This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Mushara Outpost
Mushara Outpost
Mushara Outpost

Reviews of Mushara Outpost

Wildlife sightings and reviews

54 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Mushara Outpost and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Sep-2018, 7 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Mushara Outpost.
Lion

67% success

Leopard

25% success

Cheetah

40% success

Oryx

100% success

Wildebeest

86% success

Elephant

71% success

Giraffe

71% success

Zebra

71% success

Eland

50% success

Spotted Hyena

40% success

Black Rhino

25% success

Sable antelope

20% success

Roan antelope

17% success

White Rhino

17% success

Aardvark

0% success

Brown Hyena

0% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 54
Duration
Arrival date
The G's
London

"Delightful"

1 night Arrived 12 Dec 2017
"A delightful place to stay on your way through.

The main building was like a large private home, really well designed and lovely furniture etc.
The pool are was especially nice for some downtime.

Staff were unaware that we were All Inclusive and had to check with their main office as the computer said NO but our voucher said YES." See all these reviews: 18n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Lincs

"Mushara Outpost review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2017
"Mushara Outpost is very conveniently placed for Etosha and we had a brilliant drive through the park from the Andersson Gate to get here. It is a lovely lodge in a garden setting with mongooses and Damara Dikdiks roaming about. The tents are beautiful, the staff friendly and welcoming and there was also a nice swimming pool to cool off in. The food here is wonderful.

We self drove around Etosha while we were here and saw an incredible amount of bird and wild game life; lots of elephants, lions, spotted hyenas eating their prey, magnificent elands and much more. I would recommend self driving around the park. I thought we would be in a queue to catch sight of the game, but frequently we were watching for ages on our own. Some of the roads are bumpy but not impossible and the drive round the Fischer Pan was incredible." See all these reviews: 17n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs H
Fleet

"Mushara Outpost review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2017
"This was the best lodge we stayed on our holiday - stylishly furnished, spotlessly clean with a large very well equipped room. A good pool and a hide looking over a small waterhole. It had a very friendly feel and the staff were delightful. We didn't take advantage of any of the activities as we drove ourselves around Etosha." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs R
Billingshurst

"Tranquil Camp close to park"

2 nights Arrived 28 Jun 2017
"Mushara was absolutely beautiful. The surroundings were quiet and peaceful and the main lodge and tented cabins really stunning. The tent was huge and luxurious - we loved the outdoor shower under the stars!

The service was excellent from all staff who were really welcoming and catered to our every need. The food was fantastic - evening meals in the main lodge with other guests were great and the chef would cook you something special if you didn't like what was on the menu that evening.

The swimming pool area was lovely for relaxing in the morning before a game drive, although we didn't go in the pool (too cold in June). We went on a morning game drive which was really good too - the driver told us where to go back to later that day to see a leaopard - we went there and saw one!!

Mushara outpost was fairly close to Etosha park although there was usually a queue to get in and out as you have to fill in some paperwork at the gate." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Jules & Geoff
NZ

"Mushara Outpost review"

2 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2017
"What a beautiful spot. We loved Mushara Outpost.

The lodge and facilities are really beautiful, very relaxing and spacious. Location within 10kms of the Etosha gate so very convenient.

Great rooms, excellent food and lovely staff.

Highly recommended for a relaxing stay." See all these reviews: 12n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr R & Ms S
BL

"Great lodge at the door of Etosha"

3 nights Arrived 17 May 2017
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr JM & co
Portugal

"Mushara Outpost review"

1 night Arrived 11 May 2017
"An excellent camp to which we were upgraded for one night from the Mushara lodge.

Great food and service, superb accommodation.This place would be hard to beat for a relaxing stay." See all these reviews: 13n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs J
Bristol

"Mushara Outpost review"

2 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2016
"A beautiful camp; the tented chalets are huge with wonderful indoor/outdoor showers, air conditioning and wooden verandas.

There are dik dik and lovely birds everywhere. Food was lovely and we were given some very nice vegetarian options.

Tea and cake in the afternoon was particularly welcome." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr & Mrs SG
Cambridge

"Musher Outpost review"

1 night Arrived 1 Oct 2016
"This was a very comfortable rather luxurious camp but we would have preferred another night in Etosha. This was recommended to us as a bit of luxury after 5 nights at the National Camps, but we liked the Etosha camps, even though they are not so luxurious, and this was an expensive overnight stay.

Again the Namibian staff were very nice, but the camp was a bit 'stuffy' and guests kept to themselves.

The highlight was a baby Oryx which was hiding under our tent platform having been left their by Mum until she could return. It was gone the next day." See all these reviews: 14n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Mr R M
Illinois

"Mushara Outpost review"

2 nights Arrived 29 Sep 2016
"This was the best camp of our trip.

Everything was perfect from the room to the service.

The food is particularly world class and would merit Michelin stars." See all these reviews: 15n in Namibia
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 54
93%
54 reviews of Mushara Outpost by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
42
8
2
2
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Namibia

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Namibia.


Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Etosha National Park

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Okaukuejo Camp

Okaukuejo Camp

Set within Etosha National Park, Okaukuejo Camp is a large, well-equipped restcamp, with a productive floodlit waterhole.


83% (640 reviews)
Halali Camp

Halali Camp

Halali is a large, government-run restcamp in a convenient central location inside Etosha National Park.


79% (319 reviews)
Mushara Bush Camp

Mushara Bush Camp

The family-friendly Mushara Bush Camp offers a beautifully designed lodge, friendly service and a great base from which to explore Etosha National Park.


94% (237 reviews)
Ongava Tented Camp

Ongava Tented Camp

Built around a waterhole Ongava Tented Camp offers good service, delicious food, comfortable rooms, easy access to Etosha and wildlife in camp.


93% (146 reviews)
Ongava Lodge

Ongava Lodge

Ongava is a smart lodge with fantastic views that offers a range of driving and walking safaris on its own reserve, and guided drives in Etosha.


92% (144 reviews)
Dolomite Camp

Dolomite Camp

Opened in 2011, Dolomite Camp allows visitors access to the far west side of Etosha National Park, which was previously off limits to most visitors.


86% (94 reviews)
Mushara Lodge

Mushara Lodge

Not far from the entrance to Etosha, Mushara Lodge offers comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms in a convenient location for exploring the park.


92% (85 reviews)
Namutoni Camp

Namutoni Camp

Centred on an old fort, the government run Namutoni Camp is located just inside Etosha National Park, close to Fisher's Pan.


82% (82 reviews)
Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp

Onguma Tented Camp is a lovely, little tented camp which centres around an attractive waterhole a short drive from the Von Lindequist Gate to eastern Etosha.


93% (79 reviews)
Onguma Bush Camp

Onguma Bush Camp

For great wildlife viewing without breaking the bank, the affordable and understated luxury of Onguma Bush Camp could be perfect.


93% (77 reviews)
Hobatere Lodge

Hobatere Lodge

To the west of Etosha National Park, on the edge of Damaraland, Hobatere Lodge offers good game-viewing on its own reserve.


90% (67 reviews)
Onguma Tree Top Camp

Onguma Tree Top Camp

For a bird’s eye view across African bush, the stilted rooms at Onguma Tree Top are truly special.


97% (42 reviews)
Onguma The Fort

Onguma The Fort

The Fort is the jewel in the crown of the Onguma lodges, and arguably the whole of eastern Etosha.


95% (36 reviews)
Onguma Etosha Aoba

Onguma Etosha Aoba

From its woodland setting on the Onguma Reserve, Etosha Aoba is within easy striking distance of Namibia’s flagship national park.


89% (32 reviews)
Taleni Etosha Village

Taleni Etosha Village

Only 4km from Etosha's southern entrance, Taleni Etosha Village is an affordable base from which to explore the park.


93% (26 reviews)
Etosha Safari Lodge

Etosha Safari Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Safari Lodge is a convenient base from which to explore the park.


84% (24 reviews)
Etosha Safari Camp

Etosha Safari Camp

Funky, low-key and very original, Etosha Safari Camp is well placed for visiting Etosha National Park on a self-drive or guided safari.


87% (23 reviews)
Little Ongava

Little Ongava

The beautifully located and luxurious Little Ongava is a stunning place to stay in order to explore Etosha National Park and the private Ongava Reserve.


97% (23 reviews)
Safarihoek Lodge

Safarihoek Lodge

In the middle of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Safarihoek Lodge offers comfortable accommodation and excellent game-viewing.


95% (22 reviews)
Mokuti Etosha Lodge

Mokuti Etosha Lodge

With 106 rooms, child-friendly Mokuti Etosha Lodge is more like a hotel than a lode. Facilities to include a gym, spa, tennis courts and even a snake park.


92% (10 reviews)
Mountain Lodge

Mountain Lodge

In the heart of the Etosha Heights Reserve, Mountain Lodge offers the chance for game drives and bush walks away from some of the crowds of Etosha.


97% (7 reviews)
Andersson's at Ongava

Andersson's at Ongava

With game drives on both its private reserve and in Etosha, Andersson's at Ongava also offers access to the Ongava Research Centre.


100% (5 reviews)
Etosha Garden Hotel

Etosha Garden Hotel

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at the nearby Etosha Garden Lodge.


60% (4 reviews)
Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm

Vreugde Guest Farm is a delightful owner-run and working sheep farm where you can expect a warm welcome and charming hospitality.


95% (4 reviews)
Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara

Villa Mushara offers luxury in a peaceful and isolated location. It is a good choice for honeymooners & those wishing to indulge themselves.


93% (3 reviews)
Toshari Lodge

Toshari Lodge

Safari in Etosha National Park Namibia, whilst based at Etosha Gateway Lodge.


80% (1 review)
Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp

Onkoshi Camp is owned and run by Namibia Wildlife Resorts. Built on elevated wooden platforms it overlooks Etosha Pan.


No reviews yet
Etosha Oberland Lodge

Etosha Oberland Lodge

A short drive from Etosha National Park's southern entrance, Etosha Onderland Lodge promises a convenient base from which to explore the park.


No reviews yet
Safari House

Safari House

The private Safari House on the Etosha Heights reserve is a great option families or friends travelling together.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa