This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp

Reviews of Kicheche Bush Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

98 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kicheche Bush Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Feb-2019, 67 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kicheche Bush Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

89% success

Cheetah

88% success

Wild dog

4% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

98% success

Wildebeest

97% success

Hippo

97% success

Eland

85% success

Striped Hyena

9% success

Black Rhino

4% success

Pangolin

2% success

Aardvark

0% success

Showing 21-30 of 98
Duration
Arrival date
Foxy
Yorkshire, UK

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2023
"Staff and food were excellent. Tents were not as luxurious as Valley Camp which was fine, but it may be worth future groups visiting here first then Valley Camp tents would be step up?" See all these reviews: 15n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mr & Mrs B
Middlesex

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 9 Sep 2023
"Kicheche Bush is a beautiful place which is stylish, comfortable and providing high levels of service alongside superb access to wildlife which is supplemented by skilful and knowledgeable guiding.

It feels intimate and friendly but the attention to detail and the determination to ascertain and meet each client's needs and preferences is very impressive." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Family B
Essex

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

2 nights Arrived 30 Aug 2023
"Another really friendly welcome when we arrived at Bush Camp. All the staff were fantastic. Tobin was a great host making the evening meals a really friendly time.
It's small camp that really is in the middle of the bush and completely unfenced.

Charles our guide was also fantastic who had great knowledge and respect for the wildlife. We saw lions, a leopard and cheetahs on every game drive. One highlight was following two male lions as dusk fell until they roared. That was one of the things I really wanted to hear." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

4 sightings

Eland

2 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

4 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

The Rileys
Cincinnati

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 29 Jul 2023
"Kicheche Bush Camp is a top-notch photography-focused camp. We had such interesting conversations with these well-traveled guests who shared their experiences with us. Dido and Sharon were very attentive. Dido joined us for dinner each evening and made sure that our every need was met. The tents are comfortable and very spacious. The shower is huge! One of the best parts was hearing the lions roar every night and morning. I miss the sounds of the African night.

Our guide was James, who is not only a top-level guide but also an award-winning photographer himself. He knows Olare Motorogi Conservancy so well and can answer any question about the animals, knows the great viewing spots and is just a great person. He made our experience extra special, including our visit to the Masai village. After we saw all of the amazing birds in Laikipia and Valley Camps, James made a special effort to find new birds we hadn't seen or to get us in perfect photo spots for birds doing interesting things. I would never have expected to enjoy watching bee eaters and lilac breasted rollers, while my husband and James snapped away, instead of only watching the big animals. We saw so many animals during our safari, had a luxury experience at Bush Camp, and absolutely can't wait to return!" See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya; 4n in Rwanda
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

4 sightings

Eland

5 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

6 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms A.
USA

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Jul 2023
"I really enjoyed my three-night stay at Kicheche Bush Camp, and the variety and number of animals in the area was outstanding. I liked the location, found the staff friendly and helpful, and encountered one of my favorite guides of the whole trip - Patrick was especially knowledgeable about birds, and did a great job juggling visitors with a variety of interests.

Along with the animals listed in the wildlife survey, I saw excellent birds, baboons, a serval, crocodiles, two kinds of mongoose (banded and dwarf), and a blue headed tree agama.

My tent was spacious and generally comfortable, but suffered in comparison to the brand-new tents at our previous stop, primarily because the floor was very lumpy. I also noticed some insects inside the tent, specifically a few cockroaches and fair number of ants, in the front section facing the little yard. But it was still very nice overall - and I loved the little yard and hammock!

On the grounds, along the paths, I noticed what I thought were some kinds of insect eggs on tall stalks of grass. I take lots of macro photos, and after getting home and looking through my pictures from Bush Camp, it was clear that what looked like eggs were actually clumps made up of thousands of baby ticks.

I was never actually bothered by ticks during my stay, but they can be disease vectors (specifically, for tick bite fever). So, I would suggest removing these for the safety of staff and guests. The easiest approach would be to cut the (relatively few) affected stalks of grass and drop them in a mild pesticide solution. I am glad to provide photos of the ticks if it would be helpful." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Elephant

8 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Lion

5 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

A & B
Corrales

"Kicheche Bush Camp with NJ Wight review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Jul 2023
"Kicheche Bush camp is aptly named, as it is in acacia scrub. Part of the tent is a screened in patio with comfy chairs. There's a hammock and a birdbath in our 'frontyard'. Very good birdwatching from our patio. As at Kicheche Mara, the staff, facilities, and food were amazing. Instead of the sound of elephants outside our tent at night, we heard buffalo.

And once again, our guides were exemplary. Patrick and Charles were able to find wildlife where I saw only scrub or rocks. They were able to tell us about every type of animal we saw, and in the case of some leopards and lions, the specifics of that individual. Patrick has a vivid and creative way of describing some things, which will stay with me always. One was his description of an old Cape buffalo as "a retired brigadier general". The other compared prey animals sensing a predator to townsfolk expecting the Government Inspector (which was a short story he read as young boy). I thought that was perfect. Both Patrick and Charles have a passion for what they do, and that comes through in their interactions with their many guests." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms Janice
Virginia

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Jul 2023
"Excellent experience, I liked the large table for all guests to join/eat at so it engaged people not just in our small group.
food was superb, the staff, service, guides/drivers excellent too. Tent was set up nicely with the screen front room. no shower curtain on the shower was a negative, again a bit more privacy for sharing tents with strangers would be welcome.
Guides/drivers were always happy, extremely knowledgeable and smiling at 6am to start their day." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

1 sighting

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

8 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Mrs J.
USA

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 12 Jul 2023
"Again we loved the hospitality. The staff and guides were attentive, knowledgeable and friendly. Our guides Charles and Patrick were exceptional. Again the food was 5 stars." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs M.
Chesterfield

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 26 Jun 2023
"The camp itself was very nice and the staff were wonderful but again when fish was on the menu we were offered an alternative on one occasion and a further occasion no alternative was offered and on the third occasion when fish was on the menu the alternative given was a vegetarian dish which was very disappointing.

It was noticeable that some so called professional photographers showed little or no regard when positioning their vehicle to other guests who had equal photographic interests. We would like to say that the Kicheche guide/drivers were very respectful of the animals and wildlife but some of the vehicles from other camps, quite frankly were disgraceful in their respect for animals and totally ignored the guide lines for the distance from the animals and indeed on one occasion one vehicle nearly ran over a lion and several times we asked our driver to pull away from sightings because we felt that the excessive amount of vehicles was distressing the animals and indeed we have photos of a cheetah appearing from the bumper of a vehicle because it was the only way it could escape." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Good

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

6 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Lola
Canada

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 26 Feb 2023
"Charles and Patrick were great! The guide tent is in much better shape.

The front end staff are always there when you need them - Kennedy and Abraham were big favourites." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Good
Food:
Good
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Showing 21-30 of 98
100%
98 reviews of Kicheche Bush Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
96
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Maasai Mara Conservancies

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara Camp has just eight tents and a rustic and comfortable feel. It is set by a stream in a pretty area of the Mara ecosystem's Mara North Conservancy.


98% (86 reviews)
Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley is a boutique tented camp in a wooded district of the Mara ecosystem's Naboisho Conservancy, with plenty of wildlife in the area.


99% (61 reviews)
Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp is one of the most luxurious of the handful of camps in the Naboisho Conservancy. It offers day and night game drives, game walks and full creature comforts in the bush.


98% (48 reviews)
Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara is a small traditional camp that appeals to safari traditionalists, located in one of the Maasai Mara’s quiet conservancies.


98% (41 reviews)
Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp is a small 10-tent bush camp, put together in the traditional "campaign" style, and including a large honeymoon/family tent.


99% (17 reviews)
Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara is located in the private Naboisho Conservancy – a game-rich area of the Mara ecosystem – and offers a contemporary take on the traditional, low-impact luxury safari camp.


93% (16 reviews)
Serian

Serian

Serian is a luxury tented camp on the east bank of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy. It is the sister camp of Ngare Serian, on the west bank.


97% (14 reviews)
Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains is one of the very best camps in the Mara ecosystem. Located in the Olare Motorogi Conservancy, just outside the Mara reserve, it has access to three wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (13 reviews)
Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View is a community-focused safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy, with a strong emphasis on responsible tourism and a spectacular location.


96% (10 reviews)
Kicheche Walking Wilderness

Kicheche Fly Camp

Kicheche Walking Wilderness Fly Camp is a temporaray dome tent camp set up for participants in Kicheche's two-day walking safari between Kicheche Valley and Kicheche Bush Camp.


96% (9 reviews)
Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp is a pioneering, community focused eco-camp, with excellent guides and game viewing, in the predator-rich, Olare Motorogi Conservancy.


83% (8 reviews)
Hemingways Ol Seki Mara

Hemingways Ol Seki

Magnificently located tented lodge on a bluff looking south across the Naboisho Conservancy toward the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


95% (8 reviews)
Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp

Ol Kinyei Adventure

Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp is a satelllite of the larger Porini Mara Camp. Both of them are located in the Maasai-owned Ol Kinyei conservancy, the oldest community conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


98% (8 reviews)
Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild is a rustic and traditional safari camp in the Lemek Conservancy, with just three tents and limited electricity.


97% (7 reviews)
Ngare Serian

Ngare Serian

The luxurious Ngare Serian and its sister camp Serian face each other across the Mara River on the western side of the Mara North Conservancy


96% (5 reviews)
Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp is a small, pioneering eco-camp in the first private conservancy in the Mara region, with comfortable accommodation and a range of activities.


96% (5 reviews)
Offbeat Ndoto

Offbeat Ndoto

Small and intimate, Offbeat Mara is set in a valley above the (often dry) Olare Orok River within the Mara North Conservancy.


100% (5 reviews)
Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottar's 1920s Camp is a classic, luxury tented camp with a 1920s safari theme, located in its own conservancy on the southeast border of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


92% (5 reviews)
Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp sits on a meander of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy, just beyond the northern boundary of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


90% (4 reviews)
Basecamp Leopard Hill

Basecamp Leopard Hill

With six beautiful tents, Basecamp Leopard Hill is a smart safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


100% (4 reviews)
Leleshwa

Leleshwa

Leleshwa was a delightful, boutique safari camp on the picturesque banks of a tributary of the Talek, with an extensive, little visited game area on its doorstep.


90% (2 reviews)
Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri is a strikingly modern tented camp in the Virgin Limited Edition group, in a remote part of the Mara ecosytem's Olare Motorogi Conservancy. It has lovely views and all the luxuries of a five-star hotel.


100% (2 reviews)
Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara is a luxurious permanent lodge, on the remote northern edge of the Mara North Conservancy, with stunning views, good guiding and very private and comfortable rooms.


80% (1 review)
Mara Nyika

Mara Nyika

Mara Nyika is one of the newer additions to the Naboisho Conservancy and offers a luxurious and exclusive safari.


100% (1 review)
Basecamp Wilderness Camp

Basecamp Wilderness

Basecamp Wilderness Camp is a simple, traditional tented camp, set in a remote valley in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Mara ecoystem.


100% (1 review)
Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops is a luxury safari hotel on a private concession, outside the Maasai Mara National Reserve, with the emphasis on comfort, relaxation and good food and wine.


No reviews yet
Cottars Private House

Cottars Private House

Cottar's Private House is one of the few truly luxurious, modern private houses in the Mara ecosystem, spoiling its guests with first-rate staff, a swimming pool and wonderful views.


No reviews yet
Entumoto

Entumoto

Entumoto is a high-end tented camp, with a swimming pool, situated in a very pretty location on the east side of the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa