quite gently - seeing the rock art was a highlight."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Average
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team