This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines now closed

User menu
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp

Reviews of Kicheche Bush Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

38 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kicheche Bush Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Feb-2019, 12 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kicheche Bush Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

100% success

Cheetah

75% success

Wild dog

11% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Hippo

100% success

Spotted Hyena

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Eland

83% success

Wildebeest

83% success

Striped Hyena

22% success

Pangolin

10% success

Aardvark

0% success

Black Rhino

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 38
Duration
Arrival date
Mr I.
Strafford

"Excellent friendly staff, great guide."

5 nights Arrived 1 Sep 2019
"Very efficient and sociable camp managers (Emma and Darren). They made us feel very welcome and the camp was very well organised with great attention to detail. We had many excellent group meals. Food was excellent (better than Rekero).

Camp setting was not as dramatic as Rekero but staff were amazingly friendly and helpful throughout.
We had another excellent guide (Nelson) who consistently placed us in perfect positions to view and photograph wildlife. He had an excellent understanding of what was needed to get a good photograph as an amazing ability to find wildlife.

Tent accommodation was excellent" See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

1 sighting

Elephant

8 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

10 sightings

Lion

8 sightings

Spotted Hyena

9 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Dr M.
Loughborough

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 9 Feb 2019
"The quality of service here was exceptional as was the food and indeed the attention of all of the staff.

Best photographs of the holiday were taken here on both vehicle and foot safaris.

Attention to detail by the staff was fantastic." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Sightings Report

Buffalo

1 sighting

Elephant

4 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

7 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs P
Darlington

"Special experience at Kicheche Bush Camp"

3 nights Arrived 14 Mar 2018
"We found the Kicheche Bush Camp to be a very special place. From the friendly welcome lemonade to our transport back to the airstrip, everyone went out of their way to make our stay a treat. The food and wine were outstanding, with vegetarian options being a highlight of each meal.

Our tent was attractive and comfortable, with plenty of space even though we had a third cot added for our travel companion. The weather was cool during the evenings, so we all loved that hot water bottles were tucked into our beds.

The variety and number of animals that we were able to see at close range was amazing! Our guide, Micah, was very knowledgeable, patient, and good humored. He seemed to find something new and interesting for us to see with each drive." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Good
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms S
Ste Marthe

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 6 Mar 2018
"This was my favourite camp -- very beautiful surroundings and the tent was really lovely!

The managers, Derren and Emma were wonderful and went out of their way to be helpful and welcoming. Derren was kind enough to arrange for me to have a morning's horseback ride at a nearby facility and took time to drive me there and drive me back to camp at noon. It was a wonderful morning and brought back memories of my many horseback safaris in Botswana.

Again, the guides were superb and knowledgeable." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Steve H
Leeds

"Great time at Kicheche Bush Camp"

2 nights Arrived 19 Feb 2018
"Kicheche Bush Camp as exciting as ever.

It was good to meet Darren and Emma this year. Very hospitable and well organised. Wildlife brilliant as before and Fig continues to star.

Well done Patrick for spotting an Aardwolf running at speed in the dusk and getting us in position for a couple of good photos.

Good company, good food, good camp - everything perfect." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Dr W & Dr D
Leeds

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

5 nights Arrived 9 Feb 2018
"This is the best place we have ever been for the diversity of wildlife viewing and photographic opportunities.

The guides are phenomenal and never disappoint.

Darren and Emma, the camp managers, are fantastic and one of the many pleasures of returning to Kicheche Bush Camp is to meet up with them again." See all these reviews: 13n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Good
Mr V
Texas

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 6 Feb 2018
"We continued to enjoy the Kicheche approach to the safari experience at Bush camp. The tents were spacious and nicely appointed, and although the setting at first glance was not overly inspiring, it brought in grazing zebras quite close to the tents, while bushbabies could be found in some of the larger trees around the property.

The staff here was just as friendly and service-oriented as at the other Kicheche properties, and managers Darren and Emma helped keep the vibe fun and relaxed, while attending to every detail behind the scenes.

Unlike at Laikipia and Mara, Bush was booked solid throughout our stay. The camp's convenient proximity to the main Reserve may be one reason it is so popular. We did drive down to the Reserve on a couple of occasions for specifically-desired sightings, but the difference in vehicle traffic between that in the Reserve and that in the Conservancy was palpable. I was always more than happy to stay in the Conservancy.

We did have to share a vehicle here, but Kicheche places a maximum of only 4 people in a vehicle, and Darren made a concerted effort to pair up guests with similar interests and priorities. The customized vehicles were open air (with a canvas roll top cover in case of inclement weather or impending sunstroke), outfitted with well-placed supports and beanbags to help with photography, which was important to us.

Our guide, Patrick, did an excellent job of positioning the vehicle to make the most of our sightings. I obtained photos that I would not have been able to achieve — and in some cases; that I would not have even thought of — because of his expertise. As with our other Kicheche guides, Patrick was affable and diligent in trying to get us the best sightings possible. Because of his efforts, we were able to witness an extraordinary lionness kill that was probably the pinnacle of an already fantastic safari.

This last safari to Kenya really was a game-changer for us in many ways, and the Kicheche ethos played a big part in that. " See all these reviews: 14n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Mr & Mrs lion
UK

"Kicheche bush camp"

4 nights Arrived 27 Jun 2017
"A different feel to Valley camp but really loved it. The hosts were great, being good fun, friendly and informative. Frank, their Jack Russell was the star of the camp.
Our tent was number 1 The monkey. It was close to the hub of the camp and was well appointed, spotlessly clean and with a great bucket shower. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and the evening dance they put on was much appreciated.

Organisation of meals was either out under the trees or inside in one group. Both worked really well and much friendly banter and stimulating conversation took place.

Our driver/guide, James was excellent, a very safe driver and a keen photographer which suited me down to the ground. The jeep was well set up including bean bags for photography.

The wildlife was amazing and we certainly saw more animal behaviour and species ie 9 different antelope than on many safaris we've done. Predators included Fig (leopard) with two very young cubs, many lion cubs and a cheetah. I liked that we could stay as long as we liked at any sighting and that nobody was interested in hunting down the Big Five, but we could spend ages at dwarf mongoose etc. The highlights were time spent with two hunting dog up from the Serengeti and watching a lion pride hunting wildebeest in the pouring rain. Absolute magic." See all these reviews: 8n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Ms P
London

"A wonderful camp"

3 nights Arrived 15 Mar 2017
"Having travelled extensively in Africa, this was my first time in Kenya - and I was blow away by the Mara. The rains had already begun, meaning everything was a sparkling emerald green - and the wide open vistas, so different to what I was used to from Zambia, were spectacular.

The game - especially cats: a showoff leopard, Fig, and large prides of stunning lions (those manes!) - just leaps off the landscape in front of you. Nelson was an excellent and friendly guide, and Aki was a charming host back at camp. Tents were spacious and well-equipped, including brollies and boots for the downpours (being caught in one of these on our evening drive, just as we were watching a pride of lions, was a highlight), and food was very good. The camp is especially good for photographers, with specially adapted vehicles offering loads of space for kit and well-trained guides.

Highly recommended." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Good
Ms B
Grapevine

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 1 Feb 2017
"The camp was very luxurious for a camp with real beds and nice linens, flush toilets, running water and bucket showers. The food was excellent which we didn't expect at a camp. The host, Aki, was very friendly and welcoming, the guides were very friendly and knowledgeable and the entire staff knew us by name as soon as we arrived.

The wildlife viewing is outstanding here. Our guide Johnson was tenacious in trying to find what we wanted to see; and he succeeded wonderfully. So many lions, and the leopard Fig, and cheetahs. We got to see the cheetah hunt and catch an impala which was a highlight of the trip to watch the cheetah hunt.

We would highly recommend taking the hot air balloon ride although it will take a little over an hour to reach the take off site from Bush camp. But well worth it." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Showing 11-20 of 38
99%
38 reviews of Kicheche Bush Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
37
1
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Maasai Mara Conservancies

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp is one of the most luxurious of the handful of camps in the Naboisho Conservancy. It offers day and night game drives, game walks and full creature comforts in the bush.


98% (41 reviews)
Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara Camp has just eight tents and a rustic and comfortable feel. It is set by a stream in a pretty area of the Mara ecosystem's Mara North Conservancy.


98% (39 reviews)
Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara is a small traditional camp that appeals to safari traditionalists, located in one of the Maasai Mara’s quiet conservancies.


97% (28 reviews)
Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley is a boutique tented camp in a wooded district of the Mara ecosystem's Naboisho Conservancy, with plenty of wildlife in the area.


96% (18 reviews)
Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara is located in the private Naboisho Conservancy – a game-rich area of the Mara ecosystem – and offers a contemporary take on the traditional, low-impact luxury safari camp.


95% (11 reviews)
Serian

Serian

Serian is a luxury tented camp on the east bank of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy. It is the sister camp of Ngare Serian, on the west bank.


98% (10 reviews)
Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains is one of the very best camps in the Mara ecosystem. Located in the Olare Motorogi Conservancy, just outside the Mara reserve, it has access to three wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (10 reviews)
Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp is a small 10-tent bush camp, put together in the traditional "campaign" style, and including a large honeymoon/family tent.


98% (8 reviews)
Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp is a pioneering, community focused eco-camp, with excellent guides and game viewing, in the predator-rich, Olare Motorogi Conservancy.


83% (8 reviews)
Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp

Ol Kinyei Adventure

Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp is a satelllite of the larger Porini Mara Camp. Both of them are located in the Maasai-owned Ol Kinyei conservancy, the oldest community conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


97% (7 reviews)
Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp is a small, pioneering eco-camp in the first private conservancy in the Mara region, with comfortable accommodation and a range of activities.


96% (5 reviews)
Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottar's 1920s Camp is a classic, luxury tented camp with a 1920s safari theme, located in its own conservancy on the southeast border of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


92% (5 reviews)
Ngare Serian

Ngare Serian

The luxurious Ngare Serian and its sister camp Serian face each other across the Mara River on the western side of the Mara North Conservancy


96% (5 reviews)
Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp sits on a meander of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy, just beyond the northern boundary of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


90% (4 reviews)
Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View is a community-focused safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy, with a strong emphasis on responsible tourism and a spectacular location.


100% (4 reviews)
Hemingways Ol Seki Mara

Hemingways Ol Seki

Magnificently located tented lodge on a bluff looking south across the Naboisho Conservancy toward the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


93% (3 reviews)
Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild is a rustic and traditional safari camp in the Lemek Conservancy, with just three tents and limited electricity.


93% (3 reviews)
Leleshwa

Leleshwa

Leleshwa was a delightful, boutique safari camp on the picturesque banks of a tributary of the Talek, with an extensive, little visited game area on its doorstep.


90% (2 reviews)
Mara Toto

Mara Toto

Mara Toto is a small luxury camp due to open in 2019.


100% (1 review)
Basecamp Wilderness Camp

Basecamp Wilderness

Basecamp Wilderness Camp is a simple, traditional tented camp, set in a remote valley in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Mara ecoystem.


100% (1 review)
Kicheche Walking Wilderness

Kicheche Fly Camp

Kicheche Walking Wilderness Fly Camp is a temporaray dome tent camp set up for participants in Kicheche's two-day walking safari between Kicheche Valley and Kicheche Bush Camp.


100% (1 review)
Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara is a luxurious permanent lodge, on the remote northern edge of the Mara North Conservancy, with stunning views, good guiding and very private and comfortable rooms.


80% (1 review)
Basecamp Leopard Hill

Basecamp Leopard Hill

With six beautiful tents, Basecamp Leopard Hill is a smart safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


100% (1 review)
Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri is a strikingly modern tented camp in the Virgin Limited Edition group, in a remote part of the Mara ecosytem's Olare Motorogi Conservancy. It has lovely views and all the luxuries of a five-star hotel.


100% (1 review)
Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops is a luxury safari hotel on a private concession, outside the Maasai Mara National Reserve, with the emphasis on comfort, relaxation and good food and wine.


No reviews yet
Cottars Private House

Cottars Private House

Cottar's Private House is one of the few truly luxurious, modern private houses in the Mara ecosystem, spoiling its guests with first-rate staff, a swimming pool and wonderful views.


No reviews yet
Entumoto

Entumoto

Entumoto is a high-end tented camp, with a swimming pool, situated in a very pretty location on the east side of the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa