This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Offbeat Mara
Offbeat Mara
Offbeat Mara
Offbeat Mara
Offbeat Mara
Offbeat Mara
Offbeat Mara
Offbeat Mara
Offbeat Mara

Reviews of Offbeat Mara

Wildlife sightings and reviews

38 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Offbeat Mara and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Dec-2018, 15 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Offbeat Mara.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

79% success

Cheetah

100% success

Wild dog

31% success

Buffalo

100% success

Eland

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Wildebeest

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

93% success

Striped Hyena

33% success

Aardvark

8% success

Black Rhino

7% success

Pangolin

0% success

Showing 31-38 of 38
Duration
Arrival date
Mr & Mrs H
SC. USA

"Offbeat Mara review"

4 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2014
"So glad to have upgraded tents. Great wild game sightings including the Wildebeest Crossing.

Often heard lions in the distance and zebra grazing outside our porch." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Mrs S
Kansas

"Here we saw The Crossing and the Leopard"

3 nights Arrived 10 Sep 2014
"This tent camp was great. The tents were very well appointed, the food was wonderful as were the hosts and guides.

Here we took a night safari, which I thought was outstanding. We also were lucky enough to see the crossing to the wildebeasts. Amazing. The leopard in the tree was awesome. Our guides were so helpful in making sure we saw these rare amimals. They really went out of their way to see that we had an exceptional experience.

One day as we arrived back at camp, there was a herd of zebras just outside our tents. Friends and family really can't believe that we were that close to the animals." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs Lysiuk
UK

"Honeymoon heaven"

5 nights Arrived 16 Jul 2014
"Offbeat Mara is absolutely incredible. Every single element of the whole experience comes together to make the whole thing totally unforgettable - a truly life changing experience. The camp managers, Kyle and Lara are two of the friendliest, welcoming and fun people that we have ever met. From stories around the campfire to expertly led walking safaris, they covered everything. We were waved off and welcomed back from safari drives, fed amazing food at all times of the day, and never witnessed an empty glass. We can't even begin to do justice to how great Offbeat Mara was and we urge anybody interested in a true Kenyan experience to book here immediately.

The rooms were not only clean and spacious, but also stylish and comfortable. The staff were all so funny and sociable, not to mention educated in all things safari. We asked many questions and received insightful, interesting answers. Lunch and dinner with the rest of the guests (in our experience, this was between 6 - 10 other people) was an absolute joy. We met so many interesting people with such varied lives. Kyle used to be a cook and so the standard of food was incredibly high given the camp's location in the middle of the bush. Everybody would sit around telling stories and sharing experiences. There are also lots of fantastic photography books to look at, further adding to the enjoyment. It's unbelievable to think that you have seen these things in books and films and then minutes later, you're sat in a jeep staring into the eyes of a pride of lions. Breathtaking.

The drivers at Offbeat were simply unbeatable. It's as if they were orchestrating the animals themselves and we were constantly finding ourselves in the right place at the right time. At first we thought this was luck, but then it dawned on us that it was the highly expert driver (David) and his spotter that were working so hard to make sure we had the best possible time. Not only this, but they had a passion for the wildlife that rubbed off on us, teaching us about animal psychology, local whether movements or bush-craft.

We saw the Marsh Pride of Lion with young cubs, 2 Leopards; one on the way from the airport strip to our lodge and one from the hot air balloon, lions mating and 2 river crossings we were very spoilt!" See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs J
Hanwell

"Offbeat Mara"

3 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2013
"Offbeat Mara was quite a contrast to Offbeat Meru, including in the weather. We had one of the old tents which was fine but a little small. Food and guiding were good and we enjoyed the experience. As always, the wildlife in the Mara is everywhere.

However, organisation of the camp was a little weak when we were there. Everything was too relaxed really, so we had to shift our own luggage ( I have no problem doing this but it is kind of annoying when someone says they will bring it: we arrived after a four hour flight, keen for a shower and after ten minutes I just went to fetch the luggage myself). Power for the lights did not get switched on until an hour after dark one night. Showers were forgotten on occasion too and it was hard to find someone to sort these fairly minor issues out.

We enjoyed ourselves and the guiding was good but changing guides each time was odd (although all were good). Despite a lack of organisation on our visit, they were flexible so we did everything we wanted. However, we had a sense of being a little abandoned in comparison to the excellent service and management at Offbeat Meru." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Average
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Average
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Mrs V
Cornwall

"A true safari camp"

3 nights Arrived 16 Oct 2013
"A different experience to its sister camp in Meru but nonetheless excellent. A very relaxed camp which ran well with a variety of options for drives including the day drive into the Maasai Mara National Reserve.

Our guide Josephatt was a charming knowledgeable guide who did his utmost to give us the best possible view of any sighting.

A leopard at last!" See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs S
Wimborne

"Great Safari at Offbeat Mara"

3 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2013
"The camp itself is in a wonderful setting and we were lucky to have one of the new tents which were very comfortable. The manager and staff at the Mara were very friendly and relaxed and nothing was too much trouble.

Each day you decided what you wanted to do ie: full day, half day, night drive etc. The food was very good and the area is abundant with wildlife." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms T
Cambridge, UK

"Lovely tented camp with excellent wildlife"

2 nights Arrived 21 Sep 2013
"I absolutely loved the Offbeat Mara tented camp arrangement, as it feels like there isn't much between you and the wildlife. The welcome was really warm and friendly, and the staff were keen to make the guests feel at home and comfortable. There is a very comfy central sofa area where guests gather before meals and to just socialise over a drink, which I really appreciated as a single visitor.

The food was fantastic, prepared lovingly by the Chef, and a highlight was the regular visit by a melanistic greater galago coming to steal the bread! The accommodation tents were fabulous, with a flushing toilet and warm shower (from a hanging bucket, carefully pre-ordered as you returned, dusty, from safari).

Morning safaris were preceeded by a cup of real coffee steaming outside the tent so you could wake up in luxury. However, the wildlife is what it's all about, and there is so much of it. Offbeat Mara had a pride of lions close by on Lion rock, and I was hugely priviledged to spend a long time watching two females and their cubs playing tag after gorging on a fresh kill. Even though my stay was very short (2 nights) I was able to see a leopard and cheetah every day, not even mentioning the vast herds of game we saw gathering on the banks of the Mara River in the Mara Reserve itself. Outings are in groups, obviously, so your itinerary is somewhat directed by other guests who may be fairly assertive about what they want! However, for me, the trip was utterly fantastic." See all these reviews: 2n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr and Mrs P
Greece

"Offbeat Mara review"

3 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2013
"A small, very nice camp with great view of the plains from our tent - that could be a bit larger. Great and plenty of food and drinks leading to enjoyable late evenings. A spirited camp reflecting the age of its young and very accommodating managers.

There is plenty of wildlife in the rolling plains of the Mara North Conservancy, the camp was literally next to a pride of lions. Although the migration was yet to start there were a lots of wildebeest, zebras and of course topi. Our award has been the lack to see every single a leopard, one walking just in front of our vehicle. And certainly a mother cheetah with her two youngsters stalking gazelles. The drive to the migration crossing(s) at the Mara river, is a long drive from the Conservancy but worth it. The views and smells of the Mara are special enough to compensate the scarcity of wildlife at places during the long drive.

Walking has been also a great experience, among others in realising the critical balance of co-existence between the Masai and their livestock with wildlife. The grass is definitely very high this time of the year, temperatures are cool to cold during the early and evening hours, but quite hot during the day. Most important is that in the Conservancy during this time you are sparred from the masses that come about in the Reserve the coming weeks.

We did enjoy this camp and we certainly recommend for a visit to the greater Mara." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Showing 31-38 of 38
98%
38 reviews of Offbeat Mara by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
35
2
1
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Maasai Mara Conservancies

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp

Kicheche Bush Camp is a smart and intimate tented camp with a relaxed atmosphere and the perfect base in the Mara for keen photographers.


100% (58 reviews)
Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara Camp has just eight tents and a rustic and comfortable feel. It is set by a stream in a pretty area of the Mara ecosystem's Mara North Conservancy.


99% (56 reviews)
Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp is one of the most luxurious of the handful of camps in the Naboisho Conservancy. It offers day and night game drives, game walks and full creature comforts in the bush.


98% (42 reviews)
Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley is a boutique tented camp in a wooded district of the Mara ecosystem's Naboisho Conservancy, with plenty of wildlife in the area.


98% (35 reviews)
Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains is one of the very best camps in the Mara ecosystem. Located in the Olare Motorogi Conservancy, just outside the Mara reserve, it has access to three wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (13 reviews)
Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara is located in the private Naboisho Conservancy – a game-rich area of the Mara ecosystem – and offers a contemporary take on the traditional, low-impact luxury safari camp.


92% (12 reviews)
Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp is a small 10-tent bush camp, put together in the traditional "campaign" style, and including a large honeymoon/family tent.


98% (11 reviews)
Serian

Serian

Serian is a luxury tented camp on the east bank of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy. It is the sister camp of Ngare Serian, on the west bank.


98% (11 reviews)
Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp is a pioneering, community focused eco-camp, with excellent guides and game viewing, in the predator-rich, Olare Motorogi Conservancy.


83% (8 reviews)
Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp

Ol Kinyei Adventure

Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp is a satelllite of the larger Porini Mara Camp. Both of them are located in the Maasai-owned Ol Kinyei conservancy, the oldest community conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


98% (8 reviews)
Hemingways Ol Seki Mara

Hemingways Ol Seki

Magnificently located tented lodge on a bluff looking south across the Naboisho Conservancy toward the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


94% (7 reviews)
Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View is a community-focused safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy, with a strong emphasis on responsible tourism and a spectacular location.


100% (6 reviews)
Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp is a small, pioneering eco-camp in the first private conservancy in the Mara region, with comfortable accommodation and a range of activities.


96% (5 reviews)
Ngare Serian

Ngare Serian

The luxurious Ngare Serian and its sister camp Serian face each other across the Mara River on the western side of the Mara North Conservancy


96% (5 reviews)
Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild is a rustic and traditional safari camp in the Lemek Conservancy, with just three tents and limited electricity.


96% (5 reviews)
Kicheche Walking Wilderness

Kicheche Fly Camp

Kicheche Walking Wilderness Fly Camp is a temporaray dome tent camp set up for participants in Kicheche's two-day walking safari between Kicheche Valley and Kicheche Bush Camp.


92% (5 reviews)
Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottar's 1920s Camp is a classic, luxury tented camp with a 1920s safari theme, located in its own conservancy on the southeast border of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


92% (5 reviews)
Basecamp Leopard Hill

Basecamp Leopard Hill

With six beautiful tents, Basecamp Leopard Hill is a smart safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


100% (4 reviews)
Offbeat Ndoto

Offbeat Ndoto

Small and intimate, Offbeat Mara is set in a valley above the (often dry) Olare Orok River within the Mara North Conservancy.


100% (4 reviews)
Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp sits on a meander of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy, just beyond the northern boundary of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


90% (4 reviews)
Leleshwa

Leleshwa

Leleshwa was a delightful, boutique safari camp on the picturesque banks of a tributary of the Talek, with an extensive, little visited game area on its doorstep.


90% (2 reviews)
Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara is a luxurious permanent lodge, on the remote northern edge of the Mara North Conservancy, with stunning views, good guiding and very private and comfortable rooms.


80% (1 review)
Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri is a strikingly modern tented camp in the Virgin Limited Edition group, in a remote part of the Mara ecosytem's Olare Motorogi Conservancy. It has lovely views and all the luxuries of a five-star hotel.


100% (1 review)
Mara Nyika

Mara Nyika

Mara Nyika is one of the newer additions to the Naboisho Conservancy and offers a luxurious and exclusive safari.


100% (1 review)
Basecamp Wilderness Camp

Basecamp Wilderness

Basecamp Wilderness Camp is a simple, traditional tented camp, set in a remote valley in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Mara ecoystem.


100% (1 review)
Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops is a luxury safari hotel on a private concession, outside the Maasai Mara National Reserve, with the emphasis on comfort, relaxation and good food and wine.


No reviews yet
Entumoto

Entumoto

Entumoto is a high-end tented camp, with a swimming pool, situated in a very pretty location on the east side of the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


No reviews yet
Cottars Private House

Cottars Private House

Cottar's Private House is one of the few truly luxurious, modern private houses in the Mara ecosystem, spoiling its guests with first-rate staff, a swimming pool and wonderful views.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa