This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs W from Winchester

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

1

My Apr 2018 trip

Namibia between 9 Apr 2018 and 29 Apr 2018

Trip rating: Excellent
"Overall a very enjoyable trip. Generally, the accommodation was good to excellent, with the possible exception of Mushara. The car performed well, no punctures! The directions given were easily followed, no need for a Satnav. Driving on gravel roads was not a problem, we generally drove at 60/80 kph.
We found the people of Namibia extremely friendly, we never felt threatened.
In conclusion, we felt the trip was well planned, two-night stays were just right and we would recommend the use of Expert Africa for future trips to that great country.

Thank you, Tom."

Arranged By Tom Morris


Olive Grove

Olive Grove

"Olive Grove review"

1 night Arrived 10 Apr 2018
"Good hotel for first night, clean, comfortable and friendly helpful staff
Delightful meal on their external terrace.
More detailed directions would have been useful, due to unfamiliarity, made a couple of errors in finding it!"
Good
BullsPort Lodge & Farm

BullsPort Lodge & Farm

"Bullsport Guest Farm review"

2 nights Arrived 11 Apr 2018
"Good hosts; Ernst and Joanna
Comfortable, unsophisticated and homely
Nice homemade communal dinners
Good excursion to Quiver Tree gorge
Lovely tea and cake in the afternoon
Helpful with car tyre pressure adjustment."
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 13 Apr 2018
"Luxurious accommodation – liked the outside shower!
Great terrace, with sundowner, looking at ‘The Lion’, carved in the mountain
Nice meals – very tender Springbok steak.
Interesting waterhole – good to watch the family of baboons.
Sundowner trip – good, but expensive for what it was."
Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion

"Hoodia Sossusvlei excursion review"

14 Apr 2018 • All-day excursion

Excursion to Sossuvlei should have been better managed. It was arranged that we arrived at ‘Big Daddy’ in the high heat of the day 11.30 am, which made it too arduous for us to climb – a disappointment. Suggest that the trip is organised such that Big Daddy is visited first and do the other explanatory things on the way back.
Average
Namib Guesthouse

Namib Guesthouse

"Namib Guesthouse review"

2 nights Arrived 15 Apr 2018
"Comfortable, clean and a bit more basic. Compact rooms around a small courtyard
Receptionist was good and helpful when we got to know her.
Organised a good trip to Sandwich Bay, flamingos and dunes from Walvis Bay
Two excellent suppers at the Jetty 105 and the tug restaurants – Jetty 105 edged it!
No need to stay in Swakopmund for more than two nights."
Average
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

2 nights Arrived 17 Apr 2018
"Formidable looking exterior, perched on hill, but nice pleasant internal spaces.
Very rocky entrance track.
Welcomed with a staff sing song – a bit embarrassing!
Nice spacious chalet with comfortable bed and terrace looking West.
Enjoyed the outside shower.
Good trip to rock art at Twyfelfontein
Nice external terraces with long views and nice to have breakfast outside.
Excellent final communal BBQ out in the bush."
Good
Etendeka Mountain Camp

Etendeka Mountain Camp

"Etendeka Mountain Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 19 Apr 2018
"Extremely rough 18km (1 hour 20 minutes) drive from car drop off point – but quite good fun.
Basic tent, 2 beds, 2 tables, but comfortable
Outside toilet and bucket shower, fun to throw bucket of water over shower occupant to rinse off!
Nice communal dinners – food basic and cooked over wood fires; good to talk to other guests.
Good excursions and good guide (Boas)- well organised and interesting guided walks.
Good to sit round a camp fire with sundowners and after dinner with one of Dennis’ brandies.
Great stargazing with Dennis, informative, particularly with his use of the telescopes. First time we’d seen the four large moons of Jupiter.
Really felt that you were in the remote wilderness, single point of habitation in a huge area, but good Wi-Fi!"
Excellent
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

"Safarihoek Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Apr 2018
"Extremely luxurious – especially when contrasted with Etendeka.
Superb accommodation – two showers – large bed
Nice to dine in comfort in the evening on the external terrace, overlooking floodlit waterhole
Good excursions, Michael a good guide – saw early morning lions and our first rhinos in the wild.
Very friendly and helpful staff – nothing too much trouble.
Great to have wood fire cooked breakfast out in the bush.
Large game reserve and saw many large herds of antelopes, plus lots of other fauna.
Probably "The Tops” of all our accommodation"
Excellent
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

"Mushara Outpost review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Apr 2018
"Good lodge facilities, pleasant to eat and sit in
Nice spacious chalet accommodation
Game drive a bit disappointing – following crowds of vehicles in Etosha, although good to see a Caracal, but disappointed not to see any elephants, either here or on the whole trip (NB earlier heavy rains had caused animals to move North and no need to visit waterholes)
Final meal was a BBQ, which was not the best! Chewy chicken and bony Kudu – probably the worst meal of our trip
We felt Mushara was ‘penny pinching’, everything was an extra, even a small bottle of water. This affected our decision not to go on the final afternoon game drive and missed seeing a herd of 22 elephants!
Mean breakfasts, they split a rasher of bacon in half – reinforced the ‘penny pinching’
Our least favourite place."
Average
Erongo Wilderness Lodge

Erongo Wilderness Lodge

"Erongo Wilderness Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 26 Apr 2018
"Rocky steep entrance road, left the Duster at the bottom.
Dispersed chalets across a large site, we are in the furthest away, 200-yard walk upwards in the heat.
Accommodation was fine, bed a bit small and no A/C
Nice external dining terrace with good views, but an arduous climb up to it.
Nice suppers in the balmy evening
Good excursions, Herman a good guide, the morning walk before breakfast was superb, watching the sun rise and illuminating the surrounding hills and mountains in a beautiful low-level light.
A hard climb for our sundowner walk, steep and rocky, but rewarded with fantastic views and good sunset over the Brandberg Mountains."
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team