This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Jules & Geoff from NZ

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

1

Lodges stayed in

9

Excursions taken

0

My Jun 2017 trip

Namibia between 18 Jun 2017 and 3 Jul 2017

Trip rating: Excellent
"Expert Africa certainly raised the bar for others to follow. Our experience from start to finish has been completely excellent.

The personal knowledge in discussing schedules, planning where to go and where to stay were absolutely exceptional. Every last detail was considered and given our interests and budget,suggestions of what might work well were greatly appreciated. Everything felt as though it was personal attention to detail ( even down to the road map with our route clearly marked on it). Loved that we got a guide book written by one of the expert africa team!

Really exceptional - will recommend you to everyone i know who is considering Africa. Thanks so much.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

You were EXCEPTIONAL. Thanks so much for putting together a great trip for us."

Arranged By Maruska Adye-Rowe


Hilltop Guesthouse

Hilltop Guesthouse

"Hilltop Guesthouse review"

1 night Arrived 18 Jun 2017
"This was nice comfortable guest house.

The staff were very nice and the owner gave us some helpful information but was not around at check in and we felt that it would have been nice that the owner greeted us. I believe the owner lived offsite and this felt like it was the case. Breakfast served on the deck was very pleasant. Location was in a nice area of Windhoek but required a car.

All in all a fair place to spend our first night."
Average
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Hoodia Desert Lodge

Hoodia Desert Lodge

"Hoodia Desert Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 19 Jun 2017
"Hoodia was WONDERFUL. The owner and all the staff were fabulous and committed to making our stay as comfortable as possible.

The rooms and lodge were very comfortable and the views were stunning.The day trip into sossusvlei with the guide was WELL worth it - despite having our own transport we elected to take this trip with the guide and were not disappointed: very informative and very well put together package including a delightful lunch under a shady tree with a view (Plus oryx keeping a close eye on us!)

I would highly recommend staying at Hoodia."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Desert Breeze Lodge

Desert Breeze Lodge

"Desert Breeze Lodge review"

2 nights Arrived 21 Jun 2017
"Desert breeze was a way out of swakopmund but none the worse for that. The views from the rooms are sensational ( if the mist doesnt roll in!).

The wifi wasn't working when we were there which was pretty inconvenient ( sorry to say!) but the rooms were lovely, the breakfasts good and the service very good.

Recommended."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Doro Nawas

Doro Nawas

"Doro Nawas review"

1 night Arrived 23 Jun 2017
"Doro Nawas was a lovely stay - the views from the main building are simply sensational.

Personally i didn't like the fortress like look of the main building and felt some of the furnishings in the main building to be a little jaded. BUT, the rooms were lovely ( sleeping out under the stars was so beautiful) and the evening bush dinner was really beautifully thought out.

The staff were generally absolutely excellent - especially our guide for the elephant tracking. The star watching ( which i was looking forward to ) was more miss than hit i am afraid - disappointing because the stars were amazing and it was a great opportunity to learn. Love the Damaran language and the use of it by the staff when appropriate.

All in all a very nice stay."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Average
Desert Rhino Camp

Desert Rhino Camp

"Desert Rhino Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 24 Jun 2017
"Given the location , the difficulties of the terrain and the objective of the camp this was a great experience. I have a few provisos though.

We had booked 2 nights only there. It is a long journey to get there by car so i would highly recommend flying in. For us, we drove in and then found out that the allocated concession in which we were tracking rhinos the following day was the furthest from the lodge and would mean a lot of driving again. This meant we had 3 huge days driving or driving /tracking and, for us, this kind of took the edge of the whole excitement.

The other point (that we didn't realise before booking) was that we would only be tracking one rhino per day and once/if that rhino had been found then we would not specifically track any others. I would have liked to have known this prior to booking.

The facilities (for where they are) and the dedication of the staff are exceptional. If we visited again, we would fly in and spend probably 3 or 4 nights minimum to allow some down time to enjoy the camp more."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Anderssons Camp, Namibia (this camp has since closed)

"Anderssons Camp review"

1 night Arrived 26 Jun 2017
"Anderssons camp is a due an overhaul later in the year and this would definitely improve the lodge BUT, given this, it was still a great stay.

The rooms are more basic than many of the others but quirky and fun.and the waterhole and hide are absolutely excellent viewing.

Recommended."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Average
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Average
Food
Average
Mushara Outpost

Mushara Outpost

"Mushara Outpost review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2017
"What a beautiful spot. We loved Mushara Outpost.

The lodge and facilities are really beautiful, very relaxing and spacious. Location within 10kms of the Etosha gate so very convenient.

Great rooms, excellent food and lovely staff.

Highly recommended for a relaxing stay."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Good
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Okonjima Bush Camp

Okonjima Bush Camp

"Okonjima Bush Camp review"

1 night Arrived 29 Jun 2017
"Exceeded our expectations in every way.

The bush camp itself is comfortable and lovely but the rooms are fabulous - spacious, beautiful and very restful. The staff were absolutely excellent - especially our guide, Previous.

The cats were fabulous to track and spot and we saw some interesting aspects to how to manage these cats in a manner befitting rehabilitation and release. Good ( but not great) food but a sensational opportunity to learn more about the big cats in Namibia.

Highly recommended."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Average
Facilities
Good
Image alt

Naankuse Lodge

"Naankuse Lodge review"

1 night Arrived 30 Jun 2017
"Naankuse was the last night of our trip - in hindsight it should have been the first.

My recommendation would be - if you are arriving in Windhoek in the late morning or early afternoon - then stay here. It would be a great initiation into the wildlife ( especially the cats) of Namibia.

The rooms are super and spacious, the food was good and the location so close to the airport exceptionally convenient.

Recommended."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Average
Activities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Facilities
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team