This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more

Skip to main content

Talk to an expert 1-800-242-2434 Lines open now

User menu

Traveller reviews

Travel reviews by Ms C & Mr S from London

Review Distribution

Excellent
Good
Average
Poor
Terrible

Total number of trips

1

Countries visited

2

Lodges stayed in

5

Excursions taken

0

What a welcome to sub-Saharan Africa!

Tanzania and 1 other country between 16 Oct 2010 and 29 Oct 2010

Trip rating: Excellent
"The trip was a dream come true. Everything met or exceeded our expectations. The recommendations [with one minor exception] were spot on and made this one of the best holidays that we have taken.

If I am nit-picking I would say that the hotel in Dar was the wrong choice for what we needed i.e. an evening in Dar before an early flight to the UK. Somewhere in the city centre would have saved us nearly 2 hours of rush hour traffic for a hotel that we barely saw in daylight. Even so it was an experience seeing what was beeing sold as we sat in the traffic so it wasn't all bad.

Suggestions to help us improve our trips or our service:

Just think about hotels nearer the airport!"

Arranged By Elizabeth Chapman


Beho Beho

Beho Beho

"Perfect safari at Beho Beho"

4 nights Arrived 17 Oct 2010
"Tam and Sacha have created a fabulous safari experience. The facilities are luxurious yet cosy, the staff are wonderful but what sets it apart is the personalities of the guides. They are all genuinely interested in the flora and fauna around them, they convey that enthusiasm in everything that they do. The mix of walking, driving and boat trips means that you are never bored. We were never crowded or hurried and there was no problem if we wanted to stop and look at a bird or what often turned out to be a bit of bush!

The accomodation and the service was fantastic. The rooms were perfect, and the little touches like the size and quality of the towels, made all the difference. The food was wonderful, the only thing I had to worry about was how much weight I had put on by the end of the week! The staff could not have been nicer.

We went fly camping. I had never been camping before and If this is camping I can do it again!

I would like to mention tam and Julia in particular. i had lots of fum with the girls discussing a whole variety of topics and it just made the experience feel like a very hot and exotic trip with friends.

We also thorughly enjoyed general chat with the guides and our fellow guests. We will be back but next time to see Beho in a different season."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Beho Beho Tree-house

Beho Beho Tree-house

"Beho Beho fly-camping review"

1 night Arrived 21 Oct 2010
"If this is camping I will do it again!! It was something I was apprehensive about as I had never camped in my life.

I really did not need to worry.

i cannot recommend it highly enough."
Excellent
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Activities
Excellent
Rooms
Excellent
Food
Excellent
Facilities
Excellent
Image alt

Mchanga Beach Lodge, Zanzibar (this camp has since closed)

"Mchanga Beach Lodge review"

5 nights Arrived 22 Oct 2010
"A lovely, quiet lodge that has been designed to make the most of it's exquisite location. There is not much to do, but doing nothing has never felt quite so good.

It is not luxury but it is very, very nice.

The only downsides are the shock of seeing the poverty in Zanzibar and in the neighbouring vilage on the way to the lodge, and the fact that the toilet does smell a bit but you stop noticing it after a couple of hours.

The food was very nice as were the staff."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Good
Facilities
Good
Rooms
Good
Food
Good
Beyt al Salaam

Beyt al Salaam

"Beyt al Chai review"

1 night Arrived 27 Oct 2010
"The location is lovely opposite the Serena Inn. The rooms give you a sense of what it must have been like to stay in Zanzibar 80 years ago with the shutters and the ambience.

Russell the manager could not have been more helpful and the rest of the staff were very nice.

The retaurant is wonderful, the air con welcome and the food absolutely lovely.

The big downside is the shower in the room. It is completely out of keeping with a high quality hotel. The bathroom looked lovely but the shower was awful. It was the sort of shower I would expect in a bad B&B in Wales! I dont know when the hotel is due for refurbishment but the showers really cannot wait."
Good
Location
Excellent
Service
Excellent
Facilities
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Excellent
Sea Cliff Hotel

Sea Cliff Hotel

"Sea Cliff Hotel review"

1 night Arrived 28 Oct 2010
"We had one evening in Dar. We arrived at about 6ish in the evening. We had had this hotel recommended to us but spent nearly 2 hours in rush hour traffic to get there.

It was the wrong recommendation for an overnight stay in Dar.

We therefore did no more them eat, sleep and shower to leave at 6am the following morning. Therefore the review is inevitably slightly skewed.

The room was lovely, although the air con is loud. The shower, whem there was any water [which had failed when we got back from dinner] was brilliant.

Front of desk staff were a little stand-offish but the waiters were very nice
.
The location was great if you were staying in Dar for a couple of days but very bad for an overnight stop before the early flight home to the UK. The grading is therefore based on what we were looking for not on what was actually a very nice part of Dar."
Average
Location
Poor
Service
Average
Rooms
Good
Food
Good

Login to Expert Africa

Sign in with password

Sign in with email link


New to Expert Africa? Create an account

Forgotten your details?

It's free & quick to set up

  • Order a brochure
  • Save your wish-list
  • Send us an enquiry
  • Pay online for your trip
  • Subscribe to our newsletter
  • Give us feedback on your trip
  • Full site benefits of the site

Need some help? Talk to our team