This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp
Kicheche Bush Camp

Reviews of Kicheche Bush Camp

Wildlife sightings and reviews

98 independent comments and wildlife information from our travellers who have visited Kicheche Bush Camp and kindly agreed to share their thoughts. They do not necessarily represent the views of Expert Africa

Wildlife sightings by our travellers
Starting in Feb-2019, 67 of our travellers have recorded their wildlife sightings at Kicheche Bush Camp.
Lion

100% success

Leopard

89% success

Cheetah

88% success

Wild dog

4% success

Buffalo

100% success

Elephant

100% success

Giraffe

100% success

Zebra

100% success

Spotted Hyena

98% success

Wildebeest

97% success

Hippo

97% success

Eland

85% success

Striped Hyena

9% success

Black Rhino

4% success

Pangolin

2% success

Aardvark

0% success

Showing 11-20 of 98
Duration
Arrival date
A&L Polo
USA

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 29 Dec 2023
"This is the best camp we stay during our trip.

We have not encountered such a warm and sincerely friendly atmosphere as in this camp anywhere else.

This is absolutely amazing place from all the aspects." See all these reviews: 7n in Kenya; 3n in Rwanda; 3n in Botswana; 3n in Tanzania; 2n in South Africa; 2n in Zimbabwe
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Eland

5 sightings

Elephant

5 sightings

Giraffe

5 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

3 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wildebeest

2 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Mr BG
Newport Coast

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 26 Nov 2023
"As always they don't disappoint at Bush Camp.

Great guiding and loads of animals, good food as well." See all these reviews: 10n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Goody
Manchester

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 24 Nov 2023
"Kicheche seem to know what they are doing!! Another great camp with great staff and great food.

Our guide Josphat was excellent. We were a bit disappointed to be put with another couple in the vehicle, as we had been on our own everywhere else. However it worked out well as they weren't big photographers so we all had enough space for photos (I have two cameras with big lenses).

The only thing I would do differently next time is to have shorter game drives in the morning so that there is more downtime. We were pretty much safaried out by the end of our stay. Six hour drives was a bit exhausting. Maybe slightly longer in the evening eg 2x 3 hrs.

Also some local specialities on the menu at each venue would be nice." See all these reviews: 12n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Black Rhino

1 sighting

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Gar
USA

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2023
"The staff was very warm and welcoming upon arrival. Management often joined us for meals, which I loved having that time to get to know them and visit with them.

The food and beverages were excellent - a variety of choices and excellent food. They made it a point to accommodate any special requests there may have been. Abraham prides himself on his Masai Tea - as he should! Do try it! Many choices available for cocktails and tea time as well.

Tents were comfortable and had all the amenities needed. A bit more rustic than the first camp in Mara North, but still very comfortable.

The last night we pulled into camp, we were treated to a tribal greeting and dance. There really aren't words to describe this warm, enveloping experience they shared with us. A few tears of gratitude and awe were shed that evening - being able to be a part of this was beyond my wildest dreams." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Eland

4 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Leopard

3 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

10 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Ms J from FL & IL
USA

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2023
"Absolutely fantastic experience.

Staff went way beyond normal excellence to provide Maasai entertainment, safari walk guide, help with a Halloween surprise, and even allowed me to ride a motorcycle.

Lodging was fantastic too, although the king bed mattress (in Sambuyu? Name might be incorrect) is a bit worn out. Might just need to be flipped.

Prices in gift shop were very good, and several of us purchase items, especially Kicheche caps." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

4 sightings

Eland

7 sightings

Elephant

10 sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

3 sightings

Leopard

4 sightings

Lion

10 sightings

Spotted Hyena

6 sightings

Wildebeest

10 sightings

Zebra

10 sightings

Gwendolyon
Ithaca,NY

"Perfection!"

4 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2023
"I didn’t think anything could be more perfect than our experience at Kicheche Mara until arriving at Kicheche Bush Camp. As with Kicheche Mara, the people, food, tents, and guides were beyond our wildest expectations. The greeting and reception when we arrived, the comfort of the “tents”, the thoughtfulness in remembering and catering to each guest’s needs, the laundry service, the wake up coffee, tea and cookies, the amazing and delicious meals, it was all perfect.

Kicheche Bush camp is slightly smaller than Kicheche Mara making the experience a bit more personal. With the smaller camp it was easier for us to meet most of the staff and make more of a connection.

Ann and Dido welcome you and from the very beginning confirm food preferences and any other needs that may not have been communicated to them earlier. Abraham and Kennedy do everything to make sure you have everything you need during meals and just relaxing. Brian took care of our tent making sure everything was perfect for our comfort. Beatrice was a joy to be around and ensured that all our food needs were attended to. Charles and Gladys prepared the most delicious meals and desserts. Peter ensured our safety to and from our tents in the dark.

I am in awe of the amount of knowledge shared by the guides. Every animal, every plant, every bird and their song. Everything about their behavior. The connection with some of the animals, knowing their history and behavior. We drove both with the seasoned Patrick, and the younger Josphat. In addition to all the knowledge they bring (and continue to learn in the rare moment of them not knowing something) Patrick’s keen eye for the perfect photo, and Josphat’s sense of humor, made driving with each of them unique and exceptional experiences." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

3 sightings

Cheetah

1 sighting

Eland

2 sightings

Elephant

3 sightings

Giraffe

4 sightings

Hippo

2 sightings

Leopard

2 sightings

Lion

6 sightings

Spotted Hyena

5 sightings

Wildebeest

4 sightings

Zebra

5 sightings

Ms D.
Canada

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 28 Oct 2023
"Really enjoyed this Camp and loved the bush aspect of the camp.

Felt very safe and secure even when the animals were making noises outside and kept me awake alot! lol.

The staff were amazing and the drivers were so amazing.

I loved everything about the Bush Camp and would love to return one day again.

Would highly recommend to anyone." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Eland

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Liz C
Sussex

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

3 nights Arrived 25 Oct 2023
"This was my favourite stay and the density of wildlife was incredible. One gripe - I loved the fact that they are promoting women to be guides and we had a lovely guide Esta but she was very new and inexperienced.

Part of the reason to choose a high end camp is because of the guides and I would have expected the camp to have someone with her to help. Her English was not great and at times we did not understand what she said." See all these reviews: 9n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Good
Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

Multiple sightings

Cheetah

Multiple sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

Multiple sightings

Hippo

Multiple sightings

Leopard

Multiple sightings

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Mrs H.
Canada

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2023
"Again amazing, the staff, accommodations, food and quality of the guides surpassed all expectations." See all these reviews: 11n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Rooms:
Excellent
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Foxy
Yorkshire, UK

"Kicheche Bush Camp review"

4 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2023
"Staff and food were excellent. Tents were not as luxurious as Valley Camp which was fine, but it may be worth future groups visiting here first then Valley Camp tents would be step up?" See all these reviews: 15n in Kenya
Experience Report
Overall Rating:
Excellent

Location:
Excellent
Service:
Excellent
Activities:
Excellent
Rooms:
Good
Food:
Excellent
Facilities:
Excellent
Sightings Report

Buffalo

10 sightings

Cheetah

2 sightings

Eland

10 sightings

Elephant

Multiple sightings

Giraffe

10 sightings

Hippo

10 sightings

Leopard

1 sighting

Lion

Multiple sightings

Spotted Hyena

Multiple sightings

Wild dog

Multiple sightings

Wildebeest

Multiple sightings

Zebra

Multiple sightings

Showing 11-20 of 98
100%
98 reviews of Kicheche Bush Camp by travellers since August 2007
Overall rating by our travellers
96
2
0
0
0
Filter by month

Holiday styles & special interests in Kenya

From birdwatching breaks to walking holidays, find great ideas for your trip in Kenya.


Beach holidays

Beach holidays

Discover Africa's coast and tropical islands.

Birdwatching

Birdwatching

Diverse habitats, discreet hides and superb guiding.

Cultural experiences

Cultural experiences

Get an insight into Africa's cultures and history.

Family holidays

Family holidays

Hand-picked camps for an incredible family safari.

Honeymoons

Honeymoons

Romantic safaris and castaway island retreats.

Luxury

Luxury

First-class service, scenic vistas and unparalleled comfort await you during these carefully selected luxury holidays. 

Photography holidays

Photography holidays

Great holidays to suit the keen photographer.

Private villas & houses

Private villas & houses

Enjoy Africa with just your friends & family

Riding holidays

Riding holidays

Explore Africa's wilderness on horseback.

Solo Travel

Solo Travel

Trip ideas ideally suited for a solo traveller.

Walking

Walking

Explore Africa's most scenic trails on foot.

Walking safaris

Walking safaris

Explore Africa's untouched wildernesses on foot.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing

Wellness escapes in stunning locations

Wildlife safaris

Wildlife safaris

These trips include hard-hitting game and fascinatingly elusive species alike, as well as superb guiding and a variety of diverse ecosystems.

Other lodges in Maasai Mara Conservancies

Alternative places to stay in this same area.


Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara

Kicheche Mara Camp has just eight tents and a rustic and comfortable feel. It is set by a stream in a pretty area of the Mara ecosystem's Mara North Conservancy.


98% (86 reviews)
Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley

Kicheche Valley is a boutique tented camp in a wooded district of the Mara ecosystem's Naboisho Conservancy, with plenty of wildlife in the area.


99% (61 reviews)
Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp

Naboisho Camp is one of the most luxurious of the handful of camps in the Naboisho Conservancy. It offers day and night game drives, game walks and full creature comforts in the bush.


98% (48 reviews)
Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara

Offbeat Mara is a small traditional camp that appeals to safari traditionalists, located in one of the Maasai Mara’s quiet conservancies.


98% (41 reviews)
Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp

Elephant Pepper Camp is a small 10-tent bush camp, put together in the traditional "campaign" style, and including a large honeymoon/family tent.


99% (17 reviews)
Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara

Encounter Mara is located in the private Naboisho Conservancy – a game-rich area of the Mara ecosystem – and offers a contemporary take on the traditional, low-impact luxury safari camp.


93% (16 reviews)
Serian

Serian

Serian is a luxury tented camp on the east bank of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy. It is the sister camp of Ngare Serian, on the west bank.


97% (14 reviews)
Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains Camp

Mara Plains is one of the very best camps in the Mara ecosystem. Located in the Olare Motorogi Conservancy, just outside the Mara reserve, it has access to three wildlife-viewing areas.


100% (13 reviews)
Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View

Basecamp Eagle View is a community-focused safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy, with a strong emphasis on responsible tourism and a spectacular location.


96% (10 reviews)
Kicheche Walking Wilderness

Kicheche Fly Camp

Kicheche Walking Wilderness Fly Camp is a temporaray dome tent camp set up for participants in Kicheche's two-day walking safari between Kicheche Valley and Kicheche Bush Camp.


96% (9 reviews)
Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp

Porini Lion Camp is a pioneering, community focused eco-camp, with excellent guides and game viewing, in the predator-rich, Olare Motorogi Conservancy.


83% (8 reviews)
Hemingways Ol Seki Mara

Hemingways Ol Seki

Magnificently located tented lodge on a bluff looking south across the Naboisho Conservancy toward the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


95% (8 reviews)
Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp

Ol Kinyei Adventure

Ol Kinyei Adventure Camp is a satelllite of the larger Porini Mara Camp. Both of them are located in the Maasai-owned Ol Kinyei conservancy, the oldest community conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


98% (8 reviews)
Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild

Saruni Wild is a rustic and traditional safari camp in the Lemek Conservancy, with just three tents and limited electricity.


97% (7 reviews)
Ngare Serian

Ngare Serian

The luxurious Ngare Serian and its sister camp Serian face each other across the Mara River on the western side of the Mara North Conservancy


96% (5 reviews)
Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp

Porini Mara Camp is a small, pioneering eco-camp in the first private conservancy in the Mara region, with comfortable accommodation and a range of activities.


96% (5 reviews)
Offbeat Ndoto

Offbeat Ndoto

Small and intimate, Offbeat Mara is set in a valley above the (often dry) Olare Orok River within the Mara North Conservancy.


100% (5 reviews)
Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottars 1920s Camp

Cottar's 1920s Camp is a classic, luxury tented camp with a 1920s safari theme, located in its own conservancy on the southeast border of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


92% (5 reviews)
Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp

Karen Blixen Camp sits on a meander of the Mara River in the Mara North Conservancy, just beyond the northern boundary of the Maasai Mara National Reserve.


90% (4 reviews)
Basecamp Leopard Hill

Basecamp Leopard Hill

With six beautiful tents, Basecamp Leopard Hill is a smart safari camp in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


100% (4 reviews)
Leleshwa

Leleshwa

Leleshwa was a delightful, boutique safari camp on the picturesque banks of a tributary of the Talek, with an extensive, little visited game area on its doorstep.


90% (2 reviews)
Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri

Mahali Mzuri is a strikingly modern tented camp in the Virgin Limited Edition group, in a remote part of the Mara ecosytem's Olare Motorogi Conservancy. It has lovely views and all the luxuries of a five-star hotel.


100% (2 reviews)
Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara

Saruni Mara is a luxurious permanent lodge, on the remote northern edge of the Mara North Conservancy, with stunning views, good guiding and very private and comfortable rooms.


80% (1 review)
Mara Nyika

Mara Nyika

Mara Nyika is one of the newer additions to the Naboisho Conservancy and offers a luxurious and exclusive safari.


100% (1 review)
Basecamp Wilderness Camp

Basecamp Wilderness

Basecamp Wilderness Camp is a simple, traditional tented camp, set in a remote valley in the Naboisho Conservancy in the Mara ecoystem.


100% (1 review)
Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops

Mara Bushtops is a luxury safari hotel on a private concession, outside the Maasai Mara National Reserve, with the emphasis on comfort, relaxation and good food and wine.


No reviews yet
Cottars Private House

Cottars Private House

Cottar's Private House is one of the few truly luxurious, modern private houses in the Mara ecosystem, spoiling its guests with first-rate staff, a swimming pool and wonderful views.


No reviews yet
Entumoto

Entumoto

Entumoto is a high-end tented camp, with a swimming pool, situated in a very pretty location on the east side of the Maasai Mara ecosystem.


No reviews yet

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team

Africa