This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Oyster Bay
Oyster Bay
Oyster Bay

Reviews of Oyster Bay

Wildlife sightings and reviews

54 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Oyster Bay and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Showing 31-40 of 54
Duration
Arrival date
Mrs E
East Sussex

"Oyster Bay review"

2 nights Arrived 20 Sep 2011
"Wonderful Room opposite the tropical palm fringed beach.

Amazing food and communal meals with great company.

Very hospitable and helpful. I wanted to swim on the beach opposite the hotel and they arranged for a Masai to accompany me. I treated him to a drink (non alcoholic) at the local Bar on the beach, so was able to visit the local environs! Followed by a swim in the pleasant hotel pool.!

That evening we went down to The Waterfront and had a sundowner with Sean and his family and visited some local market stalls where I made some purchases which pleased me . The next day i was told how to set about visiting Bongoya Island and Sean lent me snorkelling gear so i was able to enjoy a boat trip, swim and snorkel ,relax, read and paint on a delightful island followed by an exciting boat trip back through big waves!.

Marika and her team, provided wonderful, wonderful food at elegant tables with great conversation. Cannot be faulted." See all these reviews: 13n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms F
C London

"Oyster Bay review"

1 night Arrived 11 Aug 2011
"See earlier comments

[Ed note: See earlier feedback comments by this traveller Ms F from London]" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Ms F
C London

"Wonderful oasis in Dar"

1 night Arrived 3 Aug 2011
"Simply fantastic - great people, rooms and food.

A brilliant stop over on way to safari when 24 hours there brought me down from the stress of work and set me up for the holiday" See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Dr M
Oakham

"last night at Oyster Bay"

1 night Arrived 13 Jun 2011
"If you want a refuge from the hectic city and a place to chill out before the long flight home, then this is definitely the place. The collection to and from the airport is very efficient and stress-free. On arrival we were warmly welcomed by Maretha and a delicious cool drink. She showed us around the house, while our luggage disappeared upstairs.

Our room was number 8 on the top floor (no lift) with a view of the ocean and passing ships. The room was large and very well appointed with an enormous bathroom. We were treated to bubbly before a delicious dinner. This we ate in the company of the owner, Charlie Bailey, who happened to be in town.

Breakfast was delivered promptly to the room at 5.15am, so that we had time to enjoy it before our early morning flight back to London." See all these reviews: 9n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs B
Petersfiel

"Oyster Bay review"

1 night Arrived 28 Feb 2011
"Can't wait for an excuse to return, such a wonderful place and staff" See all these reviews: 17n in Tanzania; 6n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs LB
Alderney

"A great way to spend our last day"

1 night Arrived 31 Jan 2011
"After 8 days in 'camp' it was wonderful to see the sea again - our day room was enormous - food delicious and our hostess very warm and welcoming.

We were escourted to the local shops to do last minute shopping and although we didn't use the pool it did look very inviting. As our flight was at 00.35 it was really good to have a restful day and be able to have a bath/shower before we left for the airport." See all these reviews: 10n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs O
Somerset

"Oyster Bay and another meeting with Charlie"

1 night Arrived 20 Jan 2011
"Stumbling out of the domestic terminal at Dar airport an hour late it was wonderful to be met by Chohan with an air conditioned minibus, cold towels and a cold drink. The drive through rush hour Dar was instructive and reminded us to review our life insurance!

Oyster Bay is another reflection of Charlie Bayley's talent for getting it right. Boutique it may be but it runs like clockwork, service is impeccable and Meretha a fabulous hostess. Sadly our stay was short but just about perfect as a round off to a great holiday." See all these reviews: 12n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Mr K & Ms C
Germany

"Oyster Bay review"

1 night Arrived 13 Oct 2010
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Average
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs M
Bucks

"Oyster Bay review"

1 night Arrived 2 Oct 2010
"Oyster Bay is on a par with the best boutique hotels in the UK - beautiful, spacious rooms, excellent food and a great front of house team.

As a stopover before the flight back to London, there couldn't be a better place." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Danny Jury
Tonbridge

"Oyster Bay review"

1 night Arrived 26 Sep 2010
"As it was the sister hotel of Beho Beho we had very high recommendations which were probably unfair.

Room was lovely and the hotel had a lovely decor. Shame that building work was going on next door but that cannot be helped" See all these reviews: 6n in Tanzania; 5n in Zanzibar
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Showing 31-40 of 54
98%
54 reviews of Oyster Bay by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
49
4
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Tanzania

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Tanzania.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Diving & snorkelling

Diving & snorkelling

Find captivating marine life beneath the waves

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Dar es Salaam

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Southern Sun Dar

Southern Sun

Expert Africa books the Southern Sun in Dar es Salaam as a reliable overnight standby for our travellers passing through the city.


82% (179 reviews)
Serena Hotel Dar

Serena Hotel Dar

The Serena Hotel in Dar in Das es Salaam is one of the city's reliable fixtures - part of a well managed group.


80% (75 reviews)
The Slipway

The Slipway

The Slipway Hotel in Dar es Salaam is located on the waterfront in a small complex with restaurants and shops.


82% (29 reviews)
Hyatt Regency Hotel

Hyatt Regency Hotel

The Hyatt Regency Hotel in Dar es Salaam is situated in the centre of Dar and has the facilities you would expect of a high-quality international hotel


80% (17 reviews)
Sea Cliff Hotel

Sea Cliff Hotel

The Sea Cliff Hotel is a smart international hotel in Dar, offering comfortable accommodation and fine views across the Indian Ocean.


80% (10 reviews)
Four Points by Sheraton Dar es Salaam

Four Points by Sheraton Dar es Salaam

A typical Four Points by Sheraton hotel, this city hotel provides comfort and style in central Dar es Salaam, offering the perks and familiarity of the Marriott brand.


80% (1 review)

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa