This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp

Reviews of Kicheche Bush Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

38 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kicheche Bush Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Feb-2019, 12 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kicheche Bush Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

75% success

Wild dog

11% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

83% success

Wildebeest

83% success

Striped Hyena

22% success

Pangolin

10% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 38
Duration
Arrival date
Steve H
Leeds

"Great stay at Kicheche Bush camp"

3 nights Arrived 29 Jan 2017
"Aki was in charge as relief manager whilst Darron and Emma were in Nairobi. The camp was well run and extremely comfortable. It was busier than the other Kicheche camps I visited but everything was perfect. Patrick was an excellent guide and good companion." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs M
Appledore

"Best camp of my stay"

3 nights Arrived 29 Dec 2016
"Loved Kicheche's remoteness. Darren and Emma and their great staff made our days there very memorable. They organised a dawn balloon safari for me, and we had a very good early morning walking trip. Charles, our guide, was superb, knowledgeable and keen to help us enjoy our game viewing. As it's in one of the concessions, this was less crowded than the Mara itself.

it was interesting having photographers, professional and keen amateurs, in the camp, and to be allowed to look over their shoulders in the evening to watch them processing the days' shots. Tempts me to do a trip with Paul Goldstein and improve my holiday pics. " See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
AB
Essex

"Kicheche Bush Camp never fails to impress"

2 nights Arrived 13 Dec 2016
"I love Kicheche bush camp - fabulous tents, fabulous cooking, fantastic service, 24/7 wi fi in its own tent [spacious and comfortable] and terrific safari experiences" See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr B
Hertfordshire

"A totally different experience"

5 nights Arrived 12 Dec 2016
"This was our first visit to a 'bush' camp and we were aware from the information received it would be different to what we have previously been used to at safari camps/lodges. The tented accommodation is adequate, each positioned well apart from the next so there is no disturbance from the neighbours and just a short walk to the camp lounge/mess area. It's an unfenced camp so there are animals which do wander through, mostly at night, but we did not encounter any.

For us it was an interesting experience but we did miss the usual home comfort facilities ie. hot water and a decent shower. Bucket showers can be arranged at a time to suit the guests but it's a rather crude arrangement and most of the water from our shower head leaked from one side. We also found the lighting to be too subdued especially in the bathroom area; I had to hold a torch so my wife could put in her contact lenses. There is no mains power and lighting is available for certain periods. Guests are woken each morning with tea delivered to you your tent plus a jug of hot water for a minimal wash.

That aside, the food (no bush food served which we appreciated), hospitality, and game viewing was some of the best ever experienced. This camp is situated in a conservancy which has advantages; unlike the Maasai triangle there is relatively fewer people and therefore a lot less vehicles so game viewing is a far better experience. On one game drive we saw, including a group of 3 mothers with their 8 cubs, a total of 25 lions. On another, 5 male leopards in one group - which was most unusual. On another drive, our first kill - a female cheetah bringing down a gazelle. Just so much game!

Much to our surprise the camp has just introduced satellite Wi-Fi so phone and computer facilities available.

All the staff are to be congratulated on their endeavours to ensure guests are so well looked after in every detail." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya; 5n in Zambia; 5n in Malawi
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Ms F
HollandPark

"Kicheche Bush Camp"

3 nights Arrived 29 Nov 2016
"We liked this lodge the best of all because of the area it sits in.

Emma and Darren were so helpful and welcoming. What made this lodge the best of the 3 we stayed in was the excellent location - there are wonderful hills around, which makes for great viewing and marvellous game drives.

Our guide, Charles, was truly excellent and we much enjoyed the Bush Walk with him. This is a quiet area. Even over New Year there were very few other cars and being in a conservancy they have a very strict rule on numbers able to enter the conservancy. So very often you could be alone looking at game." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr N
Corby

"Excellent safari"

4 nights Arrived 8 Oct 2016
"Well looked after, often had exclusive use of vehicle/guide" See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya; 3n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Good
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Good
Dr W & Dr D
Leeds

"Kicheche Bush Camp is the cat's whiskers!"

6 nights Arrived 23 Sep 2016
"Kicheche Bush Camp really is the cat's whiskers.

Darren and Emma are the best camp managers we have ever come across and going back to Kicheche Bush Camp is like visiting old friends. As would be expected in a well-managed camp, all of the staff are friendly, helpful and diligent.

Wildlife viewing is very dependant on the quality of your guide but as all Kicheche guides are silver-badged and know the best angle for viewing and photographing the animals a good experience is assured.

But the stars of the show are the big cats and you will see plenty of their whiskers thanks to the expert guiding. There aren't many places where you can almost guarantee regular and good sitings of leopard and cheetah but this is one of them." See all these reviews: 16n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs G
Michigan

"We hope to return!"

4 nights Arrived 16 Sep 2016
"One of the things that attracted us to Kicheche Bush Camp was reading about how many of their guests are repeat visitors -- they must be doing something right! After spending 4 nights there recently, we would have to agree and we hope that someday we will be able to join the ranks of repeat guests. They just seem to do everything to make a wonderful experience for their guests.

We enjoyed a warm welcome from managers Darren and Emma and their exuberant new puppy Frankie. Their presence in camp, including joining us at meals, made us feel a part of the bush camp family. The camp offers some of the best food we have ever had on our four safaris. It was fresh, varied, and absolutely delicious -- especially the variety of breads that they offered at each meal. They offered an updated take on safari meals, including made-to-order pizza for lunch one day and the Kenyan tradition of Indian curry for Sunday supper.

Our wonderful guide Nelson consistently found amazing things for us to view on our game drives. We watched lots of lions, lion cubs, leopards, cheetah, and hundreds of thousands of wildebeest who were staying in the area because the rains brought ample green grass. He even spotted an aardwolf twice in the daytime, and a caracal (which unfortunately hid in the grass to avoid being photographed.) A special memory was an afternoon drive to a hyena den to watch the young ones play. What an unexpected delight to discover that hyenas can actually be adorable! We chose not to spend a day driving to the Maasai Mara Reserve because the wildlife was so abundant in the conservancy. Nelson was always very skilled at positioning our vehicle for optimal photography, including some amazing sunset opportunities.

The only negative thing that we found was that because of the presence of several other camps in the conservancy, there were times when the game viewing felt a bit crowded. That occurred primarily when finding leopards with their kills, so it was easy to understand why everyone wanted to be there. But we could often find other animals on the hunt with no one else around, so it definitely did not spoil our experience there.

Overall, this is one of the best camps we have ever visited and we recommend it highly.

" See all these reviews: 14n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mrs C
San Francisco

"The hosts at Kicheche Bush Camp are the best!"

3 nights Arrived 4 Sep 2016
"The hosts at Kicheche Bush Camp are the best! They made us feel warm and welcome. Conversation with them were also interesting and educational.

The fire side drinks before dinner is also a great way to connect with other travelers at camp. The camp pays tremendous attention to detail. The hot water bottle they gave us for the morning game drive is an excellent example." See all these reviews: 7n in Tanzania; 3n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs D
San Fran

"Great camp that lived up to all the hype"

3 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2016
"We picked Kicheche Bush b/c we wanted to be in the Olare Orok conservancy, and both the area and the camp were awesome! Things we loved:

- Incredibly action packed game drives. On a single drive, we saw cheetahs, baby hyenas, numerous lions, 2 mating lions, and a lion/wilderbeest kill!
- Great guiding. All silver level. Our guide was very knowledgeable about photography and had great tips for the best shots.
- Beautiful luxurious rooms.
- Truly gourmet food worthy of Michelin stars. Don't know how they do it. If you have time, visit the kitchen and the chef!
- Ability to go for a walk with a great walking guide (Patrick).
- Great jeep mates.
" See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Good
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 38
99%
38 reviews of Kicheche Bush Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
37
1
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Maasai Mara Conservancies

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp is one of the most luxurious of the handful of camps in the Naboisho Conservancy. It offers day and night game drives, game walks and full creature comforts in the bush.


98% (41 reviews)
Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara Camp has just eight tents and a rustic and comfortable feel. It is set by a stream in a pretty area of the Mara ecosystem's Mara North Conservancy.


98% (39 reviews)
Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara is a small traditional camp that appeals to safari traditionalists, located in one of the Maasai Mara’s quiet conservancies.


97% (28 reviews)
Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley is a boutique tented camp in a wooded district of the Mara ecosystem's Naboisho Conservancy, with plenty of wildlife in the area.


96% (18 reviews)
Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara is located in the private Naboisho Conservancy – a game-rich area of the Mara ecosystem – and offers a contemporary take on the traditional, low-impact luxury safari camp.


95% (11 reviews)
Serian

Serian

Serian is a luxury tented camp on the east bank of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy. It is the sister camp of Ngare Serian, on the west bank.


98% (10 reviews)
Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains is one of the very best camps in the Mara ecosystem. Located in the Olare Motorogi Conservancy, just outside the Mara reserve, it has access to three wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (10 reviews)
Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp is a small 10-tent bush camp, put together in the traditional "campaign" style, and including a large honeymoon/family tent.


98% (8 reviews)
Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp is a pioneering, community focused eco-camp, with excellent guides and game viewing, in the predator-rich, Olare Motorogi Conservancy.


83% (8 reviews)
Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp

Ol Kinyei Adventure

Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp is a satelllite of the larger Porini Mara Camp. Both of them are located in the Maasai-owned Ol Kinyei conservancy, the oldest community conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


97% (7 reviews)
Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp is a small, pioneering eco-camp in the first private conservancy in the Mara region, with comfortable accommodation and a range of activities.


96% (5 reviews)
Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottar's 1920s Camp is a classic, luxury tented camp with a 1920s safari theme, located in its own conservancy on the southeast border of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


92% (5 reviews)
Ngare Serian

Ngare Serian

The luxurious Ngare Serian and its sister camp Serian face each other across the Mara River on the western side of the Mara North Conservancy


96% (5 reviews)
Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp sits on a meander of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy, just beyond the northern boundary of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


90% (4 reviews)
Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View is a community-focused safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy, with a strong emphasis on responsible tourism and a spectacular location.


100% (4 reviews)
Hemingways Ol Seki Mara

Hemingways Ol Seki

Magnificently located tented lodge on a bluff looking south across the Naboisho Conservancy toward the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


93% (3 reviews)
Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild is a rustic and traditional safari camp in the Lemek Conservancy, with just three tents and limited electricity.


93% (3 reviews)
Leleshwa

Leleshwa

Leleshwa was a delightful, boutique safari camp on the picturesque banks of a tributary of the Talek, with an extensive, little visited game area on its doorstep.


90% (2 reviews)
Mara Toto

Mara Toto

Mara Toto is a small luxury camp due to open in 2019.


100% (1 review)
Basecamp Wilderness Camp

Basecamp Wilderness

Basecamp Wilderness Camp is a simple, traditional tented camp, set in a remote valley in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Mara ecoystem.


100% (1 review)
Kicheche Walking Wilderness

Kicheche Fly Camp

Kicheche Walking Wilderness Fly Camp is a temporaray dome tent camp set up for participants in Kicheche's two-day walking safari between Kicheche Valley and Kicheche Bush Camp.


100% (1 review)
Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara is a luxurious permanent lodge, on the remote northern edge of the Mara North Conservancy, with stunning views, good guiding and very private and comfortable rooms.


80% (1 review)
Basecamp Leopard Hill

Basecamp Leopard Hill

With six beautiful tents, Basecamp Leopard Hill is a smart safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


100% (1 review)
Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri is a strikingly modern tented camp in the Virgin Limited Edition group, in a remote part of the Mara ecosytem's Olare Motorogi Conservancy. It has lovely views and all the luxuries of a five-star hotel.


100% (1 review)
Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops is a luxury safari hotel on a private concession, outside the Maasai Mara National Reserve, with the emphasis on comfort, relaxation and good food and wine.


No reviews yet
Cottars Private House

Cottars Private House

Cottar's Private House is one of the few truly luxurious, modern private houses in the Mara ecosystem, spoiling its guests with first-rate staff, a swimming pool and wonderful views.


No reviews yet
Entumoto

Entumoto

Entumoto is a high-end tented camp, with a swimming pool, situated in a very pretty location on the east side of the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa