This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Mr & Mrs S from Wimborne

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

4

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

12

Excursions taken

0

My Oct 2015 trip

Kenya between 14 Oct 2015 and 24 Oct 2015

Trip rating: Excellent
"A very enjoyable trip, especially seeing the wild dogs at Laikipia, Offbeat Mara was as good as usual with great guides and hosts, walking safari is a great asset to the camp."

Arranged By Richard Trillo


Sosian

Sosian

"Sosian lodge"

4 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2015
"Wonderful location with stunning scenery. Hospitality from Simon, Rosie and daisy was excellent.

Enjoyed breakfast in the bush with freshly cooked breakfast to order, an evening meal by the river and a special dinner for two near the swimming pool.

Managed to track the wild dogs, spent a special time with them just as the sun was going down, a real treat after a long drive and persistence of our wonderful guide makesh.

Lots of activities on offer, you can do as much or as little as you wish. Enjoyed a walk with Simon along the river.

Food was very good, breakfast usually taken at the lodge after a game drive or activity."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara

"Excellent safari at offbeat Mara"

4 nights Arrived 19 Oct 2015
"Enjoyed four nights at offbeat mara, game drives with breakfast in the bush followed by a delicious lunch. Evening drives with sundowners.

Excellent location, great food and hospitality from Kyle and Lara.

Enjoyed a walk with Kyle and Kapeen, very informative and gives a different view of the bush."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

October 2014 trip to Kenya

Kenya between 10 Oct 2014 and 19 Oct 2014

Trip rating: Excellent
"Enjoyed a wonderful holiday in Kenya, the people were all very friendly and accommodating.

Transfers worked extremely well, the camps were as good as expected and enjoyed the small camp experience.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

As usual everything ran very smoothly and all was very good."

Arranged By Richard Trillo


Ole-Sereni

Ole-Sereni

"Convenient for overnight stay"

1 night Arrived 10 Oct 2014
"Convenient hotel for overnight stop prior to early transfer to Wilson Airport.

Check in was quick and trouble free.

Rooms were of a good size, coffee and tea making facilities. staff very friendly and a lovely breakfast overlooking Nairobi national park."
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Offbeat Meru

Offbeat Meru

"Fantastic Safari at Offbeat Meru"

4 nights Arrived 11 Oct 2014
"We had a wonderful welcome at the Airstrip from Dominic and Stanley.

The camp itself is in a beautiful location, the camp manager Craig is a wonderful host, everything ran excellently.

We had a camp fire every night with pre dinner drinks, followed by a lovey meal, the food was excellent. The Askari escorted us to our tents after dinner and we were looked after very well.

The game drives were excellent, our guides Dominic and Stanley gave us a wonderful experience and we saw plenty of game with most days not seeing another vehicle. We enjoyed a picnic breakfast each morning to take advantage of being out early when all of the animals are at their most active.

Our tent had a wonderful view over the small river that passed the camp, the bed was very comfortable with plenty of storage for the clothes and very useful to have the laundry facility plus excellent bucket showers to remove the Meru dust!

After a hot game drive we relaxed by the pool which is a real bonus in the camp as it does get very hot"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara

"Wonderful Safari at Offbeat Mara"

4 nights Arrived 15 Oct 2014
"We had a fantastic time at Offbeat Mara - Game drives were full and exciting with plenty of game. David and Joseph were our guides during our stay and they were fantastic and always happy to stay at animals for as long as we wished.

Enjoyed a night drive, and also had a brilliant walk with Kyle - fantastic experience and felt totally safe at all times. The animals were plentiful with sightings of Lion everyday and Leopard sightings on 2 days! We saw a baby impala born and within 15 minutes of watching it was on its feet.

The food in camp was excellent, as was the service from all of the camp staff, nothing was too much trouble.

The tents are new and very spacious with comfortable beds. We had a fantastic view from the tent, plenty of game directly in front of the tent. Tents spaced out throughout the camp.

Kyle and Lara were wonderful hosts and managed the camp extremely well, dealt with any concerns promptly."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Kenya trip September 2013

Kenya between 30 Sep 2013 and 11 Oct 2013

Trip rating: Excellent
"The trip as a whole was very well organised and everything was as expected. All of the camps and accommodation were excellent and would have no hesitation to recommend them.

The only negative point was that the road trip to the Meru national park took much longer than the 5 hours that was expected. It realistically took us 6 hours plus the time from the gate to the camp, so in total it was roughly 7hours. It was interesting to see Kenyan life but it is a very long drive after an overnight flight. After speaking to the camp manager they have not experienced any problems with the flying option but we understand that it was our choice to take the road option but just wanted to make you aware when advising clients that the journey is very long."

Arranged By Richard Trillo


Offbeat Meru

Offbeat Meru

"Great Safari at Offbeat Meru"

3 nights Arrived 1 Oct 2013
"Camp Managers, Guides and Camp Staff were all excellent, everything was perfect. Excellent food and facilities.

Game drives were very informative and they were flexible to your needs, if you wanted to go out early or late it was not a problem. A dip in the pool was most welcome after a hot game drive."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara

"Great Safari at Offbeat Mara"

3 nights Arrived 4 Oct 2013
"The camp itself is in a wonderful setting and we were lucky to have one of the new tents which were very comfortable. The manager and staff at the Mara were very friendly and relaxed and nothing was too much trouble.

Each day you decided what you wanted to do ie: full day, half day, night drive etc. The food was very good and the area is abundant with wildlife."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Diani Blue

Diani Blue

"Peaceful oasis at Asha Cottage"

4 nights Arrived 7 Oct 2013
"A lovely quiet place to relax after a hectic safari. The whole experience was fantastic. The staff were so professional and friendly.

The beach was beautiful and enjoyed swimming and snorkelling."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent

Excellent trip to Tanzania

Tanzania between 10 Sep 2011 and 21 Sep 2011

Trip rating: Excellent
"We had a fantastic holiday, everything was in the right place at the right time.

The accommodation was exactly what we were looking for and we found the staff at expert africa listened to our requirement and gave us good advice to make it such a memorable holiday

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Everything was efficient and gave us the upmost confidence regarding our trip"

Arranged By Claire Scott


Mdonya Old River Camp

Mdonya Old River Camp

"Great location, guides and camp staff"

3 nights Arrived 11 Sep 2011
"would like to congratulate mdonya on providing an excellent safari experience, every detail was to the highest standard and the camp had a very friendly and welcoming atmosphere"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Good
Facilities
Excellent
Selous Impala Camp

Selous Impala Camp

"Great camp and excellent guides"

3 nights Arrived 14 Sep 2011
"A wonderful location with its combination of land and water activities, very comfortable accommodation with friendly staff"
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Pole Pole

Pole Pole

"Magical place to relax and enjoy tranquility"

3 nights Arrived 17 Sep 2011
"Pole Pole was everything that we wanted, it was relaxing, quiet and interesting. The accommodation was extreemly comfortable and the location of the bungalows was exceptional with views of the bay from the varanda.

The staff were all very attentive without being intrusive and the food exceptional although we found the portions a bit too much at times."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Southern Sun Dar

Southern Sun Dar

"Ideal transfer hotel"

1 night Arrived 20 Sep 2011
"Hotel was comfortable with a good range of facilities and good location for the airport"
Good
Location
Good
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team